We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stay in hotel Mandir Palace (Heritage hotel) in the month of Nov 2010, this palace was built by King of Jaisalmer for himself, now half portion of this palace is converted in hotel, very beautiful palace, staffs are very cooperative specially the manager of this hotel. If really want to live in original palace in Jaisalmer then this is the right place, you will find lot of 5star hotels in Jaisalmer but they all are far from the city and then you will not able to enjoy the evening of golden city and its golden palace.

Food served in hotel was not good so we tried delicious & authenticate Rajasthani foods in local restaurants but I must mention that you will find very less options in non-vegetarian.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani-Guhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    96
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
101
127
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Mandir Palace was in lot of way a let down. The location is a positive as well as negative. Right in the heart of the city with the famed havelis a walking distance away. On the other hand its like staying in center of a town with the mandir's for your company and the kings horses making the entry to the hotel rather messy and confusing.

The food is yummy but the staff lacks professional etiquettes though are nice set of village boys ready to help.

The rooms are very basic, a bit dusty and not up to my expectation of a Welcomheritage property. This property to summarise will be on the lower end of Welcomheritage properties in terms of management and maintenance. The property by itself is as beautiful as the famed havelis. In summary, donot go with a high expectation, you may get dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhubonpothik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at Mandir Palace in Jaisalmer for 2 nights. It has a really unique location, and beautiful palace. Lots to offer. However, the service was the worst of all the places we stayed in our Rajasthan Trip. I was not aware that we had to call ahead to get a room in the old part of the palace, so the room in the new part was a complete let down. It was definitely spacious and clean with air-conditioning and everything else functional. But the quality of the fixtures was more of a 3-star kind. It looked empty so we requested to get a shift to the old part but the receptionist/supervisor said they were all booked when in fact there was hardly some 6-7 rooms occupied. Perhaps they wanted to leave them open for the foreigner walk-ins. The food was expensive and not good. Service was poor/slow. There was no breakfast spread in the morning and we were told to order anything and they would serve. We opted to go out for lunch and dinner after one lunch & breakfast experience on the first day. The roof top restaurant was closed and we got a nice view from the roof top restaurant of the Nachana Havelli next door along with good dinner and service. On the morning we were to leave early, we asked for packed breakfast. We wanted the paratha's only as its easier to eat in the car but they refused to give us 7, and confirmed for only 4 & some other stuff like fruits etc in the night. In the early morning, they further reduced it to 3 with some answer like it will cost them more. They also didn't give enough fruits until we put our foot down that we had already paid for a full breakfast. The attitude of the staff is very bad. We felt the management of the hotel is not committed to creating a welcoming atmosphere for customers even though it is off season. We would not recommend this hotel unless you are desperate. If you do, then just sign up for the room, don't pay for any other meals in advance. Pay as you go after you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We started our Rajasthan trip in Jaisalmer and luckily we had booked 3 nights at the Mandir Palace Hotel (Golden Suite).
Our room was really spacious & beautiful, although the bathroom seemed a little outdated (but very clean).
Food was excellent, especially when served on the romantic & magnificent rooftop-terrace, which is really huge and with a beautiful mosaic floor ....
One negative point was that it was very hot in Jaisalmer and we could not use the pool. The water looked quite dirty (a kind of slurry film on the water). To our opinion there were not enough guests, so they didn't clean it every day... What a pity (but we asked the management to do something about it).
Hotel staff was very friendly and really helpful.
Location was excellent !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laureyssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Mandir Palace hotel is set in its own courtyard and is part hotel and part palace, which is still occupied by the "king" It is set just outside the fort and within easy walking distance of the main attractions in Jasailmer.
The room was clean with good ensuite facilities but it is the building and setting which are exceptional.
Being out of season we were the only guest and the staff were friendly at all times. Small swimming pool was great in the evenings and early morning, too hot in the day!
Dinner on the terrace with the fort at sunset is a treasured memory.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Untergruppenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

I have visited some of the upper class hotels in Jaisalmer, but Mandir Palace Hotel has in my opinion the best value. Why?

# The hotel is a former palace, built in original Rajasthan style. Therefore you will find a very pleasant and special atmosphere.
# The rooms are big and nice designed with a lot of love for details.
# The price? You get more than you pay.
# Extremely polite, fair and helpful was the manager, Mr. Shivendra Singh.
# Perfect central location. Close to the shops and the restaurants with a perfect view to the fort complex.

Under the line: 100% to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in Mandir palce in dec,09 with a large group of friends.
All the rooms had a quite distinctive royal interiors, which moved us
to a bygone glorious era.The staff was very pleasant and outgoing.
Mr.Rathore insured high level of service & comfort for our friends.
Food was delicious. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exqusitetrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#23 of 104 in Jaisalmer
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 104 in Jaisalmer
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
Address: Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#15 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two centuries old palace converted into a hotel, WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace offers a concoction of medieval charm with the modern amenities. The main portion of the two centuries old Palace was built during the reign of the late Maharawal Jawahir Singh. This palace is testimony to the history of Jaisalmer with different portions of the palace being built by different rulers of Jaisalmer till as late as the beginning of the twentieth century. ‘Badal Vilas’, a unique tower like structure at Mandir Palace is the tallest structure in town below the hill-top city fort, reminding us of the incredible historical relevance attached to both the palace as well as the city of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandir Palace Jaisalmer
Mandir Palace Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing