We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a swing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nachana Haveli
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a swing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved the ambience of the place; the swings, the courtyard, the flowers, the exposed sandstone. The food wasn't anything to write home about, but the rooftop patio was nice. The room was clean and kingly and they were good about storing our bags while we were away on a desert safari. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
44
101
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My story with nachana haveli didn't start well. The pickup at the train station wasn't there (ok, I probably gave too late my train number). The last reviews I've read on trip advisor were true...
But after talking to the receptionist, he offered me the way back to the train station. It's just the good reply I was waiting for. And I have to say after 2 nights there, they really take care of their customers.

The place is beautiful and the room very nicely decorated. The bed are very comfortable with nice blanket (the room is little bit cold). The main downside is probable the bathroom: quite old and not very functional.

The restaurant, Saffron, is pretty ok, the food is good and the view is great. A very good place to relax.

One last thing : prefer the second courtyard, it will be quieter than the first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathiasabel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
504 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is situated within the city walls and is really more than just a bed and breakfast. It is an authentic heritage place with amazing vaulted stone bedrooms each decorated with great taste.
Very nice staff, eager to make the stay memorable.
This is walking distance from the fort.
The roof terrace Saffron restaurant should not be missed. A real treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. It's a hidden oasis smack dab in the bustling center of Jaisalmer within a short walk of the ancient but still occupied Fort. Our room was small and dark and absolutely charming with a canopied bed, painted walls and layers and layers of history. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming and the rooftop restaurant has lovely views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisontinsley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This haveli is beautifully restored and full of lovely old furniture. It's well located in Jaisalmer, convenient for browsing around the town. The staff are really helpful. You can dine up on the roof (which is also where breakfast is served) and you get a good view. I'd happily return to this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose+Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed without being too flashy, the Nachana Haveli hotel in Jaisalmer provides a quiet sanctuary to a hectic and mercenary town. Situated a few feet from the base of the old Fort, Nachan Haveli shields guests from rabid mercantilism I found inside the fort walls. The food was quite lacking -- bland and a bit heavy. Dinner disappointed, and breakfast was too scant. Ultimately though, I remember this hotel fondly and the staff was more than gracious and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The grand entrance to the Nachana Haveli is a sandstone archway, leading to a fountain and series of courtyards, where my ornate room was situated. My first impression was that the room, with its royal portraits, canopied bed and tiled walls, was fit for a king. More than once during my stay, the hotel evoked the splendid history of Rajasthan and its royal family. One evening, a stunning white horse suddenly trotted into the courtyard, ridden by Prince Kesari, the owner of the hotel, and then disappeared again. I wondered if I was dreaming! At the rooftop Saffron Restaurant, I had a delicious lamb dinner, as folk songs were sung by local musicians. The staff is welcoming and very helpful. Like many hotel rooms in India, it was chilly at night (in January), so be prepared. But overall I have fond memories of my stay at the Nachana Haveli, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Killa Bhawan
Hotel Killa Bhawan
#16 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#6 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden House
The Golden House
#24 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nachana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nachana Haveli

Property: Hotel Nachana Haveli
Address: Goverdhan Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nachana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medieval haveli, an architectural marvel with very high arched and semi arched stone ceilings and beautiful courtyards filled with old heritage antique furniture and memorabilia from the royal family still residing in a part of the haveli. We provide all the modern comforts along with the old world charm inside the rooms and is situated 5mns from the fort and adjoining the palace and the main market. We welcome all our guests to come enjoy the hospitality and the wonderful cuisine at the rooftop restaurant and take home an experience just not a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nachana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing