We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want hot water look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ganpati Guest house
Ranked #101 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Negatives: Stayed here for three nights after booking our stay at Shivam and being told they were full when we arrived. First impressions were not great bins had not been changed in our room urine from previous guests on the toilet seat (which was broken and not even connected to the toilet) I asked if the sheets were changed they said they were I disagree they were filthy. I have been traveling in India for 3 weeks staying in guesthouses and this is the saddest accomm we have had the pleasure to stay in. Wi fi was average- poor on the 1st floor. 645am and the staff started blaring music from downstairs. No hot water for first few nights even though they advertise hot water from 8-11pm.
Positives: Great central location, walking distance to the Fort and clock tower, excellent restaurant across the road also JHANKAR RESTAURANT, I had my laundry washed here and it all came back cleaned and ironed for a reasonable price. Staff a mostly nice except when I asked why there was no hot water and they told me it was turned off as there were no tourists (strange as I was a tourist). Price would be good if they offered what they advertised ie. hot water

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanderlust2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Ganpati Guest house
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a transport stopover. We had booked online and received a good deal for this place. We checked in late at night, about 10.30pm and were waved into a room. The room was fine for one night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there for any longer. The bed and pillows were super hard, even by indian standards. There was no windows in the room we stayed in, if that is a factor for you.
The main reason I am writing a 'poor' review is because of the staff. Until about 2am they were extremely loud, and this is not a big place. We hardly got any sleep. The next morning we had breakfast somewhere else, and then tried to check out. This was really difficult as the guy at reception was extremely drunk. He couldn't remember how much we owed him for the room. We were in a hurry and he kept on telling us to sit down and talk with him even though we repeatedly told him we were in a hurry.
He then proceeded to offer us beer for breakfast if we wanted to drink with him. We politely declined and repeated that we were in a hurry. He continued to drunkenly talk at us whilst we tried to check out. We ended up giving him the approximate amount we could remember and running out of there to get away from him.

If you want a stay that involves drinking with the staff through the night until the morning this might be the place for you. We found it rude, difficult and very inappropriate. If you want to get some sleep and clear communication, go somewhere else.

There are better cheap home stays in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here a couple of months ago, while travelling around India, what a great place! I can't believe the negative comment this place has received. This family probably wouldn't have enjoyed any part of India!
We ordered food while staying, and it was freshly prepared and well worth it!! Service perfect and rooms beautiful. Would we go again? Definately!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411aplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra Singh I, Owner at Ganpati Guest house, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your positive feedback for Ganpati guest house. This inspires us a lot to work hard for the guests and make them happy and comfortable what every traveler would like to have. Thank you once again for your time and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were recommended this place in Jaisalmer and were really happy with the place. The rooms are tastefully decorated, airy and cool - very clean and spacious.
We were there in summer and a fan room still managed to keep us cool enough.
The owner gave us a lovely recommendation on where to go and what to do and even supplied us with a small map which he edited to show us where to get all the best views of the city.
It was within budget and had a nice family feel, they also booked us some bus tickets which was instant and with no hassle.
As our bus was late at night they even let us rest in the room during the hottest part of the day!
Can't thank them enough for that (45 degrees +!)
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlipBlop303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After having booked with Shivam, I got a room at this hotel. I loved my room - it was clean, spacious and decorated nicely and the hotel is in a great location. The terrace has an amazing view and I absolutely loved sitting up there - it's just too bad that they don't serve dinner. There is a BIG family that runs the place so always lots of people around (which I enjoyed), however they could have been friendlier to the guests staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travealddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Thinking back we should have paid extra for air con as it was 45 degrees when we stayed here. But we managed to save a lOT of money in this clean and spacious guesthouse. The bathroom was modern and was very clean compared to most bathrooms in India. The family were welcoming and showed us where was good to eat. We went to the fort and did ziplining which was awesome. Overall lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We originally contacted Shivam paying guesthouse in Jodhpur but they were full and referred us to their other guesthouse Ganpatti.
They picked us up from the train station for free, which was nice. We arrived really early around 5am so when we arrived we were shown right to our room and they said we could check in after some sleep. After we were shown a huge room with an extra bed so I asked how much and they said 900 rupees. It didn't seem too bad so we dropped our bags and crashed for a couple hours. Later on when I woke up I checked my original email to them and they quoted us between 400 and 800 rupees. So I asked again why were shown such a big room and asked if we could change. We were told sure and shown another room that was only 400 rupees. Smaller, one double bed and a bathroom. Perfect and all we needed. So we moved. Then they tell us we can't have that room because it's booked so we have to move to a room that's 600 rupees. I expressed my frustration with the whole thing and we were allowed to keep the 400 rupees room. No one else ever came to stay and the story kept changing so it felt to me like they were doing their best to get us to pay top dollar.
Yes this place is good value - clean and good location. I found the family to be unfriendly. Their brochure said hot water and restaurant. The restaurant was not operating and hot water was available from 8-11pm only. Not a big deal but just so you know the whole story. Free wifi worked well. I would only stay here again if I couldn't find a similar price elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtravelingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.1 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
946 reviews
3.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
6.0 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 95 in Jodhpur
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest house

Address: Makrana Mohalla | Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $11 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ganpati Guest house 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganpati is set in a 300 year old traditional style building which has several floors approached by an easy staircase. There are 12 traditionally decorated, spacious and well ventilated rooms with private bathroom. Some rooms offer dazzling views of the famous Meharangarh fort through the bay windows. It is a good mix of modern comfort and traditional architecture. On the top level is a restaurant serving home cooked food. On the menu there are not only Indian, continental and Italian dishes available but also real brewed coffee with an espresso machine. A large cup of cold coffee with vanilla ice cream is really an exception in Jodhpur. Ganpati is just a few hundred metres north of the bustling Sadar market clock tower. Ganpati is run by a gentle, friendly and helpful family. We would appreciate it if you stay with us and encourage a non commission paying set up to stop spoiling tourism. One can experience a traditional family atmosphere by staying with us. We put extra effort into making our guests' stay not only comfortable but also memorable as so many guests write us back when they go back home. We also organize 'bishnoi village safari' for half a day and we are proud to say that we are the founder of the camel safari around Osiyan in the great Indian Thar desert where one can go for an overnight trip in the desert, camping/home stay and camel ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganpati Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing