We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be in Jaisalmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to be in Jaisalmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Good heritage, VFM hotel. Great staff and I loved my 2 days stay over there...the parking is a problem , but that is a common thing if you want to be inside the fort as no hotels can be approached directly by your vehicles, thanks to the narrow streets. The hotel people would come and pick you up using autorikshaw. (Tuk-tuk).

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjithTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    123
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
190
314
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked at Hotel Victoria after reading great reviews and it truly paid off. Mr. Pankaj and his help Mr Sushil left no stone unturned to make it a homely stay. We were in room 2 which is very nice (bathroom is a bit small) - otherwise great AC, even has a small refrigerator! The jharokha is awesome, can see the view of the entire jaisalmer city and a great place to just relax and read a book. Get this room if possible, its worth it. Food is just too good - We are a food junkie, and in our entire 8 day stay in Rajasthan, best food - better than home. Sushil even got us local sweets both the days - which were just too good. We were treated so nicely- that the little walk from the gate of the kila to the hotel did not feel bad. I should warn that the condition of the kila itself is not good, as local residents stay, roads are narrow and not so clean - but if you can overlook that - its a very good place to stay! I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try and see if you can get Room2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Victoria in September 2013. Our rooms were excellent (first floor front and first floor overlooking the city) though one first floor room that we saw into was very small. Great views from the roof terrace but no shade. Good food, friendly service and clean throughout. Prices are negotiable off-season and we only paid £18 each.
Top marks to one of the local tuk-tuk drivers, Rahul, who works from the main square in the fort. He was good company when we hired him for a day of sightseeing and even let me drive!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel victoria is beautiful and the owners have considered everything to make you comfortable in luxurious surroundings. The location within the fort is very special. Not at all like the centre of a busy town its got everything you need without the mania of indian roads on your doorstep! The owners do everything to ensure you have all you need. The view from the roof / eating / relaxing area was spectacular, especially watching the sunset. Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: The smallest room was very small and the bathroom door would not shut as it caught on the bed. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are just back from Jaisalmer where we stayed in the Hotel Victoria, a boutique hotel in the fort with beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. Our room had traditional carved furniture, local stone work and antiques, a gorgeous embroidered bedspread and silk pillows, very good linens and fluffy towels. We also had a great view from our room and from the rooftop café where we had dinner and breakfast, all excellent. The owner, Pankaj Purohit is a very warm person and Sushil and all the staff are very kind and really looked after us. So glad Sushil recommended the fruit-filled pancakes! Excellent jasmine ayurvedic soap, toothpaste and shampoo were placed in our bathroom. Centrally located but in a quiet lane in the fort we felt we were living in history. They arranged a great camel riding trip for us too and also arranged a very good car and driver for our drive to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This quaint little B&B is nestled inside the famous Jaisalmer fort. We were picked up by the hotel service from the car park and taken through the narrow stone cobbled lanes passing family run shops along the way. The decor as you enter hotel victoria resembles an old Indian princely home with Tanjore paintings and an old coin collection adorning the side. We had initially booked two rooms and cancelled one on the day that we arrived. The manager, Sushil made the cancellation without a fuss and charged us nothing for it. The room for the first night was large and spacious. For the second and third night, they upgraded us to the best room in the hotel with a view meant for the kings. We spent most of our mornings and nights on the terrace where you get to view the entire panorama of Jaisalmer. The hospitality here was fantastic with sumptuous breakfast, consisting of lemon sugar pancakes and aloo parantha and a traditional but equally tasty dinner. The stay was an absolute delight and the price is a steal. Would definitely be one of the best places to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 or 7 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameeraj I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I returned to Jaisalmer 25 years after my first trip, to show my wife and son this amazing fortress and to take them on a camel ride. I picked The Victoria because of its great reviews on Tripadvisor.
I made contact by phone and talked directly to Sushi. He organised everything very efficiently and confirmed by email. He sent a tuk tuk to pick us up when we arrived by car to the walls of the city.
It was low season and the hotel was quiet. Sushi the manager gave us free range to pick which ever room we liked. Very generous and thoughtful! We of course took number 2 with the romantic Juliet balcony and the stunning views. The room was beautiful and my wife was amazed at how creative they had been in modernising such an historical and limited space. Water pressure is low in the bathroom as mentioned, but this is a city issue and not just a hotel issue. But the shower was still very welcome upon our return from the desert!
Welcome drinks on the terrace set the scene. The staff throughout our visit went above and beyond, in all aspects, whether it was fixing the A/C at 3am, getting the laundry done, preparing snacks or advising on sights and services. They also left our bags/belongings in the room, without charging, when we were camel trekking.
Breakfast was simple, with little variation, but it was prepared fresh and to order and of course was eaten on the lovely terrace.
In conclusion, The Victoria is a wonderfully historical converted house situation in the turret wall. It is furnished to a high standard with great service. It is a 3 min walk along the alley to the main fort gate and the city sites.
Many thanks to Sushi and his team for a great stay in Jaisalmer!

Room Tip: Room 2 for sitting on the balcony, drinking a glass of wine and watching the sun set and the world p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berny2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 9 years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing