We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view”
Review of RAAS

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RAAS
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This hotel proved an unexpected treat. Our room in the main block next to reception had the most amazing view of the Meherangarh Fort and blue town and all modern comforts including a lovely bathroom. They even provided ear plugs for those who didn't want to be woken by the early morning call to prayer.

This is a delightful boutique hotel with a lovely pool and outside area. The rooftop restaurant was also excellent.

One of our favourite hotels of the 13 we stayed in during our month-long trip! We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    171
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
174
561
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

It is expensive but you get what you pay for! This is a really modern hotel very nicely integrated in the old city near the market and only a short walk uphill to the fort. As soon as you enter the hotel you are far away from all the hectic :-) except for the mosque. The bathroom gives you a wellness feeling and it's the only hotel were I took a bath because I had no doubt that it was clean. The breakfast buffet was a real pleasure in a beautiful surrounding. A very nice change from the heritage hotels and haveli's. 2 Nights were simply not enough!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paiperlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Raas Jodhpur
A luxury development in the heart of the old area, 2 minute walk from the old clock tower and Bazaar. Once you step away from the busy streets/cows roaming you are cocooned in a splendid complex, a sympathetic mix of ancient and modern. Beautiful gardens and pool area.From our room balcony on the second floor ( room 121) we had the most amazing view of the hotel complex and towering above us the majestic Fort illuminated on an evening until about 9 pm.  We were able to soak in the big bath with views of the Fort.A very comfortable room with a king+ double that made for a very deep sleep - but be prepared for a call to prayer at 5 am from the local minaret tower. No problem for us and the hotel do offer ear plugs.
Breakfast and lunch are taken on the terrace next to the pool area while dinner can be taken inside or on another terrace. The food was well prepared and very tasty. The chef is on the breakfast terrace for omelette orders. Be prepared to pay 50% or more for food/ drink than other nearby locations but that can be expected because of the luxurious calm surroundings. Service levels are good but we have experienced "more warmth" in lower class hotels.
On the other night we had an excellent meal in the terrace restaurant of the local hotel Pal Havelli called " Indique" which looks across to the nearby clock tower and the market( 1500 incl beers). Very busy so best reserve. Also a nice spot for a late afternoon " Kingfisher beer" before dinner service starts. Try the little artist shop next to the Indique restaurant in the grounds of the Pal Havelli for reasonable hand painted souvenirs ( post card size start at 100 with beautiful Indian city scenes in Rajasthan from 3000).
Overall Raas is recommended for a luxurious stay in the heart of the old city ( with wonderful views)but of course it comes with a price tag.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Just spent 4 nights in Jodhpur, my first time in India, we were recommend the Raas and we were not disappointed, we arrived and were informed we had been upgraded into a suite, what an experience, the room was amazing, it had an additional lounge room which was great as i was there for work with a colleague.
The food was amazing in the restaurant and breakfast each morning was complimentary.. the pool was great which after a long day was great
you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Even though the management maintain the" fort view" rooms in the original block are of the same quality ,and hence priced the same, as those in the new rear block what is on offer differs dramatically .Whilst the original block does have the view as advertised, the new block does not. tThe original block overlooks handsome gardens and the pool whereas the new block overlooks a busy local tuc-tuc frequented lane and cow yard. True you can see the fort if you stood on on a stool on your new block balcony to clear the chest-high stone lattice wall but surely that isnt what its about. The management dont seem to get the point! DO NOT ACCEPT A NEW BLOCK ROOM UNTIL YOU SEE IT.Dining on the openair terrace at the restauarant is an unusual experience ,there is no real lighting ,you are offered the menu with the aid of a torchand when the food arrives you literally cannot see what you are eating, the management should pop round the corner to the Indique restaurant at the Pal Haveli to see how a terrace restaurant should be organised.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Oh dear where do I start... So my fellow reviewers are right - this is a modern, designer hotel tucked away in old Jodhpur behind some big, old wooden gates with no signage. Clearly the owners have tried to do something different here and from a design point of view, it's a success. The huge, red sandstone carved screens which are a feature of the hotel are really interesting and the place looks a million dollars.

However, no matter how much money you throw at this place, it can't escape the India that surrounds it.

The hotel comprises several blocks of rooms and it's very important to make sure you are in the best block. The first room we were shown was quite clearly NOT in the best part of the hotel. Our room was in the block furthest away from reception, on the ground floor and very dark and dingy. The hotel boasts views of the fort which looms over the city and, yes, I suppose you could see it from our window, if you squashed right up to the glass and tilted your head back. The worst thing, apart from the lack of daylight, was the terrible farmyard smell coming from the urban cowshed which is the other side of the wall of our 'terrace'. So no chance of opening the window then, or sitting on the dingy terrace. And no chance of a lie-in either - the local mosque which around 200 metres from this part of the hotel, starts calling at 04h45. But Raas Haveli has everything covered because they helpfully give you earplugs and a schedule of call times to prayer so you are prepared.

We booked a table and ate in the hotel restaurant that evening. As other reviewers have commented, you are kinda stuck for alternatives and the restaurant is very charming, being situated in a lovely old building in the hotel's central courtyard. See those strange plastic owls which have been placed by the hotel on the stone beams of the restaurant? They are there to deter the pigeons which frequently fly in and out whilst you are eating. After our evening meal, which was a delicious curry, I had the worst food poisoning I've had in years.

My husband demanded to the hotel staff that we move room as I was now quite ill, we couldn't open the windows and the poor level of daylight was depressing. We worked out that the best rooms - ie with a view and fresh air - are in the block immediately adjacent to Reception and so I staggered over to the new room to collapse back in bed. Staff came to register their concern and I was told to 'order anything you like from room service' (although I was now confined to green coconut juice only). Eventually I asked for a doctor, who diagnosed acute gastroenteritis.

All this would not be so bad - the foul-smelling room, the food poisoning - were it not for the totally amateur way I was treated on check-out, where I was duly presented with a bill for absolutely everything, right down to the last bowl of room service plain boiled rice. When I queried why I had been charged for the meal which had made me sick, and also for the call-out charge for the doctor, I was told that 'there is no error, everything is there'. I made it clear that this was a big problem and, after much flurrying, eventually an offer was made to take MY portion only of the cost of the meal which had made me so ill off the final bill. So my recompense for a lingering sickness and 2 days of my valuable vacation lost was approx £40 off a total bill for 2 nights of some £600.

Raas looks wonderful but ...the staff need much more training, the chef is good but evidently works in unsanitary conditions and the design of the place means the hotel has taken up every last square inch of available space on site, resulting in some rooms butting onto the local farm. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is the place to stay in Jodphur. Centrally located in the busy market area, you walk to the market, shops, and fort. Yet the hotel is a quiet and beautiful oasis. The views to the fort and incredible. Rooms are new, beautiful and functional. Restaurant, spa and gift shop at hotel are the best in town. We would have enjoyed staying there longer. Sting was just a guest there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jodhpur
1.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.7 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
2.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
7.0 mi away
WelcomHotel Jodhpur- Member ITC's hotel group
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAAS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAAS

Property: RAAS
Address: Tunvar Ji Ka Jhalra | Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342001, India (Formerly Raas Haveli)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RAAS 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the Walled City of Jodhpur and under the imposing stare of Mehrangarh Fort, sits RAAS. The site was formerly the home of the aristocratic Thakur family, and the original 18th-century haveli has been carefully renovated to produce the four old buildings of the hotel. The three new buildings are modern and contemporary in their use of space and light, and yet are grounded in tradition. Jodhpur's red sandstone unites the new with the old, with modern designs in its latticing and carving adding a fresh dimension to the region's age-old stone carving industry. This seamless harmony between the old and the new, the modern and the traditional, extends to all aspects of RAAS. Almost all of the rooms have magnificent views of Mehrangarh Fort from both the private terraces and from the cast iron bathtubs, and those that don’t have their own private gardens and views over the old haveli and landscaped gardens of RAAS. The rooms are furnished with state of the art amenities: all rooms are air-conditioned with the latest eco friendly machines, and have overhead fans, hairdryers, safes, central heating, wi-fi, TV, telephones and en suite bathrooms. There are rooms with easy access for the handicapped and non-smoking rooms. RAAS boasts two fine dining restaurants, which offer both Indian and International cuisine: Darikhana is a beautiful terraced restaurant and the Baradari Café is inside the old pavilion and offers a relaxing location near the pool. There is also a luxury spa that offers a full range of treatments and a boutique shop. RAAS is the ideal place to soak up the rich local heritage of Jodhpur while at the same time indulging in opulent luxury and comfort. As soon as you drive through the old wooden gates in RAAS’s very own blue tuk-tuk, the majesty of Mehrangarh Fort will be tempered by your sense of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your RAAS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raas Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing