We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Guest House
Ranked #20 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly place to stay, excellent view of fort and city. They fed us, henna'd us, lent us money, went above and beyond anything we would expect of a host haveli. Sunny [Vipin] became our best friend! Would be sure to go back if I ever return to India.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnb6138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hill View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

After reading about this guesthouse on trip advisor and in the LP we emailed to make a booking and got a swift response. On arrival in the evening we got a warm welcome and were instantly made to feel at home. The rooms are basic and clean...all you need for a place to sleep! They are great value at 300 rupees with a fan! The views from the terrace and roof are fantastic in all directions and without going up to the fort itself are the best in town. Food was good and reasonably priced giving you an option if you arrive late etc.We also booked a bus ticket through the hostel (with minimal commission) which was very easy. All in all we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and after a years travelling was nice to have the peace and quiet of this friendly place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

During Feb. 2013, we stayed at this budget guest house. The location is great: right under the Fort and excellent view of the city. Zaffron who is an exceptional independent Indian woman runs the place efficiently and with all her heart and soul.
Highly recommended for backpackers.
Tami and Esti
Israel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tami434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch the summer of 2012 and have talked about that meal since then. All four of us got the worst food poisoning on our entire 4-week trip around India, Nepal and Sri Lanka after that lunch. If you come here, take a quick glance into the kitchen and it's no surprise how the food gets so bad: filthy and nasty.

The view is stunning, but does not weigh up for the exceptionally low quality of the food served.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Trotter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hill view is ideal for those travelling on a budget, they have a range of rooms starting at 200 rps and go up according to size, views etc ...
Its in a great location based on the hill directly below the fort, so a quick stroll up the hill and your there, its also close to the clock tower and markets,about a 5 min walk.
It provides a nice chill out area , perfect for chatting with other travellers or for passing time by with free WiFi, they also provide cold drinks,'' including beer 150 rps for king Fisher'',, tea, coffee, lassi's as well as meals, however I would reccomend finding elsewhere to eat as the food wa, bland, watery, no flavour at all and overpriced for its worth .
All the staff are friendly and helpfull, and the owner is pretty awesome, shes very funny and laid back and makes you feel right at home.
Rooms are very basic, but clean and tidy, with Western toilets and attached showers .. beds are comfy also ... however some rooms cant connect to wifi, so you have to use the terrace.
They can also help out with transport bookings, but shop around first to get prices and than see what they can offer.
Hill view is always full, so plan ahead if you want to stay and make a confirmed booking to avoid disappointment... we had been double booked but were able to get a room the next night... they were really nice about it and offered to find us another hotel, but I reccomend calling and confirming your booking at least twice prior to arrival, especially if you arrive after 10 am.... ( this is the busiest time and there is a back log of people awaiting rooms.
All in all we had a good stay, it was perfect for a budget option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Room is clean and very basic. windows are made of wood not glass, therefore if you want to see the view you must open the window, but there are no mosquito net (some rooms)and barrier outside window. if you close the window when you sleep, it colud be hotter than outside.
Except the great view of the room, you can easliy find cheaper and better room in the town. and 1. you can go to their restruant, the view is better than room. 2. you are not probably stay in your room and look outside 24 hrs. room is only for sleep.

the owners are freindly and nice, but you cannot receive wifi signal in some rooms, you must go outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikayao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and found it to be a lovely little place, with the very friendly owner and her kids often around. I happened to get quite ill while I was in Jodhpur, and having a nice clean room and bathroom with a comfy double bed was a godsend, particularly given the low price (200rs a night) meant I wasn't worried about how long I might need to stay. The concern and kindness of the hostess towards my condition was also very sweet and made it the most reassuring of recovery places!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#8 of 193 in Jodhpur
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Heritage Guest House
Royal Heritage Guest House
#48 of 193 in Jodhpur
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#13 of 193 in Jodhpur
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#7 of 193 in Jodhpur
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Guest House

Address: Kille Khana Hill View Guest House Near The Fort Fort Road, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $22 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing