We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

the location is not good. away from city centre...rooms are well spaced but not elegant for the price being paid..property as a whole is big and grand and good architecture as a royal palace ...but food is not good especially non-veg selection is limited and service in restaurant is also not upto mark..very average stay considering the brand name we relied upon before booking

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikasB379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mr Vikas,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!
This has reference to your feedback pertaining to your brief stay at the hotel .

At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage .
Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to inconsistent delivery of product and services. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you in regard to quality and taste of food and the services at the restaurant. I have taken the matter very seriously with the hotel team and concerned departmental heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. We have noted your comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and ensure that this does not happen again.
You have also mentioned that the hotel is situated a little too far away from the main city hub.yes this is true indeed .There are plans to develop a six lane expressway provision and work would be starting off shortly.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. looking forwrd to meeting you on your next visit
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    206
    82
    38
    14
See reviews for
205
145
15
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Awesome 5 star property coupled with courteous staff, both making your stay pleasant.

Hotel starts with a good lush green area and a massive lobby.

Rooms were perfectly clean, with a great view of garden, to add up during our stay we had an awesome weather with slight rain.

Pool was clean and big, with good helping staff always standing besides to provide help.

Food was good but lacks a punjabi taste.

Overall will rate it 5, with slight improvements that could have been added to match our taste.

Will recommend to everybody. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr Malhotra,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur.
At the very outset, may I thank you for choosing this hotel in course of your short stay in the city.
We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism

While perusing through your review, I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to the overall service experience and the courtesy, competency and responsiveness of the frontline associates.
Shall convey your compliments to the team .
.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindes Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My stay here was almost an year back, As I was going through pics of my trip, remembered that I missed out on sharing this experience with my fellow travelers. This is a Modern property built in line with the traditional palace architecture of Rajasthan. The hotel is located away from the city on the highway...which actually was as per my lookout. We were on a business trip....but wanted to relax in the evenings and this hotel was perfect in that respect. I had a one week stay here. Its serene and grand with immense greenery ideal for early morning jogging or long walks. The peacocks are the pride of this hotel, they are at leisure and move so elegantly around the property (dont miss this early morning experience at sunrise). Thats the high note of the stay here. Food is good. It looked like travelers ( including my colleagues) prefer the more famous Taj Hotel in the main part of the city. Therefore the rooms though fantastically done up were not put up with little details like fresh flowers and fruits etc....which was surprising. Thats unlike the Taj Hospitality that we r used to. Nevertheless it was an amazing experience staying here and will prefer this hotel again for my next trip too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayffarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for the stay that was undertaken one year ago. I would als like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.
While perusing through you review,I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to our landscaped greens, the magnificience of nature especially thebeauty of the presence of peacocks , the quality and taste of food. Have conveyed your compiments to the entire team and the were thorouglydelighted.
Have also noted the observations pertaining to the placement of amenities and fresh flowers.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Sincerely looking forward to your next visit to this hotel.
Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with lovely caring staff. They take care of each and every detail impeccably. Always chose to stay here every month when I visit Jodhpur. Slightly far from the main city but certainly worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ-HYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

I hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.
While perusing through your review, I was quiet delighted to note your compliments petaining to the attentive and caring staff and the courtesy extended by our associates.
Your kInd words of appreciation would go a long way in boosting the morale of the team and would encourage them to deliver even better.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful property .. would give a royal feel.
The hotel has huge green area which creates an aura of its own.
The entry gate on the main road is entirely the opposite of what you witness moment you cross the same.
Room size is a little smaller though but that can be easily ignored basis the overall experience they offer.
Staff is very courteous and the Manager at the restaurant went the extra mile in ensuring the best food for its guests.
They have their own peacocks which stroll near the open n excellent swimming pool providing you the time of your life.
The hotel also promotes a cobbler inside their property who sells handmade shoes of excellent quality at a very decent price.
Must stay if visiting Jodhpur.
Get a very good price during off season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailsaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,


Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

I hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

While perusing throughyour review, I was extremely thrilled and happy to note your wonderful notes of appreciation especially pertaining to the warm and courteous frontline associates, the reponsiveness and sense of urgency displayed by the Manager in the restaurant, the priestine landscaped greens and the beauty of the peacocks magnificiently posing against the backdrop of the setting sun. Your kind words would go a long way in boosting the image of the hotel and the moraleof the operations team and would help us go that extra mile forward in our quest of achieving the highest sense ofguest satisfaction.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards,
Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapunda Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a lovely stay here! I even learned how to make Dosa from Chef Dalveer singh siddhu. He was kind enough to give me his recipe. We always try to thank the Chef wherever we stay and usually they are kind enough to offer a cooking class or some points on how to prepare the food. The standard room was excellent! We would highly recommend this hotel. We love to stay in Taj hotels as their standards are excellent and one feels like they are returning home after a long day of touring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Kale,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.
Whie peruingthrough your review of thehotel and the instay expriences, we were extremely thrilled to note your kind words of apreciation for Chef Dalveer and his delicious dosas as well as his successful attempt to engage you in a cooking class. These kind words coming in from you would go a long way in boosting the morale of the fontline associates.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was nicely done and spans over acres. The architecture and interiors were lovely and well kept. The food was good and the pool/rooms were clean. It is little expensive, but considering the hotel, ambiance and service provided, hotel makes up for the price. Hotel is surrounded by large expanse of greenery, so all rooms have a perfect view. Architecture and interiors replicate dome paintings from Rajasthan palaces.

The staff was decent and provided excellent care and help. Will recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Jodhpur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Gupta,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.
While perusing through your review , we were mighty pleased and extremely thrilled to note your kind words of appreciation especially pertaining to the architectural grandeur of the hotel, thewell manicured landscaped greens and the delicious gastronomique experiences

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.
Kindest Regards
Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
7.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
5.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
6.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
4.7 mi away
Indana Palace Jodhpur
Indana Palace Jodhpur
#9 of 95 in Jodhpur
594 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Property: The Ummed Jodhpur
Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing