We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“victoria victoria”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2008

As Pankaj, the owner of Victoria says: "Everything is possible here". If not, almost everything one could desire, can be fulfilled. Sometimes you don't even need to say it, you just have to think about it and Pankaj will provide you what you had in mind. As well, desert safaris can be planned, flight tickets booked, car rent, city useful information given. One of the new amenities that Pankaj added to his little hotel: broadband internet. His warm hospitality will make you forget sometimes that you are still in India. Probably, this is the kind of hospitality everybody search and hardly a few find.
Rooms are simple but neat and have something really worth, at 45ºC: AC. Inside the fort it is quite difficult to find a hotel with AC rooms, most are outside. We spent many days in Victoria hotel, one of the reasons is because it is quite difficult to leave it! For those who try to find his home abroad, this could be a good place.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ThorDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 785 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2008

Located at the Jaisalmer fort, Hotel Victoria is a small hotel run by Mr Pankaj Purohit and his friendly team. I have booked my stay with them (3 nights in April 2008) via their internet site, and their response was immediate (not very common in India, based on my experience…). Once there, I got a big, clean room with air conditioning, attached bathroom and a tiny window overlooking the western part of the city. Given the size of the hotel, and owner’s dedication to his guests, you feel really at home there. Breakfasts are cooked to order, and you can have your meals either downstairs, in the kitchen, or upstairs,on a rooftop terrace overlooking the city (great sunset views!). You are free to use the frigobar, which I found very handy, especially given the outside temperatures (above 40 deg C!). However, the best asset of that hotel is it’s outstanding staff. Following Mr Purohit’s favourite saying “everything is possible”, they can arrange whatever you need: an autorickshaw ride to the station or a visit of an astrologer... Anyway, all I can say is that a stay with them is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChrisWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

I have stayed at Hotel Victoria twice now. Once in 2003 before they were discovered by Lonely Planet, and again in December 2006. I would never stay anywhere else in Jaisalmehr! Pankaj and his team are the most friendly down-to-earth hoteliers that I found during my entire 6 month stay in India! Not only are the boutique hotel rooms spotless and tastefully decorated, many with incredible views, both the environment and atmosphere that they have created is refreshingly homely. It is truly a wonderful place to stay if you are on a budget, and even if you aren't. There was nothing better than to spend hours wandering the fruit markets and streets on the outskirts of the fort admiring the havelis and knowing that at the end of the day you can rest your feet on the roof terrace, admire the superb views, watch the sun set, and chat with Pankaj and his staff while enjoying a hot glass of chai and a plate of momos! Would I go there again? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2003, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Victoria for three nights. After reading the reviews here, I made my booking by calling them on the numbers given in their website. It's a wonderful place to stay in. Right along the Fort Boundary. Great Views and a a lovely terrace to hang out on and enjoy the view. Rooms are good size, Bathrooms are clean and well serviced. The staff is extremely helpful. And anything you need is made available even if they have to out of their way to help. The owner who's always there is very friendly and helpful. There is so much history (600 years +) inside the fort and in this hotel that staying anywhere else will not be a true Jaisalmer experience. I recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chetan_walia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

My family and I stayed at Hotel Victoria for 4 nights in March. The booking was made by a travel agent in Delhi and we werent really srue what to expect. What a fortunate place for us to have ended up. Right along the city wall, it has great views out of all the rooms. The rooms are simple but neat and clean. The staff is incredibly friendly and very helpful. And breakfast up on the rooftop is a fantastic way to begin the day. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckInNigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed here with my son for a couple of nights and it was the perfect place to stay in Jaisalmer. Nothing is too much trouble for Pankaj, he really goes out of his way to make your stay memorable. It is very atmospheric, tasteful and very clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank bessieoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My wife and I travelled to India and only had 2 quick days in Jaisalmer.... let me tell you that this hotel is the perfect place. It is located in the Fort itself providing incredible sunset views on the city. It is walking distance to all the shops. It also has a rooftop deck from which the views of the city and the sunset are breathtaking. It is a small hotel with I believe less than 9 rooms.... therefore the service was incredible. The owner/manager - Pankaj was very kind and would go to any lengths to get whatever you needed.

2 reccommendations while at the hotel :
1. Try to get the honeymoon suite with a balcony, the extra money (which is not much secondary to the exchange rate) is incredible. You will not want to leave your room! The balcony is a sitting area lined with cushions that you can sit on (comfortable to fit 4) that projects out over the fort about 100 feet in the air - incredible views!
2. The food made there in the hotel is incredible. We ordered breakfast / lunch / dinner from there. Sometimes we ordered it to the room to eat on the balcony, sometimes up on the rooftop deck. It is truly an experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#5 of 106 in Jaisalmer
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 106 in Jaisalmer
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $24 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 18years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing