We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taj but Wah Taj missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taj but Wah Taj missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a Taj property so I sort of blindly booked it for my Rajasthan Holiday but after staying I really feel whether I can really say Wah Taj ?

Don't get me wrong..the hotel is good, rooms are nice but you would expect something more from the Taj Brand.

Check in was smooth. We had opted for Superior Rooms but honestly the superior room felt like the ordinary room (floor had no carpets). On checking with the reception they said the difference between ordinary room and superior rooms was in superior room they provided cookies and fruits...So when asked where are the cookies and fruits...they said it would be sent shortly. On the 2nd day and 3rd day of the stay, no cookies no fruits placed in the room....

Bathroom was small. They only had a bathtub but that was too cramped it is good for kids only. No separate shower area. Water from bath tub once spilt would leave the entire bathroom wet and slippery...on the 2nd day we called the housekeeping just to clean the bathroom as the water was not draining /drying

In the name of indoor games they had one table chess placed below the staircase with chess pieces missing. Same was for the carom. No kids play area.

They had a huge lawn and garden but broken swing. The swimming pool was non function during our stay of 3 days. The water in the pool was dirty.

Food was ok. Other Taj properties have better food spread. The staff / waiter in the restaurant were polite, helpful and gracious but unfortunately the staff vs guest ratio resulted in delays.

The Noodles were marked as Vegetarian in their buffet but on checking whether we can get Jain noodles, they informed us that the Noodles have egg in it ! So when we asked why is the Noodles displayed with a green dot... they said it was a mistake... The same thing happened on the 3rd day and again when I pointed this out they changed the display with a Red Dot. Not expected from TAJ brand.

The way leading to the restaurant has a magician seated who is actually rude to you and the kids if you dont shell out handsome tips... a mood spoiler in the 5 star hotel....

So overall not worth the money spent. I am sure Taj can do better and not let their standards and reputation down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitsheth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!

I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned departmental heads especially pertaining to the noodles on the buffet station, the non availability of amenities in the superior rooms, the pool and the swing as well as the recreation facilities I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.
was aghast to note that there has been a behavorial issue that has come to light, irrespective
that as a hospitality major that emphasises greatly on courtesy , responsiveness and warmth amongst its training for the associates, especially thefront line team,this kind of an issue is simply unthinkable. owever, I would greatly obliged if you could elaborate a little more on thesubject especialy the interaction and the apearanceof the associate so that it could aid us in our quest to identify the root cause .
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    198
    79
    35
    13
See reviews for
191
135
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was without doubt the worst hotel on our recent trip to Rajahstan.Its advertised as 5star,not whilst I live and breathe.Holiday inn quality at best.Rooms ok but not 5star.The welcome was cold and uninviting.Restaurant poor,order off the a la carte,we waited 45mins one evening and 1 I/4hrs following night.Service patchy evening and breakfast.Pool service was non-existent.The hotel has no ambience and is just a drop off for group tours.There are Havelis and genuine5stars in Jodhpur,why stay there?Be warned,keep away,it tones down your holiday.Just to let you know that the problem there is bad management,we stayed at the Gateway in Varanasi having a different experience.They even allowed people in the grounds harassing you for tips,as though you haven't had enough during the day.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmithfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!
At the very outset, may I thank you for patronizing The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur in course of your short stay during your brief stopover at Jodhpur.
We are in receipt of their feedback and are quiet disturbed at the inconvenience caused and would like to offer our sincere apologies for the same.

I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned departmental heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which one has recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

this was one of the best hotel in rajasthan. pure 5 stars facilities. awesome hospitality specially by the GM Mr Indranil Ray, I've traveled through world, but what respect he gave through out the stay was amazing. i was not keeping well one day, he had a concern & asked the chef to make khicddi for me specially. that was wonderful . my kids loved the place. its a huge property.

Room Tip: swimming pool side are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit_bhambri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir,


Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

I sincerely hope that along with the entire team we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.. I truly wonder whether we were actually able to delight you with a seamless service experience.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

I, along with my seniorgreatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Please share your feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights last year..the hotel is 6-7 kms far from jodhpur...but it is very big and good for stay..they have big gardens and a large swimming pool..the food is good too...the rooms are large and maintained quite well...overall no complaints...one can easily pick it for stay...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kaunash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for the stay that was undertaken one year ago. I would als like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
While perusing through you review,I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to our landscaped greens, the magnificience of nature especially thebeauty of the presence of peacocks , the quality and taste of food. Have conveyed your compiments to the entire team and the were thorouglydelighted.
Have also noted the observations pertaining to the placement of amenities and fresh flowers.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Sincerely looking forward to your next visit to this hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

5 star prestige is fading away. all the staff needs to be changed. hotel needs renovation. i have been to several 5star hotels in Rajasthan, and the only thing which i take back is great hospitality. however, this has been my worst experience overall and that's because of the poor attitude of restaurant staff. whatever you ask for.. you get but a feeling of disrespect you get every time, like things are being thrown at you. after having word with the Supervisor our last two days were up to the mark in terms of services & food. Location is great & very peaceful with lots of peacocks at pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!
At the very outset, may I thank you for patronizing The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur in course of your short stay during your brief stopover at Jodhpur.
We are in receipt of their feedback and are quiet disturbed at the inconvenience caused and would like to offer our sincere apologies for the same.

I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned departmental heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which one has recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent hotel to have peaceful holidays,spacious rooms..provides all amenities from gym to pool table to sports gear. The food in this hotel is excellent; i suggest to leave it to chef… they made special effort to ensure children’s get what they like and adults can enjoy the traditional meals..
ofcourse Hotel has has huge ground if you wish to have some outdoor activities. Nice size pool.

I will have to give it to General Manager as everyone in the hotel were courteous and seems to enjoying welcoming and serving guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neerajsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for the stay that was undertaken one year ago. I would als like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us

I hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
While perusing through you review,I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to our landscaped greens, the magnificience of nature especially thebeauty of the presence of peacocks , the quality and taste of food. Have conveyed your compiments to the entire team and the were thorouglydelighted.
Have also noted the observations pertaining to the placement of amenities and fresh flowers.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Sincerely looking forward to your next visit to this hotel.

Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent Location Spacious and Elegant Rooms and Services . Good family Hotel and within proximity to Jodhpur City . Next Choice definitely for family vacations . and location is definitely better than Taj Harimahal for stay with all amenities.

Room Tip: All Rooms are having Excellent Locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiratBhadlawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for the stay that was undertaken one year ago. I would als like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us

I hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
While perusing through you review,I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to our landscaped greens, the magnificience of nature especially thebeauty of the presence of peacocks , the quality and taste of food. Have conveyed your compiments to the entire team and the were thorouglydelighted.
Have also noted the observations pertaining to the placement of amenities and fresh flowers.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Sincerely looking forward to your next visit to this hotel.

Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
5.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
4.7 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
6.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Property: The Ummed Jodhpur
Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing