We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tiny hotel right in the fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deepak Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deepak Rest House
Ranked #47 of 151 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Pune, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good tiny hotel right in the fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel is in the Jaisalmer Fort itself. Rooms are oriented in a such a fashion you will have great view of city. The view of Jaisalmer and nearby is fabulous from the rooftop. The restaurant at the roof top offers great home made kind of food made specially by order. The hotel has great support staff and very cordial. They arrange wonderful excursions around Jaisalmer. The owner Shri Deepak himself had accompanied with us for the trip to Sam Sand Dunes which was a wonderful experience. The Dussera Chowk, Palace, and the Jain temple inside the fort is just few meters away from the hotel. If you are looking for the charm of fort with a stay inside, then this is the right place to stay but if look for great hotel with luxury, amenities and look then you may not prefer this. Moreover if you plan to stay here in the peak time then you should be ready to walk to the hotel as vehicles are not allowed till top.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I felt like I had fallen into the set of a Hollywood Movie. I adored my room and the views were spectacular. Room was large, clean, had warm water and comfortable bed. Within walking distance to many shops. Service was great; rooftop restaurant was delightful. Had internet facilities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

From our pick up at the parking by rickshaw, to transporting a case on his scooter, the manager, Gopi (?) endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The view from room 9 and the rooftop restaurant were outstanding and contributed to the overall experience.
You don't need to be a mountaineer, but to access the Fort and the guest house, a certain amount of mobility is required. The sunrise and sunset were memorable events for us, we did not have to travel to experience them!
The food is good vegetarian, and the restaurant staff are very efficient and friendly. Yes, we would return!

Room Tip: Room 9 but be quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I think this place was a great value for a clean and interesting place within the fort. I stayed in room #10 which was charmingly furnished and very large. The taps were not working part of one day, but I think that is perhaps to be expected within the fort at times. Any of the places within the fort might be challenging for those with mobility problems since they are very old buildings and can have odd stairways, no railings, slippery floors etc. These things added character, in my view. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I fell in love with this place, the area itself is great, but this friendly guesthouse offers basic rooms but with an amazing quirky feel because of the old fort.

I would reccomend a visit and they were very accomodating and provided is us with a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallerworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is situated within the fort itself therefore everything within the fort is only a few minutes walk.

I emailed them before we arrived and they picked us up as arranged for free at the train station which was a relief given the 45 + degree heat!

The hotel itself is tucked away down an ally so would be hard to find unless already knowing about it but it's worth it.

We stayed in room 9 which is within one of the old look out posts so we had a near 360 degree view of the desert. The room was nicely decorated in a traditional Indian style with a fan and a huge comfortable bed.

The hotel is basic so don't expect A/C or breakfast but it was so cheap I don't think you could complain (we paid 450RPS for low season) and the atmosphere and staff were excellent.

It had a roof top restaurant which was excellent too and great value and they also offered Western style breakfasts.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request room 9 for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

the room was sooooooo charming, i think we has the 'honeymoon' suite. large bed.

the rooftop was a great place to relax, have a beer or chai and soak up the Thar sun.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulioLabrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Jaisal Castle
Jaisal Castle
#71 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suraj
Hotel Suraj
#29 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jai Laxmi Paying Guest House
Jai Laxmi Paying Guest House
#34 of 151 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Stay
Hotel Royal Stay
#87 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himmat Niwas
Hotel Himmat Niwas
#18 of 151 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deepak Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deepak Rest House

Property: Deepak Rest House
Address: On Fort Vyasa Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Deepak Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing