We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Fort”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel in the Fort”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was our favorite hotel in India. The proprietor Pankaj went out of his way to be accommodating. Our room was beautiful. They did an incredible job of making a Havaeli that is hundreds of years old in a fort into a modern and comfortable place to stay. If possible, get the room with the balcony. I could sit on that balcony for hours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unctuousp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    123
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
194
320
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Well i must say the stay at the hotel victoria was the most amazing one i have ever had. i have been a roaming freak all my life and have been to every possible place in india which means i hav stayed in atleast in a hundread of hotels but must say the care and the service i got from this particular hotel is matchless. you just dont feel you are in a hotel there. it jus feels like your own house. the staff there is so friendly and are there for service 24x7. the owner of the hotel victoria Pankaj Purohit there is such a sweet loving person that you just dont feel that he is actually the owner there. he is a young hondsome next door kind of a guy who keeps joking around and making you feel at home. my parents were so very happy to be there. and even said that they wana visit the place once again very soon. and more then the place they wana vist the hotel once again. well if i'll continue talking about hotel victoria i wont stop because its just wonderful to be there. if you ever vist the city do go in and see what hotel victoria is all about. and dont forget to meet the guy Pankaj Purohit. because once you are in contact with him you dont have to worry about anything there. he will arange everything there for you and that to at the best bargains. Njoy.
Regards : Rishabh Juneja.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rally_sport_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Wonderful hotel - charming rooms, the location is just perfect inside the fort.
The rooftop terrace was wonderful - could stay there all day.
We just loved the charm and colours of Jaisalmer - our favorite city in India.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stayed at the Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer in October 2009 with my wife and 10 year old daughter. We had a great time and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The hotel has a great location with wonderful views from the rooftop, the service is decent, and the food outstanding, especially for those with a fetish for simple home style Indian food . Rooms are well maintained clean with good air conditioning, and some of the rooms have wonderful views. good free internet facility which is quite fast.

Pankaj, the hotel owner, Sushil the manager and the team do a great job of making guests feel at home.

We stayed in Room No 2, whic is called the Honeymoon Suite on the top floor. The word suite is used rather loosely by several hotels in India, this is no suite, but a nice room anyways. The room has a wonderful balcony where you can spend hours just sitting out there in the nights or in the morning. Wonderful room but caution,this room has a rather small loo!!

All in all, a great stay and a wonderful experience.

Just a few things you should look out for. This is more like a homestay. No pools, no TV, no liveried waiters, no soft piano music at the reception. Just a good team running a clean decent hotel and trying to keep customers happy.

  • Liked — great views
  • Disliked — room toilet was small
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ramr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a bird's eye view of this wonderful city! Located within the beautiful fort you will find a very charming "haveli." All in stone with winding ,narrow staircases and rooms with balconies that give on to the incredible scenery. Sunrise or sunset you can enjoy your chai tea on the roof top terrace. Though it is a historical building the rooms are very comfortable with large bathrooms and air-conditioning. The manager "Sushi" and his staff are extemely attentive and no matter what the service will take care of it with a smile. Sushi set us up with a wonderful guided tour of the city and its surroundings with a certified local tour guide named "DJ" who is also a jounalist and playwrite (very The ambiance of the hotel is light and joyful. I can say that it was the best hotel and staff that we experienced during all of our stay in India! I was traveling with my husband and friends and will definietly return to Hotel Victoria with my children!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

our stay at victoria hotel amidst the colossal fort sums up our trip experience to be the best ever.we had an organised safari to add to the fun. .the peops at jaisalmer and victoria were extremely hospitable. loved the experience of living in a fort couldnt get more king like! wow whata country . hotel victoria is a must do. . .

  • Liked — location,people
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We had such a brilliant stay here at Hotel Victoria. We were picked up from the station at 5am and driven up into the fort. They showed us to our room straight away so we were able to freshen up and have a nap. The room was large and beautifully decorated with a great marble bathroom. The bed was also so comfortable and soft! Breakfast was delicious up on the rooftop, with a great view over the city on the edge of the fort walls. We also enjoyed a home cooked thali up on the roof for dinner. Highly recommened doing this. The next day we went on a camel safari and spent the night in the desert, which we booked though a separate agent. The owner let us keep our bags there and when we returned he let us have a small room to shower and change in all free of charge.
This place is a real gem: such great value for money with all food, drinks and internet wrapped up into the room price. The staff went out of there way to be helpful and kind. We were told that people are being discourages from staying in the fort due to water problems. The hotel reassured us how careful they were with water and I really think it was a great experience staying right inside the fort walls.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ps87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#6 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 9 years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing