We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A great place to stay in Jaisalmer. just the fact that you are staying in the only living fort in India is good enough, but staying at Victoria makes it even better. The hotel itself is made after combining 2 hevelis inside the fort. So no room is the same, some have great views some have none, some are large some are too small. Be sure to call and chat up with Pankaj (owner) before booking, he is very helpful and a great gentleman. He has his team of Nepalese men working for him, who are equally helpful and always smiling.
the best part about this hotel or homestay is its sunset view from its terrace which is also a great place to chat up with other fellow travelers. you can sit there and watch the sky turn yellow to orange to dark blue, before the night takes over.
Just be prepared to climb a lot of steep steps, surely not a good option if you have any older folks in your group.
Also remember there is no parking anywhere inside the fort, but Pankaj will make sure that you are picked up in an tuk tuk from the parking below.
Overall a great place to stay inside the fort.

Room Tip: Room number 2 is the best and the most expensive, room 5 is also very good with great views.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Abid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 785 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with 3 children. Rooms are very clean and are charming being part of an old house within Jaisalmer Fort. Staff is always ready to help, giving a warm atmosphere in the hotel. Owner and manager likes to chat and talk about his town. It made us feel like at home. Terrace on the top, allow a wonderfull view were you can enjoy a drink, dinner and breakfast. We do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChennaiExpress91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Victoria for one night.....

After discussing multiple times over the phone with Mr Pankaj Purohit (Owner of the Hotel) we booked the hotel for one night..and we were promised one of the new rooms with breakfast and a free pick up from the bus stand...

Hotel owner sent an auto (tuk tuk) to pick us up. The auto took us to the gate of the fort where one of the hotel staff came to pick up our luggage - during the day no vehicle except a bike is allowed inside the fort. Hotel staff picked up our luggage and we walked to the hotel inside the fort. The hotel is about 5-7 mins walk from the main entrance of the fort, you navigate through small by lanes of the fort to reach the hotel.

Pankaj escorted us to the room- as promised it was a new room (No 11) - with a multiple windows looking inside the fort. However our room was on the roof top - once we stepped out of the room, we were awestruck by the spectacular view of the Golden city of Jaisalmer. By far the best view from the fort (we walked the entire fort to check out the views and can fairly conclude that Hotel Victoria enjoys the best view).

Our room was spacious and bathroom was clean. Mind you this isn't a luxury hotel. The price you pay is only for the location, view and hospitality. We were given an open access to the kitchen and the staff would make anything that we wanted for breakfast lunch and dinner (however they recommend you give advance notice for dinner)

We loved everything about our stay..the location was unique, views were spectacular and hospitality was beyond anything i have experienced so far...a bit pricy but i guess its worth it when you see the sunset sitting at the rooftop or enjoy ur morning tea looking at the golden city...

I would totally recommend this place to anyone planning to hit Jaisalmer...however keep in mind this isn's luxury hotel...its an ancient home converted into hotel...an experience to live inside probably the largest living fort in India...

Room Tip: The rooms are of different sizes..I have seen room 8, 11, 7, 2 and 6....room 6 is very small the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Victoria. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel had a lot of character as it was inside the old fort and the hotel had been a home previously for hundreds of years. The food was very good and the views from the roof top amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would not stress about having a room with a grand view. You will likely spend very little time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_UpperWestSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Victoria's Charm is that it's a very rare example of a hotel plonked right inside an inhabited fort. By renting a room here, you get the chance to live in a fort that has seen battles, deceptions, rulers, and large chunks of history going back 900 years. In that sense it's a bucket list contender.
The owner, Pankaj, has taken great pains to decorate and embellish the hotel to look the part, and the result is a quirky, quaint and unique hotel. Each room is different in shape, size and orientation, largely due to the eccentricities of the original design of the "haveli" house.
Pankaj, his manager Sushil, and the rest of the staff take great pains to ensure that you are comfortable, are given the best advice on how to navigate Jaisalmer, and overall, have a great experience.
That said, Victoria is not child or old-age friendly due to the various steps that need to be navigated to get to many of the rooms or to the rooftop for a meal (the views from the top are stunning, though.) Also it is on the expensive side for a town like Jaisalmer. But if you want to be part of a slice of history, are able bodied, and like parathas and lassi, which the staff here prepare brilliantly, give it a shot.

Room Tip: All rooms are different-go through the website and decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakkkobera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Victoria. An unforgettable experience of staying in a fort as the hotel is located in one - the Jaisalmer Fort. Beautiful view of the sunset from the room and terrace. The owner Mr. Pankaj Purohit is an enterprising guy. It was more like a home stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roving_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is just out of the world, I have never such a hospitality.We were treated like family member and everything was just a call away.
Location of the hotel was lil inside but the view from the hotel was breath-taking.
Room was elegant and very comfortable.The best part of the hotel was the owner Mr Pankaj he is an amazing person, very very nice and helpful.
The moment I am in Jaisalmer I would be found in Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank kapiljha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 106 in Jaisalmer
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $24 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 18years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing