We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, beautiful home, great view, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Ranked #9 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent room, beautiful home, great view, good food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I choose this haveli based on a recommendation. Although I got messed about a little bit as my booked room wasn't available, I nonetheless had a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and well appointed with some fantastic touches which made it feel entirely authentic; the baubles on the ceiling make sense after your tour of the fort! The restaurant has an unimpeded view of the fort, although its the somewhat less glamorous side of it (i.e. you can't see the palaces, just feel the imposing scale of the walls). The food was really good and the service polite. There was an autorickshaw waiting for me despite my 5.30am arrival on the day, and someone woke up to greet me at the door, can't ask for more really.

You are an easy walk to either the main tourist haunts and the rear entrance to the fort. It was a relatively peaceful location though by Indian standards and it was so much more pleasant being away from the primary tourist traps.

Room Tip: The Ganesh suite has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XanderLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
125
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The people that runs this little boutique hotel did a REALLY good job!i travelled the world and this place, for his price it's really well worth it. In a little alley of chaotic Jodpur you'll find this old charming building away from the noise.only 5 very nice room, super clean, new with nice furniture and tasteful details.the bed is very comfortable and I had one of the best sleep in my long trip to India.
A lot of places are nice and then they have a awful sterile lighting, this place has a beautiful romantic and cozy light and you really feel like at home. Nice rooftop with amazing view and the food is soooooo good (and clean).The owner is a very nice man with a lovely family.he will help you with everything you need like he did with us.and hey, for those that are annoyed but some beautiful religious chanting and slightly noise from some local traffic, go on holiday to south of France not to Jodhpur! I ensure you everybody that this place is very quite and I had an amazing sleep.
So if you stay in the old city, this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessioNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed three nights at this beautiful haveli, well located with excellent view of the fort. We could lie in bed and the fort. There was a small balcony as well as the rooftop restaurant to provide a place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. The rooms are decorated lavishly, and well restored. There was air con, wifi and a tv if you really needed it. Well positioned, really clean and friendly staff. Had a great stay.

Room Tip: Try for the room at the top, but it is three stories up so be prepared for the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Finding this gem might be a bit difficult but it's an oasis in the hectic life of Jodphur. You need to get an auto rickshaw because taxis can't get into the old city but when you get there you'll find the owner and staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms immaculate and the 400 year old building is steeped in character.
I had the top room with a view of the fort, but the restaurant roof terrace above has a panoramic view of the whole city and the freshly prepared food is excellent.
Wish I could stay for at least another day. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If you pick the top room you'll get the best view and its very quiet but you might be woken by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossWuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I only stayed for 1 night at the Juna Mahal & wished it could have been longer. It is truly stunning. There are only 5 rooms so it is very much a 'homestay'. It has been beautifully restored with many of its original features being saved.
I was in one of the best rooms (Lord Shiva). It had air con, beautiful bathroom (lots of hot water).
Bed & bedding were good. I slept very well. There was a hairdrier & kettle.
Location was just perfect for me - right in the old part of town. It meant you had to get a tuk tuk to reach it through the narrow streets but it was worth it.
There was free wifi in the rooms so that was a real bonus for me.
There is a pretty cafe on the rooftop with lovely views. I didn't have supper here but I did have breakfast. This was a bit of a disappointment and I felt it let things down a bit which was a shame.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the juna for two nights in feb 2013, i wish now i had stayed for 4 nights ,its so cool,you will be amazed at the building itself. the rooms are all named from hindu gods i stayed in Ganpati,see photo , it was fantastic as were the rooftop views over the blue city,this is the tallest building in Johdpur and the views are awsome.
juna mahal It is in itself a great experience, and when you walk out of the front door ypu step into what i can only say is real india, real rajasthan and a real experience that you will not forget.
Abig thank you to joshi hope your bad back is ok now,and his family for their hospitality, and all the emailing we did prior to my arrival, this was booked directly with joshi and i was confident in his communications. Also a big thank you to his driver who collected me from the aiport on his scooter, wow what a ride still got the white knuckles ,laugh ?? absolutely and also for him driving me by car to Jaipur via Pushkar in what i can say was a truely amazing drive, if you want a real experince in Johdpur then go to Juna Mahal,you will not be dissapointed but inspired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davroNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Junal Mahal is a wonderfully characterful old building, and our room – Lord Shiva – was lovely (though it only had very tiny windows to the outside world, which meant there wasn’t much natural light). The room had lots of different lights and lamps which meant it was possible to have really nice 'mood' lighting in the evening, which showed off the room at its best. The bed was comfy too. Our only minor complaint would be that the bed sheets weren’t great.

Our pick-up from the station was there when we arrived (though there was some confusion over our departure time to the airport which meant we were nearly late, so make sure you are very clear about what time you need the car to be there if you are being taken to the airport).

The bathroom was modern and clean and the shower hot.

The breakfast wasn’t anything to write home about, but it was nice to be able to eat it on the roof, looking out at the fort and over the rooftops of Jodhpur (complete with occasional monkey antics).

Joshy, the manager spoke good English, was very helpful, and had a sense of humour which had us in stitches. We also warmed to Jeckle, the family tortoise, though he wouldn’t come out of his shell to meet us properly because he was hibernating.

The location was good. We loved the colourful little lane we were in, and it was a straightforward 10 min walk to the fort (though be warned: everyone drives like a maniac in Jodhpur – far worse than anywhere else I’ve been in India – so be prepared to keep leaping out the way of tuk-tuks and motorbikes).

Go on the zip slides around the fort – it was great fun and the views are fantastic!

Room Tip: Lord Shiva has loads of character but the main windows are onto the staircase and there are only two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theworldisadewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 100 in Jodhpur
428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 100 in Jodhpur
914 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 100 in Jodhpur
973 reviews
3.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
6.8 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 100 in Jodhpur
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay

Property: Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Address: Ada Bazar | Ada Bazar, Daga Street, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is 472 year old home (haveli) formally used by a brahmin family who served as a priest for the royal family temples. The homesay feature five boutique suites with indisval a/c and balcony converted from the home stay. All the suites decortaed with ancient sand stone carved and 6 to 11 windows OFFERING natural light brahmin family rooftop restaurant serving vegetarian food with relaxed atmosphere. Sand stone jaroka with beautiful carving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing