We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property & Great Hospitality”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Beautiful Property & Great Hospitality”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Gateway, Jodhpur is a huge property. The lawns and pool area are quite huge, rooms are spacious.

The service & hospitality by Mr. Indranil Ray (GM) and his team was quite excellent. The Chef went out of his way to prepare special Jain Food for us.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel staff made sure that it was special for us in every possible way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayjain1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    206
    82
    38
    14
See reviews for
205
145
15
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Gateway Jodhpur is a fairly beautiful property away from the city's hustle and bustle. For the ones who appreciate a quiet, peaceful and clean space away from dust and noise, this is the place to be in. It takes about 20 minutes or so to reach the main city but is fine if you have your own transport. The hotel has a long green driveway and sufficient parking. The property is fairly new, rooms are large and spacious and so are the wash rooms.
The front desk representative was not really cheerful or welcoming, totally not Taj but is ignorable. The pool is where you should be hanging out post sunset, really pretty and private. Feel privileged if Jitendar from F&B is the man at your service. The food is average, breakfast too. Avoid sausages, bacon and its kinds - stale, rubbery and left me with a bad stomach for days after. Chef Praveen went out of his way to prepare Chocolate Banana pancakes for us during breakfast.
We did have a really unappreciative experience just before check-out. I was still in the room while my partner went downstairs to the car to arrange our bags in the boot. The admin general manager and the front desk rep went running to him, demanding his credit card. Please note, we had already paid for the rooms in advance, the hotel has my credit card details and most importantly I was still in the room (he couldn't have left without me). Totally disgusting and embarrassing, isn't it. We didn't want to start our journey back arguing about the pathetic service so we left without bringing it up. Shardul Dixit walked us out and helped us with the inner circle credits after having to squabble internally with his team. Wonder what the Taj inner circle's problem is, they surely want to ensure you don't get points :) The air-con is weak in all Taj properties and had a concern throughout our road trip and stay with Taj.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor offer a better view of the hotel premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merl_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!


I would like to thank you for your patronage of The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, in course of your brief stopover in the city.
Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to certain areas that were wanting in terms of seamless service delivery especially pertaining to the inconsistency in the quality of the breakfast served , the ineffectiveness of the airconditioning in the room and the confusion and the embarassment that arose on account of the miscommunication while you were checking out. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken up the matter and other service and product related issues very seriously with the Hotel team and concerned Departmental Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations. Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I again look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to the propery.

Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Very good and spacious rooms. Certain dishes were good but otherwise ok food. Must have poolside dinner, just for the experience. Nice bar. The USP is the vast gardens they have where one can play almost all sports. Pool is small and generally crowded. The staff is very courteous and helpful. I found this Gateway a very diff from other gateway hotels (in positive sense)and is positioned as place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitabhSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We would rate it below average. It was not like Taj property. There was some marriage in hotel so everything was messed up and noisy. Food is way average. Further, it is away from city. I would prefer one should shift to Vivanta by Taj property in same city even if it's terrifies are little higher. Definitely this property was not value to money.

Room Tip: All are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!





I would like to thank you for your patronage of The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, in course of your brief stopover in the city.

Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.



At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the caphopony arising on account of the wedding group and the average dining expeience.. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken up the matter and other service and product related issues very seriously with the Hotel team and concerned Departmental Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.



It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations. Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I again look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.
kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our experience at the Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, was terrible. We learned upon check-in that there was a large wedding taking place on the premises, but were informed that it was hotel policy that all activity would conclude at 10pm. The wedding went on until the wee hours of the morning and there was absolutely no way guests of the hotel were able to get a restful sleep. The halls outside the guest rooms were also very noisy throughout the evening.

The rooms were musty and there was mold around the bathtub as well. The dining experience was also not positive. The staff were unwillingly to seat our group together, and it was only after insistence that they provided us a larger table. The buffet dinner and breakfast were mediocre, at best. The quality and variety left us unimpressed, and the service staff did not have good communication skills. In reading other reviews from 2012/2013, I agree that there is a huge pigeon problem. It doesn't appear any improvements have been made since.

If you're looking for a comfortable, decent hotel to stay in Jodhpur, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3101_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Ma'am,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for your patronage of The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, in course of your brief stopover in the city.

Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.



At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to poor delivery of product and services. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you especially petaining to the eperience inthe room, the restaurant and the noise levels that had disturbed the peace and quiet of the stay experience. l have taken up the matter and other service and product related issues very seriously with the Hotel team and concerned Departmental Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.



It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which one hs recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations. Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I again look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services .
Kindest Regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khajuraho, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spend our 1 night in jodhpur with THE GATEWAY HOTEL . It is too big. The reception was good and very large. Rooms again big and beautiful .Swimming pool is also spread in large area. Everything was very nice with the great facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabana1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The room was good and spacious. Everything was clean. The property itself is beautiful and well maintained. The food was nice, but not great. The check-in process could have been better. It took about 20 minutes to locate the reservation, which is unacceptable for this type of a hotel. Another issue we had was with the shower - the temperature of the water would change without warning and it would shoot out scalding hot water every few minutes. The laundry service was good, although it took a few phone calls to get our laundry back the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1999308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!


I would like to thank you for your patronage of The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, in course of your brief stopover in the city.
Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to poor delivery of product and services. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken up the matter and other service and product related issues very seriously with the Hotel team and concerned Departmental Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations. Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I again look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.

Thanks and regards,
Indranil Ray
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
7.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
5.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
6.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
4.7 mi away
Indana Palace Jodhpur
Indana Palace Jodhpur
#9 of 95 in Jodhpur
594 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Property: The Ummed Jodhpur
Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing