We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful grounds away from the noise”
Review of Jagat Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jagat Vilas
Ranked #35 of 192 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We hadn't booked ahead and so turned up one morning unannounced at Jagat Vilas. We were welcomed in and offered a room, and breakfast while we waited for the room to be cleaned. The grounds are very nice and peaceful, with flowers everywhere and small birds chirping and buzzing around - just what you need after an intense day in the city. The location is great too; the rest of the city, both old and new, aren't far away so a cheap tuktuk will get you anywhere you need to see.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for a nice review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about the homestay are very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 141 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Upon arriving we were very impressed with the lovely courtyard, spacious room and spacious bathroom. Everything was very clean and it was so quiet. The breakfast was shared with other guests which we enjoyed too. We would have liked to stay longer as this was a lovely place. They had different options of rooms for families too. Nice to stay at a family run place, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thanks for a great review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about our homestay is very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Its a very nice place to stay at, national handloom (shopping place) is nearby, and u can see the palace and the fort from the roof top. the owners of the hotel are very good hosts and we feel at home. the food is excellent and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and nice decorated. I will recommend my friends if they visit Jodhpur, they should stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PongNonphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location is good, not because it's close to the tower clock at old city, but because it's away from it. You can spend the day touring the city but when you got back it's quiet and it has a lovely yard where you can read a book in the morning with all the birds flying all around. The owners are very kind people.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about the location are very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Last January,2013, our son took my wife and me- both senior citizens- for a holiday trip from Mumbai to Rajasthan. At Jodhpur we stayed at Jagat Villas.It was a most pleasant experience - clean,comfortable and friendly. The place has an old-world charm which we so badly miss in a metropolis these days.Unfortunately I was running a temperature but Mr. Singh-the owner- took me in his car to his doctor and to the special x-ray clinic,taking time off from his busy schedule. Both he and Mrs. Singh made us feel we were among our relatives! At our request Mrs. Singh unhesitatingly prepared dinner to suit our taste buds and special needs. Believe me if I were a travel-buff I would have insisted everyone spend a few days at Jagat Villas when travelling to Jodhpur!
Sincerely,
Kalyan Ghose

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for a nice review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about our personal attention to you is very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great homestay experience - complete with warm hosts who keep you company for breakfast, suggest places to see and take great care of you in a beautiful, well kept, spacious and clean haveli. Absolutely reccomend it for young and old alike, looking for a budget friendly, homely experience without compromising on comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramalakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for a nice review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about the value and accommodation is very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I, both in our early twenties, stayed for 3 days. Clean, spacious and comfortable are the words that pop into my head first when I think of how to describe the rooms and the place in general. The whole layout of the haveli has a very homely feel to it. The hosts are extremely sweet people who went out of their way to care for two young girls travelling alone. The place is easily identifiable by all auto drivers and close to the roadways bus stand too. Great for small groups of 2 to 5, I'd definitely stay here if I visited Jodhpur again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sruthykumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maahi, Owner at Jagat Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jagat Vilas!!

Thank you for a great review. We are glad to hear of your pleasant stay experience. Your remarks about the hopitality and location are very encouraging. We would love to see you return.

Best wishes from all of us at Jagat Vilas, Jodhpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#10 of 96 in Jodhpur
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Kuchaman
Heritage Kuchaman
#38 of 96 in Jodhpur
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudraneel Villa
Rudraneel Villa
#31 of 192 in Jodhpur
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Vilas

Address: 25. Rai Ka Bagh | Near Lalji Handicraft, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: $24 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagat Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, Jagat Vilas is a heritage home stay in blue city Jodhpur, Rajasthan. Run by a traditional family who values love and relationships, we assure once you experience a simple life offered by us you'll come back yearning for more. Equipped with modern facilities for a comfortable stay, Jagat Vilas provides an interactive atmosphere for its travelers. The family ensures your stay at "Jagat vilas" to be the highlight of your visit to Jodhpur. The home stay was once part of the "Rai Ka Bagh Palace" residence to the erstwhile Royal family and served as the head quarters for the Royal Guards. The residence was bought in 1980 with the intention to keep the heritage and history alive and is successfully running as Jagat Vilas since 2009. With a convenient location and close proximity to the majestic Umaid Bhawan Palace and renowned antique and handicrafts market Jagat Vilas has always been a favorable place to stay for travelers across India and the world. We are always open for travelers seeking true experience of living with a close knit Indian family and relish on authentic home cooked meals along with a little history. We assure you that once you leave, you will not only leave with a memorable experience but also a lasting relationship with the city and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Jagat Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing