We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View, the View, and the View!”
Review of Hem Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hem Guest House
Ranked #31 of 190 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The View, the View, and the View!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at Hem in early March as a solo traveler on two separate occasions of a total of 2 nights. I greatly appreciated the very personal experience offered by the family and the location of the guesthouse. Needless to say, the view from the roof terrace of the Fort is magnificent. In a nice day, you could just seat up there marveling the view and watching the day go by through the change of shades over the Fort. But there is more, you can do so while sipping chai and ordering drinks and snack food from the kitchen. Yes, this is where you can enjoy three meals a day, cooked by Rishi's mom. The room may be basic but tastefully decorated and bed is very comfortable. The location is excellent, surrounded by shops and markets, and 10 minutes walk to the main market. I walked from the house to the Fort twice, going through narrow lanes and receiving VIP attention from local kids, all so beautiful inside out. The host family is a true embodiment of the lovely city of Jodhpur, simple, warm, unpretentious, proud, and full of energy. The stays at Hem Guest House made Jodhpur my favorite city in Rajasthan!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
97
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just a quick night here between Delhi and Jaisalmer, but we enjoyed every bit...Vipin and Rishi were such friendly hosts, whom we loved talking with. They helped us to make the most of our day in Jodhpur and then welcomed us back with a delicious dinner on the rooftop terrace, with beautiful views of the fort. We had a 5 am train the next morning, but they were up and had chai and a small breakfast ready for us. True hospitality!

Just an FYI if it's important: Wi-fi access was spotty but they did make an effort to get me connected.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice...they didn't have any rooms with two beds but it was fine for a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hem Guesthouse for 3 nights in feb 2012. Rishi and Vishnu and their family made our stay wonderful.. Especially cute baby, Ladoo! We really liked the family run aspect of the guesthouse. The food made by Rishi's mother and wife was delicious and so was the chai which they gave you in nice big mugs! Rishi took us to his factory outlet stores and showed us where to buy good souvenirs. He even helped me with organizing shipping things home. I can't praise this family enough for running such a great guest house. I would go back to jodhpur just to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahbehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

i highly recommend this as a place to stay in Jodhpur. The family are so kind and helpful and will look after you really well! The roof terrace has probably best view of the fort and we ate at the guest house both nights of our stay and had delicious home cooked meals on both occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of those instances, where the business is dependent more on foreigners than locals as , although the hosts were very nice, but they did not deliver as promised.
First the good - room is excellent, bathroom very clean, you have some view of the fort from the tiny balcony.
The stay included breakfast, we explained to the family that we would be leaving at 8 AM to see the fort and needed the breakfast before 8 AM, the family went out for a wedding party the night before and did not come back until late,hence when we left the house in the morning, everyone was asleep and we had to buy our breakfast from elsewhere. They did not even apologize or make up for it in any way.
Second instance which bothers me still is, My trousers got wet, as their bathroom did not have a stopper for water and it can leak out of the door, I left the trousers on the suitcase to dry, in the afternoon when we came to pick the suitcase, the trousers were not there, probably moved by someone who came to clean the room etc. the owner promised to mail me the trousers to an address in Mumbai. but never actually sent them. I was really unhappy about it, but overall great place.

One more thing. Its very painful to get here, the house is in the middle of the old city, cars cannot come via the narrow lanes, so something to keep in mind when travelling with luggage.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank s_torro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Cozy and peaceful place in the middle of Jodhpur. Family is really helpful and nice, and they serve excellent & tasty home-made Indian food. Lot of choices even though everything is prepared from scratch by the family's mother when you make an order (might take a bit more time than in regular hotels of course), taste their home-made ice-creams, really good! Rooms are nicely decorated in Indian way and there is a quiet roof-top terrace in the building, from where you can see the beautiful panorama of this "blue city".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apprendrelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Myself and a friend (23&22 female) stayed her for one night in February 2012. It took us a while to decide where to stay in Jodhpur but we are so glad we found this gem. We had a long 8hr bumpy hot bus journey from Udaipur (no trains go direct) and upon arriving in Jodhpur, as with most of our bus journeys, we had no idea when or where to get off! A few other travellers seemed to be having the same issue until a man walked onto the bus shouting my friends name. Hurrah! We'd been rescued! It turns out Rishi/Vipen (owners of Hem guest house) were unsure which bus we were getting to Jodhpur and so had sent a member of their staff to check every bus that was coming from Udaipur that day! We couldn't believe it when we heard - service at its best!! Upon arrival at Hem we had a cold drink waiting for us on the rooftop which was pleasantly welcomed! It is a very homely guesthouse - run by a small family with only a handful of rooms for guests. They opened the guesthouse in 2010 and had already had over 700 visitors!The owners mother cooks the meals and she is happy for you to help in the kitchen and learn how to cook certain dishes. The food was of great quality and you could eat on the rooftop which overlooked the fort (walking distance). Nothing was too much to ask and when the time came to leave they organised a tuk tuk for us to the bus station. Would definitely recommend this guest house - Rishi made us feel very welcome and referred to it as "our home".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen7542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.1 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#7 of 190 in Jodhpur
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#4 of 190 in Jodhpur
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#12 of 190 in Jodhpur
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hem Guest House

Property: Hem Guest House
Address: Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hem Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hem Guest House, a family owned-and-run guesthouse & roof-top restaurant, full of the love and welcome that makes India so wonderful and a trip here so unique. As an honored guest in their home you will be afforded every luxury, comfort and convenience needed or desired to make your stay in Jodhpur, Rajasthan and India an experience you will cherish for the rest of your long life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing