We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning hotel”
Review of RAAS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RAAS
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's hard to imagine staying anywhere else in Jodhpur now - this is such a beautiful hotel, set below the Mehrangarh Fort with extraordinary views from everywhere, including one's bed! A clever mix of old and new buildings and beautiful gardens, a feast for the eyes wherever you are in the hotel. It is as well run as any hotel we know - the staff are perfectly briefed, call you by name, remember your preferences and are genuinely friendly and helpful, but not intrusive.

The craziness that is old Jodhpur is right on your doorstep, so you can wander to your heart's content, and then come back and relax in this haven of beauty.

Pre-dinner drinks on the roof terrace are unforgettable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJPfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for RAAS
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and wished it had been more. Fabulous location, wonderful service, excellent food, great rooms - what more can I say? Oh yeah, the view of the fort is spectacular !! We hope to make it back very soon. A wonderful place to stay when in Jodhpur.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Susnairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

India is rightly famous for historic palatial hotels, but this one is different. Yes, it started out life as an authentic local haveli, but in this case the renovation was not a re-creation. Instead, they have opted for a thoroughly modern interior with a view directly onto the ancient walls and fort Jodphur is famous for. It was a real kick to feel that juxtaposition of the old and the new -- sit on your comfortable private terrace gazing out on a starry night onto the beautifully lit fort looming almost directly above you. This has the feel of a Western boutique hotel but with the gracious service of India. A real gem!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel with an extraordinary view of the Mehrangarh Fort. The room was immaculant and the service perfect. The heated pool made for a very relaxing afternoon. I would highly recommend this for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The near by mosque was quite loud but they do provide ear plugs. Not a deal breaker.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The external and interior design are fantastic. the staff are brilliant. There is central tipping, which we approve of. Wifi is free and efficient. The food is fantastic. The beds are enormous. The bathrooms are wonderful.The pool area is soothing. This is one of ten hotel reviews from our recent 25 night holiday across northern India. Within those 10 this hotel comes at the top by a clear margin.
There is a hotel tuk-tuk and one of the reception staff will take you on a free ride round the city walls. Recommend you do this and ask them to take you to the local hindu temple that's en-route. It was wonderful...a very spiritual visit; not for the historic or architectural value but the love the people have for their temple.
the only negative about our stay was morning call to prayer from the adjacent minaret....it was loud, but we didn't mind.
Go there.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a fort view. I suspect the garden rooms don't get a very good one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

RAAS is a stylish, modern and minimalist haven in the hurly-burly of old Jodhpur. We loved our bedroom and bathroom, and the amazing view of the Fort from our balcony. The heated swimming pool was a plus. The restaurant in the old haveli was delightful -- breakfasts and our one evening meal were all excellent, as was the service.

Our only gripe is that at these prices towels should be fluffy and white, not grey!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent only two nights in Jodphur, and wish it could have been more. Loved the fantastic view of the fort and neighborhood roof-top life. (It was also grand to pick out the hotel from above when we were visiting the fort.) The weather was exquisite (we were there end of February) and the grounds, restaurants and food here were top-notch. It was great being able to poke around in the market and then come back to this dreamy oasis.

I loved the earplugs supplied with the turndown service. To be perfectly honest, we slept so well we just woke briefly, looked at each other and went back to sleep. The call to prayer was nothing, after the sermon that seemed to go on rather animatedly the night before. Many of us Westerners having drinks on the roof terrace started to feel a bit uncomfortable as the celebrant got quite agitated, but when we asked one of the servers what was being said, he merely smiled and said "He is praising God." We assumed he was correct.

Our last night we had dinner in the roof-top dining room and while it got a bit chilly, the meal was extraordinary and we were quite comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyOLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
1.7 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,239 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 95 in Jodhpur
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAAS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAAS

Address: Tunvar Ji Ka Jhalra | Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342001, India (Formerly Raas Haveli)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $198 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RAAS 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the Walled City of Jodhpur and under the imposing stare of Mehrangarh Fort, sits RAAS. The site was formerly the home of the aristocratic Thakur family, and the original 18th-century haveli has been carefully renovated to produce the four old buildings of the hotel. The three new buildings are modern and contemporary in their use of space and light, and yet are grounded in tradition. Jodhpur's red sandstone unites the new with the old, with modern designs in its latticing and carving adding a fresh dimension to the region's age-old stone carving industry. This seamless harmony between the old and the new, the modern and the traditional, extends to all aspects of RAAS. Almost all of the rooms have magnificent views of Mehrangarh Fort from both the private terraces and from the cast iron bathtubs, and those that don’t have their own private gardens and views over the old haveli and landscaped gardens of RAAS. The rooms are furnished with state of the art amenities: all rooms are air-conditioned with the latest eco friendly machines, and have overhead fans, hairdryers, safes, central heating, wi-fi, TV, telephones and en suite bathrooms. There are rooms with easy access for the handicapped and non-smoking rooms. RAAS boasts two fine dining restaurants, which offer both Indian and International cuisine: Darikhana is a beautiful terraced restaurant and the Baradari Café is inside the old pavilion and offers a relaxing location near the pool. There is also a luxury spa that offers a full range of treatments and a boutique shop. RAAS is the ideal place to soak up the rich local heritage of Jodhpur while at the same time indulging in opulent luxury and comfort. As soon as you drive through the old wooden gates in RAAS’s very own blue tuk-tuk, the majesty of Mehrangarh Fort will be tempered by your sense of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your RAAS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raas Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing