We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures explain it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durag Villas Guest House
Ranked #75 of 190 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pictures explain it all”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Did not have a booking in this hotel but went there as a walk in ,
After the train journey were really tired and hungry, we reached this place at 18:30, checked into our room which was full of flies (weren't surprised since its common in India) thats why we always stick to AC rooms while travelling, we turned the AC on and inserted the fly repelent so that the room could be tolerable when we come back after dinner. We came back at around 21:00hrs to find out that the Air condition was turned off as a result of which the room was full of flies management gave an excuse that there were some heavy machinery they were running so they had to switch off the AC in our room , than we asked for two extra pillows which we were promised when we booked the room, i have also posted the pictures of the pillow that they gave to us (seemed too tired and not being refreshed since last many uses) , when we went at the reception with those pillows and demanded that we be given pillows of the same standard that were already there in the rooms, the manager was busy watching the TV and said that for extra pillows these were the standards that we would have to settle with. The last piece of straw was when we say a dead cockroach on the bathmat (picture posted) on the room (which explains that the rooms are deprived of even basic cleanliness ). At 21:30 we packed our bags and went to the reception to check out and told them about the problems that we encountered. The receptionist told us that we can check out if we want and they dont really care about the problems but they want the full cost of the room (700 rs) even though we were there in the room for hardly 30 minutes. Paid the price for our stupidity of selecting this place and left the hotel. The manager who was busy watching the TV also added that even if i go and review on trip advisor he doesn't care as he has been dealing with these complains a long time now and it doesn't make a difference to him.
Tips: This hotel (or might say piece of garbage) is situated middle of no where , there are no shops or restaurants around. Met a friendly auto driver who took us to a more touristy part of Jodhpur ( near the clock tower) where there were loads of options to choose from and loads of shops and restaurants a minute walk from our hotel. The price we paid was the same (700Rs). A good tip for travellers which we might follow next time would be once you get down from the train station pick up an Auto and negotiate with him a price to show around 6-7 hotels/guest house around the clock tower, i paid my auto driver Rs 150 from Durag Villa to the clock tower and he did show me few places and finally i settled for what i wanted and was quite happy with it.

Room Tip: Stay away from this one, there are lot better options available near the clock tower at the same pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicity343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge England
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were allocated this hotel as part of a (Delhi booked) package from West India Travel and were very disappointed. The rooms were dirty, sheets unclean, broken toilet seat, the tap would not stop pouring water (on the second day we were told it had been fixed, but fixed meant reduced to a steady stream!). The second morning there was no hot water at all. Despite the friendliness of the man running it, I cannot recommend this place - it desperately needs some TLC and hard work to bring it up to a reasonable standard. As it was part of a package we don't know what was charged, so it may be appropriate for some hard up backpacker who can negotiate a very low room rate, but it's also quite far from the downtown action.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jodhpur hotels

New York City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Durag Villas is a cozy little guesthouse, and a great place to stay on a budget. Plusses include chai right at the hotel, proximity to Mehrangarh Fort, and a very cute atmosphere. Beware, though, it doesn't have all the amenities of a western hotel -- there is no top sheet on most beds, no towel service, and locks to your doors are simply padlocks with slightly sketchy keys (a la gym locker), distributed at the front desk. Though these things might be a little surprising at first, especially to people who have not travelled extensively in India, there is nothing to be concerned about. Durag Villas is safe, clean, and the atmosphere is just beautiful.

Room Tip: The rooms with A/C are a little more expensive, but they're worth it for a good night's slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayfortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Nice, clean place. Helpful staff, location is little far from all attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigul_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

A decent basic guesthouse. The rooms are quite large but need some serious updating. The bathrooms are not great. Some rooms do not have windows. The location is outside the old city walls so less convenient but definitely calmer and more peaceful. The rooftop has a great view of the fort and the Umaid Bhawan. The food was average and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.0 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
981 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
922 reviews
3.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#17 of 95 in Jodhpur
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Villas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Villas Guest House

Property: Durag Villas Guest House
Address: House No 1 Old Public Park Lane | near KN Hall Girls College, Jodhpur 342001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Durag Villas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing