We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with marvel beauty”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in the Gateway hotel for my cousins wedding and it was a great fun and package full of enjoyment.The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable.The hotel lobby area is mindblowing and the garden is very spacious and is spread in a wide area.The hall and the restaurant inside the hotel is also very nice. The staff was always very helpful. Intially I had problem in checking in since the key card given to open my room was not working but the staff did their best to provide me with other room quickest possible.The only drawback is the location.Its located in the outskirts of Jodhpur.In all very well managed and nice property.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nupurankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for The Ummed Jodhpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, travelling to Jodhpur in the peak summer, for our daughter's wedding ceremony. For that very reason, we shall, always, remember this trip with a lot of fondness and joy.
The staff at the hotel were fantastic and caring, maybe more so on account of the fact that the occupancy was low, with not too many adventurous visitors at that time of the year! The hotel itself was a huge one, a big 'haveli' type, located within a massive compound. The whole hotel looked extremely inviting and we definitely plan to go back there in late autumn / winter season, very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abc123Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

After a one night stay at the Gateway Hotel, I woke to find myself covered with bedbug bites. The other negative is the location -- this hotel isn't near the city center at all. Hotel charges for pickup from the airport were fairly obscene (more than the taxis "try" to charge unsuspecting tourists), but this is the norm in India unfortunately.

On the plus side, the property is very beautiful with a fountain, large green space, and a nice swimming pool. The staff is also quite helpful -- they were able to arrange a camel safari for us on just a few hours notice in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We reached at the hotel in the afternoon. We were very tired due to the long drive from Jaipur. The room that they have given us is 219 which has garden and pool view. We relaxed for a while and then we went to see the property, it is huge. We stayed here for two nights. We really enjoyed the hospitality and the food. I will surly recommend The Gateway Jodhpur as it is one of the best hotel in Jodhpur. Only place where the hotel gets negative marking is the Location. It is 12 KM from the main city. But if you have a car or taxi then it is hardly 10 minutes drive. Do visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiasInvitation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

we had stayed over there for two days and we found it a little good.but we dont like the service given over there.so which we even felt bad that where we came but later realised it is good one rather then other hotels

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIKASH689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

what makes this hotel brilliant is the lovely staff....everyone makes an effort to just make your stay comfortable...ive stayed at taj harimahal twice and this was my first stay here...i thought the rooms here were far superior than hari mahal....Mr peter the general manager does a great job to run this place...every staff member enjoyed their job and felt pride as being hosts....im not stayin anywhere else next time...thanks gateway

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The only minus point of the hotel is not its fault: its location.
Our driver did not know where it was and when i called the hotel and asked for a landmark, the hotel staff responded with a "we dont have any landmark in our vicinity"remark!
But for the rest, absolutely great hotel.
Highlights during our stay:
My husband's birthday on the day we checked in. We received bouquets of flowers and the kitchen made it a mini party complete with photos of the cake cutting! Brilliant!!
The food was excellent.
Breakfast was a lavish affair, the staff very attentive.
The evenings had a traditional puppet show and music on the hotel lawns.
I shall not forget the rajasthani boy playing on his instrument with a fever for our benefit and all the guests enjoying it.
A new spa which we could not try out since it would open after we left. ah well...
peacocks on the lawn!
Arranging to send my mother-in-laws shawl from the hotel onward to Udaipur, very thoughtful and efficient!
This hotel is excellent!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabetNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
6.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
7.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
6.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
4.7 mi away
Indana Palace Jodhpur
Indana Palace Jodhpur
#9 of 95 in Jodhpur
621 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range: $47 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing