We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful but needs improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Ranked #13 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Characterful but needs improvements”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Positive points:
-pick-up from the train station, although the driver had no name-card, so when he asked if we wanted a rickshaw we said that we had a pick-up with our hotel, and he said he was the guy! A little odd. We were also transferred to a different rickshaw as there was another girl arriving, and the guy cheekily tried to charge us even though we knew it was included, so stick to your guns if this happens to you!
-it's centrally located, so you if you have the energy, you can walk to the clock tower in one direction and to Meharangarh Fort in the other
-from the roof terrace there are magnificent views over the blue city and to the fort
-on our last day we were allowed to leave our bags all day and to have a shower before leaving
-there's an off-season discount of 20%

Negatives:
-no cleaning of room or bathroom - one night there was even a cat poo in front of our room that stayed there til well into the next morning
-had to ask for sheets as the bed cover was not really clean
-service in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very slow, and certain things were not available
-email response was non-existent, automatic reservation forms only, which was frustrating if you had questions or wanted to confirm train arrival etc
-you have to pay a deposit in advance to confirm the room, the only place where we had to do so, but in common with Mr Joshi's other guest house

Room Tip: I can only speak for our room as we didn't see the others, but I can advise any room EXCEPT ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
dear guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write review in trip advisor
in our guest house we use to have a window near to street from there some time cat came
now we closed the wind with glass gate so no any cat jump in our guest house
now we pick our guest our self ,so they dont get any problems,u are write service in restaurant was slow because in off sizen we had less staff,after read your review i learn many thing,we have full staff and i my self check all the room is clean and fresh bed sheet and clean bathroom,
thank u once again for all the iformatio,in future we will take care all,and hope never happen again with other guest,
once again please do accept my apologies and we hope when ever u come back to jodhpur u will stay with us again,and u will find thing has been changed, thanks
regards joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    73
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
123
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay with Joshi and his family for thee days recently. Joshi was very responsive and helpful during my initial enquiries and after some issues caused by an airline to transport me from Jaipur to Jodhpur, Joshi arranged for a private car pick-up which proved to be a great option at a moderate price.

Juna Mahal is located within the old blue city and narrow alleys (wide enough for a tuk tuk only closer to the Juna Mahal) which are teaming with activity from after 10am until around 10pm. Arrival by taxi is therefore not an option. As an aside, Joshi owns a new tuk tuk operated by a very obliging driver - so a pick-up to get into the labyrinth of the old city need not be considered a problem. For anyone who is interested in staying somewhere that provides access to old city living India style - this is a great option and Juna Mahal is sheltered from any street noise as it is down a narrow alley away from the bustle.

Juna Mahal opened in 2011 and extensive work was done prior to opening to renovate this heritage building to where it is today with comfortable bedrooms with modern en suite bathrooms. The view from the roof over the surrounds and to the fort is wonderful. Take the time to climb onto the rooftop at sunrise to sit quietly and watch the city awaken - fascinating to watch the early morning activity - people, monkeys and birds.

Am already planning a return visit to stay with Joshi and the family this time next year with a group - which should speak for itself. Always wonderful to arrive somewhere as a guest and to leave as a friend.... Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
dear guest
thank you for taking the time to write review on trip advisor
we are very thanks full for your stayed was very good with us
please come and stay with us again any time u want
regards joshi and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Juna Mahal over New Year 2011/2. Joshi and his staff were wonderful and treated us with great hospitality and kindness. The views from the rooftop are breathtaking of the fort, the blue city and the palace in the distance. We were literally speechless when we first went up there...as it was so beautiful.

We ate at the Juna Mahal a number of times and found the food very tasty.

Joshi organised a trip to Jaisalmer and a camel ride at sunset. It was a great day out.

The bedrooms were clean and had lots of character. We didn't sleep brilliantly as we were at the front of the haveli and there was noise from the street.

I would recommend a stay at this B&B.

Room Tip: Maybe try to choose a room at the back or higher up the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DameTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
dear guest
thank you for taking time to write review on trip advisor
the room u were stayed,i changed the glass window,now we made
new window with heavy ( thick)glass so there is no noise any more
from street,when u cam next time u can see,
thanks for stayed with us
regards joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in early April 2012 taking 2 rooms and left with mixed emotions about the place and its location.

I wouldn’t really class the Juna Mahal as a hotel… It’s family run feel with just 5 bedrooms are more akin to a B&B than hotel, but that aside, it is a fantastic old building full of charm with an eclectic yet well put together array of quirky and interesting décor – comfortable beds, wonderful old furniture in the bedrooms, old photos and old Hindi movie posters adorn the walls whilst various other objects and artefacts add to the aged charisma of the building.

Up a number of steep steps is the roof terrace with really great views across the city to the fort..

And now the downside.

However good the rooms of the Junal Mahal are (and they are really good), the streets surrounding the hotel let the place down. Tiny, noisy, dirty alleyways only accessible by auto or on foot, the location really is a big let-down. That said, it was an experience and for anyone into street photography, offered unlimited opportunities…

Adding to the B&B feel is the fact our rooms were not cleaned or made up for the 3 days we stayed and no fresh towels were provided.

If it was possible to move the Juna Mahal to a better location, it would get 5 out of 5…

Yet despite all this negatives… I’d stay there again…

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write review on trip advisor i am sorry for my location
that is old city,after read your review on trip advisor i start to clean room every day and provied fresh towels and fresh sheet,before we don't,now we do., thank u for teaching us
regards joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Juna Mahal is located in the congested old part of the city, and reached through a warren of narrow, stinking, garbage strewn streets. The lane leading to the hotel has a filthy open drain on the side, with sewage flowing through it. We were traumatized enough to see the neighborhood, and looking at the rooms and steep stairs leading up to them did nothing to alleviate our spirits. We phoned another hotel located in Ratanada area and luckily they had rooms. I am not squeamish and not a stranger to rough travel, but this place was something else! Immersion into "real India" is one thing, staying in a slum-like neighborhood another.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HKExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
dear guest
thank you for taking the time to write review on trip advisor
i accept my location point,but not other thing like sewage flowing throw
if it is true why other guest don't write,
u are my guest and guest is like a god in india,and we always try to keep all the guest happy,but we are not a god so we can not keep all guest 100% happy,but 99% happy,that is sure,
regards joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We ended up at the Juna Mahal by accident having originally booked to be at their sister hotel - the Cosy Guest House. However, we were really happy with the turn of events as the Juna Mahal was beautiful. Our room was uniquely furnished with a nod to its Haveli origins, spacious, very clean and with a great attached bathroom (the shower was the best we've had during a month's travel in India!). We ate at the roof-top restaurant several times and were as impressed with the food and service as we were with the views across the fort and old city. Mr Joshi and his family were very welcoming and assisted us all they could including arranging a great day trip out to see the temples at Osiyan and camel trekking in the desert.

Room Tip: The Lord Shiva room was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraCollins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Many thanks to the family who is keeping Juna Mahal. The little hotel is beautiful, very tastefully furnished and designed. A small oasis among the extremely busy, noisy and dirty small streets around. The location is good, just 10 min walk to the fort.
The staff is very helpful and visibly proud of their property. Rooms are clean, with beautiful Indian accessories.
The only thing that looked "funny" - the bathrooms.Yes, they are clean, modern and new, but compared to rooms in completely different style. Like in any other modern hotel in Europe, yet here in comparison with the ethnic, antique furnished guest rooms - it´s like you´re in a different hotel. Also, the rooftop restaurant will be improved according to the manager.
However, I think Juna Mahal was the most characteristic hotel I´ve stayed in India.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#7 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay

Property: Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Address: Ada Bazar | Ada Bazar, Daga Street, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is 472 year old home (haveli) formally used by a brahmin family who served as a priest for the royal family temples. The homesay feature five boutique suites with indisval a/c and balcony converted from the home stay. All the suites decortaed with ancient sand stone carved and 6 to 11 windows OFFERING natural light brahmin family rooftop restaurant serving vegetarian food with relaxed atmosphere. Sand stone jaroka with beautiful carving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing