We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family”
Review of Jagat Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jagat Vilas
Ranked #29 of 189 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like family”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've stayed at Jagat Vilas recently and were nicely surprised with what we got - the service and the owners were absolutely outstanding! Very nice view from the roof, you can see the fort and the umaid bhawan palace. Nice and calm garden. The outskirts are not so inviting and as we arrived we were shocked the aspect of the neighbouring streets - once inside we found ourselves in an oasis of calm! The place is a bit outside of the city centre, in this case that was a valuable asset as Jodhpur is so hectic and chaotic. We got 2 rooms - clean, large and functional, on the ground floor, but were not inconvenienced at all by noise or whatsoever. breakfasts were served at our convenience, good value and always a nice start for the day to kick off. the owners are the most valuable part of the place, not only do they run the hotel and supervise everything but also they take time to talk to you and give you lots of tips for visiting the city. one morning after breakfast the charming lady showed us their family album and made us feel so unique, more like friends than tourists. We've travelled in Rajasthan for nearly one month and this by far was our favourite stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben16ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
38
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed there for good 10 days and it was almost like being at home.
The owners were extremely nice and pleasing and took care of everything.
The food was great and the room were large and clean. WiFi connectivity round the clock.
The best part of the entire stay was the way I was being treated and there were days when it almost felt like I was a part of the family itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharuSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed there for two nights on our 9 day trip to Rajasthan and it was almost like we had not left home. The owners were extremely nice folks and we had many interesting conversations over dinner and breakfast. Within a few hours I was calling them uncle and aunty instead of Mr/Mrs so and so. The food was just amazing, made in their own home kitchen (the green chilli pickle was fantastic!). Aunty shared a lot of stories about the city, Rajasthan's culture and their own family. Interestingly it turned out that the hotel we stayed in Udaipur was owned by her relatives... small world! Uncle was very helpful and took me with him on his motorcycle late in the night to pick up my bus ticket for my early morning journey.
The location of the hotel wasn't perfect if you want to be in the center of everything but it was quite peaceful and everything was just a short rickshaw ride away.
The room was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom although not very well equipped was clean and huge (almost the size of a room). There is a big terrace and a garden if you just want to relax and have a peaceful time.
I will most definitely stay again at Jagat Vilas the next time I visit Jodhpur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuliautomatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean, comfortable room with simple, decorative touches and thoughtful extras like luggage rack, mini fridge and kettle. AC available but the fan was sufficient. Shower with functioning hot water heater not intended for long showers (more than 10 minutes) or else you need to turn the water off and wait for it to heat up. There is a relaxing courtyard where you can read and use the fast wifi. Close to Raika Bagh station but the train whistles did not disturb our sleep. The hosts, Mr. and Mrs. Singh, are lovely -- friendly, caring, always available to answer questions and spot on with sightseeing, restaurant and bus ticket recommendations. For a reasonable charge they also prepare a decent breakfast and delicious home-cooked dinner (highly recommended). Short rickshaw ride from Jodhpur train station (prepaid cost Rs 82), to Umaid Bhawan Palace (Rs 60) and the excellent On The Rocks restaurant. Although it's away from the touristy area near the clock tower, we hired a rickshaw driver for a half-day (5 hour) tour to Jaswant Thada, Mehrangarh Fort, the Clock Tower and lunch at Pal Haveli for Rs 300. Worth the Rs 1600 per night for a deluxe double room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was perfect venue for out stay. The hosts and service was incredible, they couldn't help us enough.

The rooms were big, cool, clean and comfy. The food was also very nice with large portions. The bathroom had hot water and had a lovely shower.

It was a small distance out from the city but was cheap enough to get a Taxi.

This was our first couple of nights in India and made all of our nerves just go away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Jagat Vilas. The hosts were very helpful . Rooms were comfortable and the food was excellent . The location is great .... A little outside the city , but not too far from town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitasha74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

outside villa lot of garbage so foul smell will come once you will be out, no almirah, no tv, small bed, far from city so you have to spent extra bucks on taxi or auto for travelling. Good for those who want to do home stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohit wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
1.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 100 in Jodhpur
975 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yogi Guest House
Yogi Guest House
#39 of 189 in Jodhpur
405 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#6 of 189 in Jodhpur
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#5 of 189 in Jodhpur
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Vilas

Property: Jagat Vilas
Address: 25 Rai Ka Bagh | Near Lalji Handicraft, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagat Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, Jagat Vilas is a heritage home stay in blue city Jodhpur, Rajasthan. Run by a traditional family who values love and relationships, we assure once you experience a simple life offered by us you'll come back yearning for more. Equipped with modern facilities for a comfortable stay, Jagat Vilas provides an interactive atmosphere for its travelers. The family ensures your stay at "Jagat vilas" to be the highlight of your visit to Jodhpur. The home stay was once part of the "Rai Ka Bagh Palace" residence to the erstwhile Royal family and served as the head quarters for the Royal Guards. The residence was bought in 1980 with the intention to keep the heritage and history alive and is successfully running as Jagat Vilas since 2009. With a convenient location and close proximity to the majestic Umaid Bhawan Palace and renowned antique and handicrafts market Jagat Vilas has always been a favorable place to stay for travelers across India and the world. We are always open for travelers seeking true experience of living with a close knit Indian family and relish on authentic home cooked meals along with a little history. We assure you that once you leave, you will not only leave with a memorable experience but also a lasting relationship with the city and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Jagat Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing