We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis in Jodhpur”
Review of Ajit Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ajit Bhawan
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in Jodhpur”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Ajit Bhawan. We were upgraded to one of the hut-like structures (they don't feel like huts inside) and found it very comfortable and very spacious. Breakfasts were okay, not as good as some we'd had at other hotels. But dinner at the restaurant was excellent and quite reasonably priced. We also ate at On The Rocks, a restaurant highly recommended on TripAdvisor. That was good, but the restaurant at Ajit Bhawan was even better. The hotel is in a nice location with some good shops in both directions. On the little strip where On the Rocks is located there are several clothing and jewelry stores. In the other direction there are antique shops with a vast assortment of interesting items (statues, painted screens, furniture, etc.)
Although the hotel looks like it could use a bit of a spiffing up (the lobby is a bit drab and dated) overall it was comfortable and a good place to stay when in Jodhpur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Ajit Bhawan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Ajit Bhawan.
I was delighted to read your comments and I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us and that you were pleased with the services provided by our team.I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them.
we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Ajit Bhawan.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    288
    95
    21
    13
See reviews for
204
399
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a weird hotel. arriving at the front it looks like a Haveli / heritage hotel but out the back it looks like an african village with lots of thatched huts.
- overall the least enjoyable hotel we stayed at in India
- we had two normal rooms which were cheaper than the thatched huts and still reasonably spacious (rooms 17 and 18). But the showers constantly changed temperature which was real pain.
- staff were mixed with some quite moody and unhelpful with a couple of requests not being responded to. Other staff were blatantly fishing for tips trying to create jobs which we didn't need e.g. insisting on delivering breakfast food too the room rather than letting us take a couple of things from the buffet.
- Breakfast was limited and not enjoyable
- Only impressive part of the hotel was the evening restaurant outside, the food was very good
- One of our children fell ill and we used a doctor recommended by the hotel.....don't, he was rubbish and didn't help at all. If you are on a tour get the tour company to find a better doctor.
- Jodhpur's main point of interest is the fort otherwise I would not rush there. i suggest Jaiselmer is a more interesting destination

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcopolo2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite, and felt like a Maharajah and a Maharani. The bed was sooo comfortable, and the staff was very attentive. Great photo in the lobby of a nobleman who looked just like Prince.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

There is a rustic appeal to Ajit Bhawan despite it being in the city. It is quiet, and plenty of greenery. This is the sort of ambiance that hoteliers should encourage.The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, very clean. The most comfortable bed of any our tour so far.We stayed at a cottage style room in the sumptuous gardens of this lovely hotel & the comfort of the large bed was to die for!!!very relaxing garden area and pool.The friendliness of the staff generates much warmth, and they seem genuinely to care about this historic property and the comfort of their guests.You can imagine back to an era of splendor - there is even a small collection of cars that belonged to the Maharaja.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
311 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We didn't think they existed, this hotel is great - the shower was fabulous, large hot, down-pour, just book for the shower! And the bed - soft and cosy, what a wonderful change. We were in Rm 39, sort of a villa. There was a birthday party on the lawn outside our room with a band and we still had the best sleep in 20 days. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, very clean. The evening meal was great and buffet breakfast food was excellent, but they need to put signs on the food and something to indicate that they will make you an omelette as they don't prepare it in fromnt of you. Excellent free internet computer and the staff were friendly and excellent. The mini-bar could do with some additions like cashew nuts and the like; many hotels in India lose a lot of business by having poorly stocked min-bars. You will not regret staying here , it is an oasis!

Room Tip: Villa 39 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel has an unusual layout and we stayed in a thatched round house with the most comfortable bed of our tour. The outside tables for dinner by the fountain is a must, the food being very good. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very attentive. As an alternative there is a restaurant called 'on the rocks' out of the main gate, turn right, 2 minutes walk, which is also recommended by us. There are old cars owned by the hotel which can be hired with a driver. I expect this is the second best place to stay in Jodhpur.

Room Tip: Stay as we did in the thatched cottages, they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 810Mike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at a cottage style room in the sumptuous gardens of this lovely hotel & the comfort of the large bed was to die for!!!
Architecturally quirky & somewhat disjointed in its layout & style but all the better & individual for that. The swimming pool with its fountains & waterfall was certainly "one for the album".
Our cottage had every modern convenience & could not be faulted & the outside dining accompanied by traditional live Indian music & dancers was an idyllic setting for our sumptuous dinner.
Breakfast was taken indoors & offered a wide selection of European & Indian cuisine.
Staff were friendly & helpful & seemed genuinely proud of their place of work & pleased that we had chosen them to stay with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajit Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajit Bhawan

Property: Ajit Bhawan
Address: Circuit House Rd, Jodhpur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajit Bhawan 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajit Bhawan Palace is the residence, for the family of the younger brother of the Late Maharaja of Jodhpur, Umed Singh Sahib. Built in 1923 for Maharaj Ajit Singh, it exudes the true essence of an oasis with magical powers capable of making the worries of the world simply melt away. The Palace Resort, has the foundation of a legacy that is part of the history behind the city of Jodhpur, it is about achieving a balance between history while enriching your experience through comfort & unique original style. Must have a Joy Ride on Vintage Car when you are in Jodhpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ajit Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajit Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur
Ajit Bhawan Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing