We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but Good”
Review of Kalinga Restaurant

Kalinga Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 393 Restaurants in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Kalinga Restaurant, a place of eminence and a luxurious nexus of style and elegance. The Kalinga Chefs have attained specialization in Indian, Chinese, Mughlai and Continental cuisines and serve them to near perfection. We offer to serve your desires in enchanting flavor with assortments that your taste buds would savor. Servicing customers is a great pleasurable tradition, an experience that everyone loves of retreat.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It is a old fashioned restaurant but the food is good. But they have to improve the interiors of the hotel and increase its cleanliness. It was good for olden days. But the traveler today needs some neatness. The hotel needs to change its table covers, upholstery, also napkins. But food is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prajauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palboss, Owner at Kalinga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks a lot for the positive review of our restaurant. It is 38 years since we started this restaurant and have tried to consistently maintain the quality and service. We have unique distinction to provide these things so near to Railway Station with 3 star facilities. Our air conditioning system is very efficient and so is our regal interior.

Thank you once again for patronizing us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good food, Bit expensive but still value for money, Heritage look but too congested. Centrally located

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rishikawatra2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palboss, Owner at Kalinga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks a lot for the encouraging response. We all at the restaurant are delighted that you liked our food. We will always be ready to provide the best whenever you visit us next time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough place with courteous staff - even when I asked one of the waiters to if he wouldn't mind stopping shuffling the chairs and tables around - but wow does the chef know where the salt is. I had lal maans, a local mutton curry, but it was way too salty. You can find cheaper and, based on this experience, much better.

Thank Funontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palboss, Owner at Kalinga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks a lot for the encouraging response. We all at the restaurant are delighted that you liked our food. We will always be ready to provide the best whenever you visit us next time, but do not forget to inform us the spice levels.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had the before platter of tandoori. Quite good but quite spicy too. The waiter noticed that I was eating slowly and realized it might be too spicy food me. He then offered to remake the dish. I never even asked. I like that kind of service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palboss, Owner at Kalinga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks a lot for the encouraging response. We all at the restaurant are delighted that you liked our food. We will always be ready to provide the best whenever you visit us next time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were under the impression we would get a true taste of Rajasthan but were disappointed to see that this is a restaurant that does just what every other Indian restaurant does to appeal to a wider audience. It takes an authentic dish and turns it away from what it should be.

The Laal maans (mutton) we ordered was not soft enough and we felt it was quite rubbery in texture. The Peshawri mutton biryani was excessively spicy and the malai koftas were sweeter than any we have had.

Service was good and we felt that it was the only true high point of the restaurant. The staff was very polite and prompt and ensured they seated us away from a loud group of people who seemed to be quite unaware of others who were evidently disturbed by their noise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shreya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palboss, Owner at Kalinga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks a lot for the feed back. I regret that you found few of our dishes not up to your expectations, though we have clearly mentioned in our menu that Peshawari Biryani is spicy and Malai Kofta is little sweetish, still you could have asked the staff to change them as per your taste. Whenever you visit us next time please make us aware of the spice levels so that we provide you the best.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalinga Restaurant also viewed

 
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 

Been to Kalinga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing