We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunrise at Anil's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anil Sunrise Guest House
Ranked #24 of 188 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Sunrise at Anil's”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Arrived at Jodhpur early morning on the1st of January 2014 and based on the information that we had we decided to stay clear off of the auto-rickshaws. We walked from the railway station till the old city all the while being pestered by one particular auto driver who at one point even tried to scare us by saying that we will not get a place to sit and that the old city is very, very far. As it turned out the distance was not much and we had a wonderful walk.

We stopped in between at a roadside tea stall near a saraai, built in the 19th century by the king and the place was really cheap but completed occupied. We forged quite a bond with the tea stall guy who also felt that our decision to hunt for living spaces on our own was a good idea. He has one of the best tea's that we had in Jodhpur.

Anil's Sunrise is one of the first guest houses one comes across. We did look at a few others but then decided to stay at Anil's owing to the fact that it was in our budget, actually less than what we had planned for. The room was very cosy and felt warm. It did not have windows but for the two of us it was fine. We mostly needed a place to sleep at night and store our luggage so there are no complaints. It had 24 hour hot water and attached bathroom and toilet.

They have a terrace which has covered and open area and it was nice to welcome the morning sun. Like 90% of the places they also have a fort view. We got some nice picture of the Clock Tower as well. It was nice to just sit around, be a bit lazy and have a lazy breakfast under the sun but not for more than 2 days. Most of the time we ate out at various places.

The service in terms of food is not that great here, except the mutton rice that we had one day. They take a longer than expected time to serve coffee or tea which will not go down well with people likes who would like to be out on the city streets by 8:30 am. The cooks and caretakers are friendly. Saleem makes nice mutton rice and Raees the kid is very shy. They are all very polite and friendly but Mangi Lal might try to get you to go to places by offering cheap bargains but the best is politely refuse and look around on your own. If you are going there do carry some books in Hindi or simple English for Raees. He does not go to school but spoke to him and he might read if he had books.

Overall it was a nice experience and we would not mind going back and staying at the same place. The prices range from Rs.300/- to Rs.2000/- but do make sure to bargain.

Room Tip: Keep in mind your budget and requirement. Some rooms have windows but some are completely blocked e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Subhashani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
36
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very friendly hosts in a characteristic hotel. Small but comfortable rooms in a quiet street just next to the clock tower. (go try Vickys omelettes there!) Within walking distance to the fort, the restaurant has a great fort view for breakfast/dinner and the food is excellent. Very nice cook Samil, who also sells nice patchworks at a very very reasonable price (we asked him about those hanging in the hotel, there was no hard sell from the hotel at all) and Anil the manager was always telling us to relax and treat the place like our home. We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were fantastic, even when we had to wake them up at 5am when we had checked out to get a train – a day too early! Thanks again guys! Good WIFI too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank _CFT000_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived late and were given a room with four blue, mildew-stained walls and no windows. We've been backpacking for over a year now and have seen much worse, but this room was like a cave and definately not worth 400rp/night. There was nothing else, so we said we'd stay only one night, not the two we'd stated on the phone. The owner Anil wasn't happy. He insisted we look at another room in the morning before deciding to leave. The way he spoke to me made me very uncomfortable.

The next morning we were shown the room that appears in the photos. It is twice the size of the previous one, and since we were only planning on staying in Jodpuhr for one more night and didn't want to waste our time looking for another place, we switched. At first, the employee told us it would cost 500rp instead of the 400rp we paid for the other one. When we said we were going somewhere else, he gave us the same price.

After moving our things from the old room into the new one, we realised we'd left my wife's engagement ring on the mantle area. I went back to the room where a young boy (10yrs or so) was cleaning the bathroom. The ring was no longer there, so I asked him "You see ring here?" while pointing to the area where we left it and then to a similar ring I was wearing. He shook his head no as his hand shot straight to his pocket. He took me to an area where the trash was stored and began to look through it, then looked at me and shook his head "no". I went to Anil, who was in his room, and spoke with him through the door. I explained that we had left our ring in the room and if he could ask his son if he had seen it---maybe it had gotten mixed up in the trash. Anil said something to his son in Hindi (I suppose) and his son went to the trash area again. This time I left him alone to rummage through the trash without me looking over his shoulder. Seconds later our ring had emerged. I am not saying he stole it, simply that it seemed highly likely, since his hand shot instinctively to his pocket when I had originally asked him about it.

Anil made repeated comments about not using too much water and to leave a review. Maybe he has poor people skills or there is a large cultural barrier between us, but I was never comfortable speaking with him.

On our way out (with all our gear on), he stopped us at the door and asked gruffly where we were going. I replied we were leaving. He then shook my hand and without letting go told me "Remember...". Confused, I asked him "What?"
"Remember to leave a review on Trip Advisor" he says. A few days later he sent us an SMS telling us to leave a review again.
Well, Anil, here you go. We were not happy at all with our experience at your guesthouse. The view is nice, but there are many places in better areas with nicer views.

Go to the less touristy area on the other side of the fortress. You'll be happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

When I traveling in India, I like to stay in this kind of small guest house. It's has kindly and friendly staff. Also, it has delicious restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank ChengYuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

in anil guest house, we were rested in 3 days. in that time,

anil and salim very kind!

everyday making good food, information about trip to us! also very concered about laundary.

possible to hot water shower, wi-fi. also very cheap to price of room.

i think in this guest house, good service, kind in jodhpur. hhhh

i'm very pleasure to trip abot jodhpur because of anil guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Min Gyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Enjoyed 5 nights in this relaxed, charming old building which has been turned into a guest house. small with only 6 rooms and a covered roof terrace where was able to enjoy tasty food and practice yoga. The Owner and Team are 'hands on' and friendly without being pushy. Was able to book go on a camel ride and stay on a farm through Anil's contacts which was also enjoyable. Laundry was good value too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I and my friends stayed here for longer than we expected because this guesthouse is more than nice. The location is superb, we didn't have to walk any long distance to the must see sights in Jodhpur. The rooms are quite clean, and everything else is reasonable for the amount of money we spent here. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Salim the cook guy.
And, we absolutely love the view from the rooftop!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JacquouTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pal Haveli
Pal Haveli
#12 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hill View Guest House
Hill View Guest House
#19 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shivam Paying Guest House
Shivam Paying Guest House
#36 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anil Sunrise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anil Sunrise Guest House

Property: Anil Sunrise Guest House
Address: near Clock Tower, Manak Chowk Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Anil Sunrise Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing