We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay !”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Victoria : the crew was kind, helpful and respectful. The room was nice, clean and quiet ; and we spent good time on the roof top. The location is really nice inside the fort, and they can cook you really good snack food ( we recommend the banana pancake !!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blandine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 809 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Set right into a tower in the castle walls this boutique hotel aims to please (they even ask you for a suggestion to improve when you leave) you get the strong feeling that both the owner and his onsite manager love this place. We made sure to book one of the rooms with the best view-although we think it wasn't the precise one we had booked!!
Tiny rooftop restaurant served excellent food to accompany the superb view - you feel like the king of the castle. Neighbours fly kites with their children from neighbouring rooftops.
We loved our turret room with it's funny little bathroom which was a bit clumsy in design but always had hot water.
We planned our trip to take in the Desert festival in early February which was enormous fun from turban-tying competitions (categories for foreigners too!) to the magnificent camel tattoo (some folks missed this because they did'nt understand the word "tattoo" - it is a military tattoo - traditionally-dressed soldiers on fabulously decorated camels parading to music) we left before the camel race on the 3rd day.
Jaisalmer and the desert festival will remain in our fondest memories - as will this little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuppence49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria_69Jaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

We really like to thank you for your honest feedback and would continue to deliver at our best level. You are most welcome to stay at our property again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We read the Reviews from tripadvisor and werd Not disappointed. This is the best Hotel we stayed during our Trip in india. The manager and his Crew are lovely, they give this Place a Special Touch.
The rooms are fabulous, especially the Honeymoon Suite no. 7 with the balcony. Very clean, quality furniture, Airconditioning and very good Matrace. Food was excellent, lovely prepared and priceless view from the rooftop or the balcony.
This is the Place to be in jaisalmer, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airstalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

It's a fascinating small hotel located on the fort wall of Jaisalmer with fantastic view from some rooms (2 and 7). All bedrooms have an old style fournishment and they are attractive, but the bathrooms are terrible, narrow and uncomfortable. There is no kitchen, and you can eat on the roof (really good view) with food provided from outside.
We have asked the manager to arrange a dinner safari and we had a really good dinner in a Sand Dune in a not crouded location.
To sum up: good trade-off value for money, but I do not suggest with children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuliano2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

There are hotels and then there are 'hotels' like Victoria. We were in Jaisalmer in January 2012 and stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Probably the 3 best days we could ever imagine. We badly needed a break from the daily routine of city life and thankfully we chose this place. This hotel has taken the idiom 'atihtidevobhava' (treat your guests as gods) to their heart and live by it. Inexpensive, top quality facilities and best of all a support staff that goes out of the way to make you comfortable in every way including serving great breakfasts and elaborate dinner meals all included in one great price. The owner Pankaj Purohit was very amiable and helpful. Unlike most hotels they give honest advise and make sure your time in Jasalmer is well spent. Pankaj is a great guy and I personally liked him a lot and wish him the best for the new facility he is building on the outskirts of the city. The hotel being within the fort itself makes it even more precious. Offers majestic views of the city in all it glory. I would wake up early every morning and rush to the roof to catch the rising sun. It is an experience in itself. Friends you can not go wrong with this place - I have traveled across many places in India and abroad and stayed in top quality hotels but this place is very very special in its own right. Three cheers for Pankaj and the great work he is doing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arjun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just returned from Jaisalmer last night after a nights stay at hotel Victoria. I had booked this property based on fellow travellers reviews. No regrets at all with the decision. My daughter and myself just enjoyed every minute we spend at this homely property. It is a renovated ancient Haveli within the fort. Very tastefully decorated with local art and culture. The room was just perfect for us. We stayed in room 1, which had a great view. The man who just made our trip even so much memorable was Susheel. He ensured we had a perfect home stay experience. The hot Masala chai, the traditional Veg thali for dinner and a hot Indian breakfast at the rooftop is highly recommended.
I have stayed in many a hotels but this was the only place where Susheel walked up to us during our departure and handed over a pack of Sandwich for our onward train journey to Jodhpur. For me that is hospitality. I bet you don't get that in the best of hotels in today's world " personal touch". I have decided if Jaisalmer it's only hotel Victoria.

Room Tip: Do ask for the top floor rooms. Room no 1 was what I had opted, and no regrets. Great view. Do ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I had one our best experiences in India at Hotel Victoria. Sushil was the perfect host. He was gracious and so kind and made our stay there very memorable. We were surprised and pleased because it was just the best find.... we had been booked at a near by hotel that was overbooked when we showed up! The meals were delicious (included in the room fare) and the roof top dining superb. Our room was lovely. We strongly recommend Hotel Victoria, you will be just as delighted as we were!! Enjoy! Dawn and Nat Hawaii USA

Room Tip: We stayed in the delux room that has a balcony alcove- romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkduff62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#3 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#14 of 113 in Jaisalmer
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 113 in Jaisalmer
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#4 of 113 in Jaisalmer
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#1 of 113 in Jaisalmer
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 113 in Jaisalmer
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $34 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 18years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing