We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had high expectations, were let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stay Simple Hotel Jaisalgarh
Ranked #62 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We drove down from jodhpur with a driver who was aware of jaisalmer a bit (regularly drives people between the two cities), but he had never heard of this hotel! After a bit of asking around, located this hotel to be on the outskirts of the city relatively (though Taj Gateway and other big hotels are also nearby).
Had read that this hotel offers fort views, but realised that 'view' could technically be from any distance - this was sort of our first let down... there are a lot of other hotels in jaisalmer which offer near and clearer view of the fort, and some of them are actually located within the fort.
reception was nice and warm, we were helped with a welcome drink. room interiors looked ok until we entered the bathroom which was a bit smelly. we found the in-room food tariffs a bit pricey - especially when the tea tasted salty, and when complained we were told that probably we were confused about the taste! wonderful response to customer feedback!! no apologies, no remedies!!!
other services seemed at par with the hotels of this category. quick response to requests placed at the reception especially with respect to help on arranging for cabs/ camel ride etc, though look out for heavy markup that the person levies on top of the package rates!
did not test their restaurant, but the breakfast menu was relatively limited and generally oily food...
overall, the restaurant served our purpose - we were basically looking for a place to rest after long hours of sight seeing - though the odour part in the bathrooms is something we did not like at all...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

first of all the location is such that we had to search for it for 20-30 min inspite of asking many people who seemed to have no idea about it. finally we found it &were shown into the room which according o the staff had fortview and that is the only reason we could see the fort from 1 window otherwise u are sure to miss it .then there was lizard and ants in the bathroomwhich we had to get cleaned again .the food is very very expensive-- 1slice of bread costs20rs. i very small chapatti is for25rs. i feel they are taking advantage of being quite away from the citycentre.Worse still since we were the only guests there for 2out of our 4 days stay there they wouldnot even serve all the dishes on the menu &we had to eat whatever they offered.this is really a big problem when u are with small kids . the mattress also that we got as extra bed(for which we had paid extra)was spring mattress &very uncomfortable. there was no lighting in the gardens outside so u are stuck inthe room with t.v.after u come back. The staff is courteous but not organised--you need to remind them 2-3 times .Summing it up i'll say that we were very disappointed .this hotel is nothing of what is shown or claimed on their website

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

just came back from this hotel, and I have to say - it was my worst experience. There are so many negative points:

1) the hotel is below basic - not at all what they show in pics. Rooms are only just basic, not at all plush which they try to show through their website. My room wall was broken and toilet was very dirty. They have no electric kettle in the room - something I would expect from a decent hotel. All in all room quality was at par with a budget 1-2 star hotel.

2) Hotel is extremely expensive: apart from the room rate u pay (which I think is very high for the quality they give), the food is so expensive. To give a perspective, the most expensive restaurant's (called Trio in Jaisalmer) prices were half of those charged by the hotel for their own food. And food was not tasty at all. Avoid food (if u go here at all - which in the first place I strongly not recommend) at all costs here.

3) The hotel staff will push and push you to spend more in hotel. I requested a late check out and they said it was ok with them if we had lunch in the hotel. Very cheap. Also tried to overcharge me for the extra bed but I was smart enough to notice it and then they were sorry.

4) I asked for a piece of bread for my son and was charged 50 bucks for it. Asked for a 2km drop to railway station (was expecting to be complimentary since distance was only 2km) and was asked 300 bucks for it. Problem is you have to use their services because the location of the hotel is way off the city center.

To summarize, Jaislamer is a great place but my trip was saddened by this hotel, Take my advice and avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manikamahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

It took us some time to find the hotel !! Considering that Jaisalmer is a miniscule city, says a lot about location. It is slightly away from the main city and therefore offers peace. However, once you know the place, getting and out was no problem. The room was reasonably big, bed very comfortable. Bathroom was big, but the shower was in between the bath-tub and the wash basin. So, if you are not a bath-tub person, you would wet the entire bathroom and make it difficult for other members. However, this was a small deterrant. More than made up by extremely courteous service. The food was very tasty - specially the Rajasthani dishes - Ker Sangri, Kadhi Chawal. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The only problem - unwillingness to accept credit card. I was told that swimming pool was being constructed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansh9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We visited Jaisalmer with our group of friends from London. Though we were aware of the heat in Rajasthan, we still braved the heat. Surprisingly, it was fun in the heat with the hotel being extremely relaxing after our day's expedition. Everything about it was absolutely amazing. We have amazing memories of Rajasthan and India. We hope to visit India again and surely we'll stay in Hotel Jaisalgarh and use their Swimming Pool, which we missed by a few months this time around as it was under construction.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_cullen_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Beautiful hotel located next to a great destination. Have always thought about going to Jaisalmer, finally made it ! We had a great time. The hotel staff is great, the place was beautiful and well maintained and the sand safari they organised was breathtaking. Wish we could stay longer. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeetuTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

On recommendation of a friend hailing from Jodhpur, we chose Hotel jaisal garh for our stay. We arrived by graveyard shift- Jodhpur train, and were picked by Hotel. The room was on Ground Floor, and didnot get us Fort View, so we asked them to change to another floor, with fort view Very nice comfortable stay, full of good memories. Good people to stay with. What was novel about this Hotel is thier in-house newspaper "The Jaisalgarh Times" with motto of "EVERYTHING BUT TRUE". Front Office staff told us since they donot get thier newspaper in time from Delhi- they decided to publish thier own !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poison_rose2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#58 of 114 in Jaisalmer
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#38 of 114 in Jaisalmer
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#13 of 114 in Jaisalmer
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#28 of 114 in Jaisalmer
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
Hotel Moonlight Jaisalmer
#59 of 114 in Jaisalmer
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer
#21 of 114 in Jaisalmer
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Simple Hotel Jaisalgarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Simple Hotel Jaisalgarh

Address: H-2,Shilpgram, Ramgarh Bypass Road | Near MES-IB on Jodhpur-Jaisalmer Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $49 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Simple Hotel Jaisalgarh 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fort-like Hotel built in Jaisalmer style with Jaisalmer yellow stone. Spacious lawns, glorious Jaisalmer fort view; multi-cuisine restaurant with 64 covers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Stay Simple Hotel Jaisalgarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisalgarh Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing