We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at atmospheric Suraj”
Review of Hotel Suraj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Suraj
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed four nights in this completely original and authentic stone haveli within Jaisalmer fort. Rooms are marvellously decorated, and the external stonework is wonderful. It is probably one of the most unusual hotels you will ever stay in, with hand-painted designs on the walls, sculpted arches, wall niches, original ancient wood doors. The view from the roof over the city and towards the surrounding desert countryside is superb.

Chimmy, the manager, is friendly and very helpful. He and his father were disconcerted, though, that Lonely Planet now discourages tourists from staying within the Fort as it is said that the increased water usage resulting is leading to the collapse of parts of the Fort and other structures within it. Chimmy remarked that improved drainage put in a little time ago should avert the problem - in the meantime his trade had fallen so that he could no longer continue restoration within the Suraj; and that perhaps local people where better able to judge than foreigners! That off his chest he was always cheerful.

The Suraj is in an excellent position for visiting the Jain temples and exploring the narrow streets and enjoying the atmosphere and life inside the fort.

I would definately recommend the Suraj to all with a taste for the culture and history of a place, and for enjoying the genuine atmosphere. Value for money is excellent - rooms are wonderful, location and service very good. Internet access is available next door. The occasionally dark stairways though would be difficult for the disabled, nor is there special provision for children.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank theoldBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2008

If you are expecting 5 star then this place is not for you however for hospitality a beautiful old building and atmosphere you cant go wrong Chimmy looked after us brilliantly we had the maharaja Suite. Hotel was a beautiful building set in a perfect location. This hotel made our great trip to Jaisalmer very memorable. If you want an authentic experience this place is perfect. One of the highlights of my second trip to India

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Maharaja room is just fantastic. Located on the north side of the building it is cool and fresh and is also very quiet at night. It's something like 60 Squre meters, with columns and frescos allover. Incredible. They are working now to increase the level of furniture, whihc at the moment is essential. Bed is new, soft mattrass and soft pillow: perfect for sleeping. DEfinitely worth the whole travel to jaisalmer to sleep one night in this room. NOt all rooms are yet equal though, so, in summer, the higher rooms may be a bit warm, although still as they were 400 years ago.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raimo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Hotel Suraj is inside the fort in Jaisalmer.

It was a great and unique experience. The hotel is in an old haveli and, apart from electricity and water, hasn't been updated so you feel that you are staying in a place that is very like a museum.

Chimmy who runs the place is charming and helpful.

It is worth putting aside creature comforts for a couple of nights for the experience of staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Camila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loic-flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Waren in zwei, beide super.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MoGuard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0.1 mi away
Desert Haveli Guest House
Desert Haveli Guest House
#35 of 108 in Jaisalmer
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manglam
Hotel Manglam
#33 of 108 in Jaisalmer
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bharat Villas
Hotel Bharat Villas
#25 of 108 in Jaisalmer
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#54 of 108 in Jaisalmer
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suraj

Address: | on fort, next to Jain Temple, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $13 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The land of Jaisalmer reminds you of the past days of maharajas and their havelis with fine architecture and eye catching facades. We are pleased to announce that our haveli is among one of them. Named after the founder of this haveli, Shree Suraj Karan G, our haveli is 500 years old converted into hotel being the 18th generation of same family who made this building. We can proudly say that we are among one of the hotels who started the trend of haveli style and homestay hotels. Running our haveli as a homestay from last 25 years we have received a lot of love and complements regarding our hotel. The main reason behind is that we haven't changed the main structure and antique theme of our rooms. Staying on ground floor we have converted upper floor rooms into hotel rooms with a bit of modern facilities so that the guests can get all the comfort enjoying the history of haveli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Suraj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing