We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible boutique hotel in the middle of the old city”
Review of RAAS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RAAS
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

THis hotel is one of the most unique boutique properties I have stayed in. Its located in the moiddle of the old city on the grounds of what used to be a royal mansion and behind real fort like gate and doors. The property is stunning with new additions blending in with the old. The decor is minimalist modern with stone walls carved with the hotel's funky logo. There is a beautiful infinity pool in the garde nnext to the restaurant - all overlooking the fort. The rooms are also modern, huge and very luxurious with a balcony overlooking the fort (not all rooms have fort views thpough). THis is truly a deluxe and serene heaven in the middle of Jodhpur. It can't get better than this!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbenjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I hv just finished my vacation and cud nt wait to write. A peaceful leaving, treated like a family, every need taken care of. Excellent in every respect. Amongst the best in India. Food, Spa, Pool, fort view every thing is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMITCIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at RAAS Jodhpur last weekend and had a brilliant stay. We had room 123 and it had a beautiful view of the Fort.

The pool is beautiful and could not fault the staff, everyone was amazing. We took the hotel's blue tuk tuk on a tour and the hotel organised a great guide Ram to show us around the town and the Fort. Really nice guy and we really enjoyed the tour, especially seeing the elephant in town!

Our two year old was spoilt rotten and the management kindly organised a babysitter so we could eat out both evenings. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved Jodhpur too!

Will be happy to stay again any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Fort, these have great views and lovely natural light. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusinDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a highly impressive hotel in every way. Its right in the old city of Jodhpur, a combination of restored haveli and modern buildings that you wouldnt think could work until you see it. From a typical north Indian narrow street you enter a courtyard and then the reception with its lovely welcome (beautifully airconditioned!), jasmine smells and warm greeting from staff.
We stayed in a duplex suite in the modern building with what must surely be the best view in Jodhpur from both the bed and the upstairs balcony - the whole of the fort in front of us. Absolutely everything in the room was in perfect working order, a well maintained hotel - as were all other facilities. Spa was great. We loved the food, wonderful breakfasts with a wide selection (a la carte as out of season but I prefer this to a buffet), all well presented and fresh. The food is quite a bit more expensive than elsewhere in the old city but the standard was I felt much better so well worth it.
Much has been written by other reviewers about how lovely it is and I would agree.The service in this hotel deserves a further mention, the staff immediately knew our names, when my daughter's trousers needed a repair these were mended for us without any charge, then staff were courteous and helpful throughout.
So all in all....Raas has completely spoilt us with the wonderful experience.. and we would love to return if ever in Jodhpur again.

Room Tip: We were in the new block nearest the reception - all the issues about noise are from the block next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in India in January 2012. It was our first visit, and we stayed at the following hotels in order: Leela Palace (Delhi), Raas Haveli (Jodhpur), The Serai (near Jaisalmer), Oberoi Udaivilas (Udaipur), and Imperial Hotel (Delhi).

The Raas was really a 4.5 rating for me. It was my 3rd favorite spot among these 5 hotels, narrowly beating out the Oberoi and far outperforming the Imperial, but not quite as polished as Serai or Leela Palace.

Raas has a lot of personality, and really the vibe of this place is what makes it. The juxtaposition between Jodhpur's chaos and Raas' tranquility is fantastic. That's a dichotomy I've encountered in other parts of the world, but it gets to me each time. Jodhpur, and India in general, are particularly bustling and disorganized, so maybe the calm courtyard of Raas had extra impact.

Our room at Raas was the main thing keeping the experience from being 5 stars. If you stay here, BE SURE to get a room that has windows facing the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort! We booked one of the suites, and it was more expensive than some of the other rooms. While it was very spacious, it was dark - surprising given the copious light available outside! The room was also made of rough concrete, making walking around in the dark a bit challenging and uncomfortable. Combined with not enough natural light was some poor design elements. The suite had a beautiful separate room containing only a bathtub, but despite having plenty of space, the tub was not really big enough for 2 adults. Not sure why? And again, the space was rather dark. There was a lovely outdoor deck, but given the layout it was surrounded on all sides by walls and the Fort was not visible. They had cleverly placed a mirror on one wall, so you can see the Fort in the reflection. But, this was rather a disappointment.

We caught a glimpse of the regular rooms, as the hotel allowed us a vacant room to get freshened up in (a very nice effort) before ours was ready. They were more modern and this one even had a nice lawn in the back. Again, book the right room (near reception with views of the Fort) and you'll be happier.

The courtyard of the Raas is just spectacular and we spent a good amount of time here enjoying breakfasts, snacks, drinks and generally relaxing. It is landscaped beautifully with various semi-private seating areas and of course the Fort in the background is simply amazing. Food offerings were fine, nothing outstanding but certainly good.

Overall the service at Raas was well-run. They set up everything we asked and made the experience enjoyable. We used the Raas tuk-tuk and took a nice afternoon tour. Our guide was very friendly and showed us places in Jodhpur that would be quite difficult to find alone. Beautiful vistas of the blue side of the city were a particular highlight.

A note must be made about the incredibly loud call to prayer that happens at the mosque next door. As loud as you imagine it might be, it is louder. And it can happen at unfortunate times of day, befitting the prayer schedule. It's hard to fault Raas for this, as their position in the city is remarkable in so many ways. Usually the prayer is fairly short, just a couple of minutes. But we did experience one 30-45 minute version, which became quite grating. Basically, someone is shouting through an amplifier very near you, so it's a little much. Again, I don't hold this against the Raas, but you should take note if you feel it will bother you.

Overall, I can't imagine a better stay in Jodhpur for those looking to be in the heart of the city. Raas is highly recommended and memorable. Just be advised of the room situation and you're sure to enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose a regular room near reception with views of Fort! Don't fall for the amazing suite pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iranison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Raas is one of the top quality hotels in town. Celebrated my first wedding anniversary and everything was just superb. Staff is very enthusiastic,keen and helpful. Food is sumptuous and menu is quite versatile. Whether you sit in baradari or open balcony you would enjoy every bit of it. Well done guys it's hidden gem in jodhpur. Very good property and thum up to niklendra for designing beautiful property like this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Definitly the best hotel of our trip in Rajasthan. Rooms are large, well decorated and with a breathtaking view on the Jodphur fortress. Staff is extremely efficient, nice and not too present.
Swimming pool is a dream. Spa is wonderful. I do really not see any bad impression during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,309 reviews
2.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
6.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 102 in Jodhpur
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAAS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAAS

Address: Tunvar Ji Ka Jhalra | Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342001, India (Formerly Raas Haveli)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: $236 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RAAS 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the Walled City of Jodhpur and under the imposing stare of Mehrangarh Fort, sits RAAS. The site was formerly the home of the aristocratic Thakur family, and the original 18th-century haveli has been carefully renovated to produce the four old buildings of the hotel. The three new buildings are modern and contemporary in their use of space and light, and yet are grounded in tradition. Jodhpur's red sandstone unites the new with the old, with modern designs in its latticing and carving adding a fresh dimension to the region's age-old stone carving industry. This seamless harmony between the old and the new, the modern and the traditional, extends to all aspects of RAAS. Almost all of the rooms have magnificent views of Mehrangarh Fort from both the private terraces and from the cast iron bathtubs, and those that don’t have their own private gardens and views over the old haveli and landscaped gardens of RAAS. The rooms are furnished with state of the art amenities: all rooms are air-conditioned with the latest eco friendly machines, and have overhead fans, hairdryers, safes, central heating, wi-fi, TV, telephones and en suite bathrooms. There are rooms with easy access for the handicapped and non-smoking rooms. RAAS boasts two fine dining restaurants, which offer both Indian and International cuisine: Darikhana is a beautiful terraced restaurant and the Baradari Café is inside the old pavilion and offers a relaxing location near the pool. There is also a luxury spa that offers a full range of treatments and a boutique shop. RAAS is the ideal place to soak up the rich local heritage of Jodhpur while at the same time indulging in opulent luxury and comfort. As soon as you drive through the old wooden gates in RAAS’s very own blue tuk-tuk, the majesty of Mehrangarh Fort will be tempered by your sense of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your RAAS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raas Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing