We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great travel advice from the manager.”
Review of Yogi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yogi Guest House
Ranked #38 of 190 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely room, great travel advice from the manager.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is well located, has a spectacular view of the fort, the food is quite good on the rooftop, the rooms are good value and very nicely decorated. We bargained for our room and were happy with the final price, which was within our meagre backpacker budget. The room had lovely wooden furniture and a new bathroom (lacking a door but with a screen and curtain to make do).

The manager also booked us a car to udaipur via ranakpur, sharing the cost with 2 other travellers. The driver was excellent, the car was comfortable, and we were so pleased that we'd opened up our wallets a bit wider and chosen the car over the bus. The Ranakpur temples were brilliant and definitely worth the extra money for the car and driver, and the driver took us right to our hotels in udaipur.

We highly recommend Yogi's to other travellers and also the car instead of the bus if you're heading onward to Udaipur.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexi861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear friends thanks a lot for your valueable time for writing for us on trip advisor as this is the best way to know the others and also we are looking forward to see you again here this is your home always and wish you a very happy and fun travelling further on and yes thanks for writing for the car service as you know its the cheap and best really loves to see you both again and we wish you a safe journey regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    118
    31
    22
    24
See reviews for
36
124
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really nice guesthouse with a lovely rooftop, amazing view on the fort and nice decorations... We wre a little worried when we arrived by night in this little street but at the end the guesthouse is very weel located in the old city, near the path to go to the fort. We stayed 3 nights and we would come back if we travel to Jodhpur again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear customer and familly thanks for your valueable time which you give us for writing such a wonderfull words we are really greatfull of you having us here as a guest thanks and we wish you a happy and safe journey and wish to see you again here regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't know if it's because of us travelling with our charming kids, or if they treat everyone like us, but in our case they really followed their motto: "Come as tourist, stay as a friend and leave like family.

The place is clean (regarding the budget and being in India) and nice. Everyone was very helpfull to us and spoiling the kids. There is a little yard (it was quite full of stuff though) in front of the guesthouse with a gate to the street, so the kids could run around both inside and outside.

This area of Jodhpur seemed very friendly. No pushy ricksha-wallas or shopkeepers, but alot of friendly and curious people around here.

From the rooftop restaurant there's a fantastic 360-view of the fort, clocktower and blue city. The food ranges from Ok to Very Good. The downside with the restaurant is that it sometimes takes a little too long time getting the food and that it's hard to get breakfast before 8.30. But the manager fixed that for us when we where leaving early.

It's not the absolutely cheapest place (500 rs and onward), but the extra money is well spent. A good pick for both backpackers and familys.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear familly we allready miss you your children brings here happiness while you were in my hotel i always feel that little krishna god is in my house i love both your childs very much even my son missing them and both of you were also very kind persons its very hard to find good families friendly anyway we wish you a very safe and happy journey onwards and love to see you again in our house regards and please keep in touch thanks love to kids from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Yogi guest house is a small family guest house in old town in Jodhpur.
It is a charming place, reasonable prices, hold by a very friendly guy: Yogi.
As a tourist we have a lot of advices regarding travel solutions in the area, visiting town or shopping.
Lunch and Dinner service is good but very slow.
This is a place a recommand for small groups and couples for a short stay or for solo people for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
dear customer thanks for you precious time for writing a review for us we really appreciated that you still remember us we wish you a very happy new year and loves to see you again with your friends or familly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Yogi Guest House for several nights in January. The main building was full, so we were given a room in their annex about a block away. The room was huge, clean and beautifully furnished. Our room had a view of the fort as well as of the alleys below. We were given extra blankets upon request. The staff was very accommodating, and the room was excellent value.
I use a cane when climbing the stairs. Not once did I have to carry my own suitcase. They would always send a young man to do it for me.
Our stay at the hotel was one of the high points of our trip to India.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this guest house is the rooftop. We are 100% sure that our bags and room were searched when we were out for the day. Also, we were told a 500-600 rupee room was available (for 2), but when we arrived they put us in a 850 rupee room in a half constructed building down the road from Yogis - the power points were not even working yet. Then when we paid they tried to rip us off by 500+ r. We also met a number of other unhappy guests. I have never written such a negative review but in light of the Lonely Planet recommendation this place needs to be spoken out against! Having said all of this, we left with all our belongings, but be careful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AliceGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear customer as i remember you were 2 old ladies sorry to hear all this from you even we were more attention to you coz one of you couldn't walk without stick .We do gives you the room in another building but next day we likes to change it for you but you were said no and now you keep saying these things not good and as you said that some ones goes in your room but sorry madam we don't goes in the rooms even clients request to us ..And yes now i know why your brother do what he does with you he is correct I must write to lonely planet as well that why these kind of unfriendly and odd customers comes to india please dont get them visas or band them totally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at yogi's for one night. The hotel sent a rickshaw to pick us up at the train station late at night, and we were warmly greeted when we arrived. The regular guest house was full, so they took us to an apartment a block away. It was... Odd. Not terrible, but a lot of things were broken (ie: the shower), and it seemed really overpriced. No one was around when we went to talk to the manager the next morning, so we had breakfast first (tasted fine, but the serving ware and tables needed a good scrub). When we went to chat with the manager again, he was really unhelpful. Told us that there were no other rooms available, and that we were lucky to get a room in Jodhpur at all. When we asked if we could leave our bags while we looked around for a different hotel (before agreeing to another night in the weird apartment down the road), he refused, and gave us a lecture about check out times. No one had told us about the check out time when we arrived, and no one was there to help us when we tried the first time. Unnecessarily rude and unhelpful. Fortunately, PushP guest house down the street helped us find a guest house even though they were full.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RRR304007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogibaba, Manager at Yogi Guest House, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
dear customer thanks for writing your review on here but we are sorry if you feels disappointed but check out time is 10 am but you were not tell us and as this is high season and because of you we couldn't gives the room to anyone also the room we gives you is the best room we have but still you complain its al right but about the service we do our best but we also need respect as well OK if we get respect we gives it back as well and about the leaving luggage may be you blame us that some thing is missing so we are carefull as well thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#4 of 190 in Jodhpur
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 190 in Jodhpur
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosy Guest House
Cosy Guest House
#10 of 153 in Jodhpur
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Geeta Mahal
Geeta Mahal
#3 of 190 in Jodhpur
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suraj Haveli
Suraj Haveli
#13 of 153 in Jodhpur
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krishna Prakash Heritage Haveli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Guest House

Property: Yogi Guest House
Address: Raj Purohit Ji Ki Haveli | Based on fort walls near clock tower Manak Chowk Naya Bas, Jodhpur 342001, India (Formerly Yogi's Paying Guest House)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yogi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yogi's Guest House is a Five Hundred year old Haveli (very old traditional courtyard) with fabulous Panaromic View of Mehrangarh Fort, Umaid Bhawan Palace, Clock Tower and Old Blue City. Yogi's guest house, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective.Yogi's Guest House Located Centrally in heart of Jodhour on the way to the Fort. It is a living Heritage Project, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective. The only “ living House " in Jodhpur the private apartments.Overlooking the seemingly invincible Mehrangarh Fort on one side and the gigantic Umaid Bhawan Palace on the other, Yogi's Guest House holds the lingering echoes of a bygone era, like no other placeYogi's Guest House, a place in time and space in which traditional life style and hospitality meets modern amenities and an international perspective. One of the prominent “ living House " hotel in Jodhpur.At Yogi's Guest House , the Family participates in every detail of management and hospitality the doors of this truly traditional yet subtlety contemporary life style is open to you. One of the prominent " living House" hotel in Jodhpur.Access: Ideally located at a convenient distance of 4 Kms. from Airport, 2 Kms. from Railway Station, 2.0 Kms from Bus Stand: barely minutes away from most major shopping, business or commercial, the hotel is located in the blue heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yogi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yogi`s Paying Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing