We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise..relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thar Oasis Resort & Camp
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
gujarat,india
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise..relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Thar oasis resort is located on Bikaner road near dechu village and have a excellent staff with polite attitude,great rooms,nice gardens and a very good cuisine at restaurant.they provide free wi fi, evening traditional programme with paid drinks and snacks.Thar oasis camps are a pleasant surprise located on sand dunes and have an excellent tent facility with very good amenities for a comfortable stay.evening programme under clear sky is icing on the cake and the staff and food provided is very good.they provide jeep and camel safari but nothing much to talk about.it is the lace and the atmosphere there that made our day..overall excellent stay and worth recommending.

Room Tip: better to stay in the camps for a night enroute to jodhpur or jaisalmer...resort stay recommended if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dradvait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm living there permanently as company provided accommodation, I like ambiance, food and hospitality. Evening folk music with dinner is marvelous. Worth living. Entry of resort is from farms of peanuts, castor, and grains, lot of peacocks and dears in surrounding. Authentic flavorful cuisines.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great location and the service is great. They pay a lot of attention to you and even when you are in the pool they come out with beach balls and run fetch them for you when yu toss them out of pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jempita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the desert camp for one night, rather then the main hotel resort.

Was a good 2.5 hours from Jodhpur, so take that into account if your heading back to Jodhpur to get anywhere else.

The camp was so well kept, beautiful tents with four poster beds, very clean and a good power shower !

The staff are so very helpful and work so hard here. The food was amazing , although I couldnt eat dinner as lunch had been such a large affair. The evening entertainment was the best dancers we saw in Rajasthan, and the setting was spectacular on all white sofa beds put on the floor, lit by campfires and candles with a bar for drinks served to your sofa.

The jeep desert safari was great fun, and getting to meet the locals was even better. Not one person tried to sell us anything that there were making or showing us ... they are such beautiful friendly people who are geniually happy to meet you and show you their way of life.

An excellent choice camp with a real personal touch and really wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EveJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

In considering this property, travelers should distinguish between the resort, which is closer to the main Jodhpur to Jaisalmer road, and the camp, which is some 20 kms off the main road. I think the reviews are a mixture of the two properties, so be sure to read the one you are considering. We stayed at the camp in a group of 22 and it was probably the highlight of our 7 days in Rajasthan. The tents are luxurious and facilities well-maintained, the sunset camel ride to the dunes was tons of fun and provided some incredible photo ops, and the night-time traditional dance performance at the campfire, with traditional musicians, was magic. OK, sure, it's a touristy experience, but one of the best out there. Besides, traditional music and dance were a dying art after the end of the maharajah period, and tourism has revived them. The food was excellent (particularly the snacks and drinks during the performance), and early morning in the quiet of the desert camp is something worth waking up for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautiful property. Far from the bustling city crowd, a propertry set far from the chaos.. A perfect getaway to plan for couples . Lots of privacy and quiet time guaranteed !! Added charm is the finger licking food. Camps are definitely way better than the property !! Again camps are a first rate option for a romantic outing and also good for a family visit.

The only negative point is the distance of the resort property from the town. In case you dont plan to have your own vehicle at your disposal, be ready to be totally cut off from everything, until and unless you are ready to pay a hefty price for the jeep - to and fro trip.

Cannot finish the review without mentioning the heartwarming hospitality and care presented by the overseer/cook ath the property.

Room Tip: Camps are a better option than rooms. Split your stay between both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stumbled upon Thar Oasis as we needed a place to rest in between Jaisalmer and Jodhpur. The grounds are pretty spectacular, with need little cottages serving as rooms. We caught them at an odd time, I think, as it had been packed the day before and then we were the only ones staying there on the day we arrived. As such, the staff were very attentive, almost to a fault. The restaurant cooked up some of the best food of our trip, and there's an interesting cultural singing and dance show in the evening that was pretty cool but also a little odd, as they were performing just for us. Anyway, I get the feeling there's a lot more there to experience, but it served us great as a short stopover. Recommended.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank JH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
60.7 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
54.4 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
58.5 mi away
Park Plaza Jodhpur
Park Plaza Jodhpur
#19 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.9 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
55.5 mi away
Marugarh Resort
Marugarh Resort
#35 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.7 mi away
Manvar Desert Camp & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thar Oasis Resort & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thar Oasis Resort & Camp

Property: Thar Oasis Resort & Camp
Address: Village Gumanpura | Dechu, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thar Oasis Resort & Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thar Oasis Resort gives you touch of Rich tradition, splendid heritage and warmness of local culture of Rajasthan. Incredible stonework and carvings done by local skilled craftsmen, gives you a view of spectacular architecture of Rajasthan. Getting the Village-feel with all modern amenities is what you experience only in Thar Oasis Resort.You may want to enjoy nature walk or want to rest your body with peace. Recreational art facilities rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thar Oasis Resort & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing