We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort
Ranked #37 of 163 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed at the Deluxe AC (see photo). The room is tastefully decorated in bright colours. When you open the door you see the same style shown in the fort palaces all over Rajasthan.

The staff is very nice and friendly without exception, specially JC (I hope I remember his name right) . He's always eager to solve any problem and to make your stay trouble free. Cap Chandra, the owner, is a folkloric and colourful person, known by everyone in town, including the current Maharajah.

The hotel is clean, there is a lovely rooftop seating area from where you can see part of town and also the desert in the horizon. The restaurant is the only "department" that, while not bad, could be improved. At the moment, they "import" food from the hotel next door, being therefore unable to control quality consistency.

In general, I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have an authentic Rajhastan experience in a nice environment and attended to by a pleasant staff. It's also good value for money, in the best location of Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Hotel Paradise is inside the Golden Fort. Rooms are ok and so the service. They have a nice Roof-Top resturant, where they serve food as well as Beer. Food is Ok, but not cheap, Egg fried Rice/ Egg Chowmien cost around Rs.85. They charge rs.120 for a regular Beer, which is also high priced. Standard Rooms are charged @Rs800/- & Delux Rooms @ 1250/- to Rs.1500/-. Same quality rooms is available in other 20 to 25 hotels/ guesthouses catering inside the Golden Fort in much cheaper rate, such as standard room @ Rs450/- and delux rooms @850/-.Hotel paradise have also facility of sight seeing to Khuri / Sam sanddunes which they charge @Rs3000/- for a couple which includes Dinner and 1 night stay in the safari camp. It is recomemded to go your onw alone over there as reserved Taxi (Maruti/ Esteem) will cost you around Rs.650 to Rs700/- for 4 to 5 hours to spend & enjoy the sunset at Sam sanddunes, and they will charge around Rs1000/- to Rs1200/- overnight stay. There are lot of Tents cum Resorts where alongwith dinner and stay will cost around Rs.1100/-.
Hotel Paradise also have the Internet cafe facility also.
Owner is Mr. Sripath is a sweet spoken person, but very clever to earn from you a lot.
If someone wants the value for money this Hotel hardly gives you that, more of all as this Hotel is inside the Fort, you will not be able to enjoy the main beauty of Jaisalmer which is the Beautifully Lighted Golden Fort in the Night time which is viewable only from the outside of the Fort. Same applies for the other Hotels inside the Fort also. So try out a hotel outside the Fort with a view, which is easily available within Rs800/- to Rs1200/- for a Delux room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gautamsur_l3037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We got this two rooms in this hotel for Rs 500 each on new year eve. Thus not much was expected. Hospitality was gr8. Rooms were ok for the kind of price we paid. But the best part was the location of the hotel inside the fort, its terrace and the awesome view of the city one got to see from top.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank NeerajS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The biggest advantage of Paradise is its location- right inside the fort near the main entrance. It has a beautiful courtyard inside, and the staff are friendly. The rooms are simple, and nothing special, but quite clean- also, there wasn't any shortage of water. The only blip was that they promised us a camel per person in the desert safari, but then gave us a camel per two persons. They did deduct Rs 50/- from the Rs 400/- that we had initially agreed to pay a person for the transportation from the hotel to Khuri and the camel ride, but I guess it was still not a very good deal. Anyway, a decent hotel overall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeacefulExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Having booked into a highly rated hotel nearby where we were ripped off and woken at 3.30 am by the market starting up below, we looked around and found the Paradise. Good value, hospitable, true Brahmin values (except they allowed drinking and smoking in the roof top restaurant!) and also organised a camel safari just for us, with no hype attached.
Quiet, with a delightful, bird-filled courtyard and two roof-top terraces. Good sized rooms, clean bedding, adequate bathrooms with hot water.
We liked the owner and all the staff - really friendly and willing and brought us bed tea in the morning at no extra charge! And not one of them offered to take us to their uncle's/nephew's/cousin's shop ......

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HighlandMeagaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I chanced upon hotel Paradise on the internet. By then, I had already booked my hotel in Jaisalmer and was rather happy with my choice. But then someone told me that one could live inside the Jaisalmer fort and i set out on an internet search for hotels inside the fort. And that's how I found Paradise. I called up the hotel and the owner, who answered the call came across as very friendly. Without asking for any advance, he agreed to keep a room for me and my husband. We had opted for a room on the first floor of the hotel - a room with a view! We were received by the Paradise guys at the station and escorted to the hotel. It's a lovely neat place with very warm people. It's actually a house which has been turned into a hotel and is truly heritage in its look. The best part is the view from the hotel. You can see the Jaisalmer city lying before you from the hotel terrace and from some rooms, including the one we were in. In fact after our first day of stay there, I cancelled the booking at the other hotel we had initially booked.

We were staying in room 105, which is neatly furnished with beds, carpets, a seating area, TV and airconditioner. The interiors are done in a traditional manner, but lend a lovely look to the room. Though they serve only morning tea and breakfast, you can opt to order for food from a restaurant that's next door and eat from a range of restaurants inside the fort. As against popular belief, there is no water crisis inside the fort and nor is it unsafe to stay there.

In Paradise one can spend a good part of the day just lazing around on the terrace that has neat and comfortable seating areas. In fact a lot of outside guests come to the hotel to watch the sunset from this terrace. At night you can either sit on the terrace or in the verandha in your room and look at the beautifully lit city as you share a drink with your dear one.

The people in this hotel are honest and nice. You can get a room for anything between Rs 600 to RS 1500 depending on what kind of room you want. But I would say, just hop in to Paradise before you decide on anyother place.


Himika Chaudhuri
Indian
Travelled between Nov 27 to Dec 3

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Himika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

"Welcome to Paradise" That is how you are greeted upon arrival at this hotel. It has a good location and a friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are basic - nothing to write home about. You can do a lot worse!

  • Stayed: September 2003, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#67 of 113 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 113 in Jaisalmer
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#15 of 113 in Jaisalmer
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sky Plaza
Hotel Sky Plaza
#20 of 113 in Jaisalmer
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0.4 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#14 of 113 in Jaisalmer
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort

Address: Janga Para Opposite Royal Place | Inside Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $21 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel paradise is located in the part of the palace of the Maharaja of Jaisalmer which was formerly used for the accommodation of the royal family guests. The building as it stands today is about 400 years old. The rooms, which are cool in summer and sheltered in winter, are centered around a shady garden courtyard with bougainville trees. The rooms situated next to the wall have a view from the desert Garisar Lake. Breakfast and drinks are served on the rooftop terrace. Hotel Paradise is just off the main square of Jaisalmer fort, on entering the fort through the 4th gate. Many facilities are provided like camel safaris, excursions by jeep to villages, historical monuments like forts, temples and other places of interest in the desert. It is also possible to book bus and train tickets. The owner, Captain Chandra, head manager and the rest of his staff will be happy to give you any assistance you may need and will do their utmost to make your stay at Hotel Paradise an enjoyable and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paradise Palace on Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing