We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly helpful - nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly helpful - nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Fabulous little guest house - lovely clean rooms all with amazing views. The owners could not to enough to help - they even gave us a lift down to the main town on the back of their motorbike! Helped us organise cars, trains and desert safaris - all with no fuss. Great breakfasts on the their terrace. My only suggestion is that the bathrooms could be a little more luxurious though...

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor. All views amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Namaste Katie,
Thank you so much for your review. We do our best to take care of our guest and provide them everything they need.
We have noted your point toward Luxurious bathroom.
If we built a Luxurious bathroom then it will pour out more wastage of water as being in Desert,
we try our best to save water so we can control the uses and wastage.
We have transform our place in such a way so every fellow traveler perceive to stay in boutique Hotel not in a luxurious Hotel.
Wish to serve you better in future.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    87
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
255
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koeln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The service was great, room and the terrace was wonderful with a amazing vieuw, the owners are extremely friendly and helpfull, they organized us traintickets 2 weeks before, what's really difficult to do from Germany, and when I got ill from food the owner cooked us a special meal, thank you, it was really great to stay by you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Namaste Gudrun,
Thanks for stating our place as Best in India,

We serve every guest with honor and try to make their stay comfortable with no issues.

grant us to serve you in future.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed from 26/4 to 29/4 in the Green Room. We arrived by train from Jodhpur, staff
waited outside the station to greet us and to our surprise our 'car' is a Tuk Tuk for us and another Tuk Tuk for the luggages, it makes sense because once entering the Jaisalmer Fort, Tuk Tuk can go to every corner inside the Fort.

Garh Jaisal is at the end of a cul de sac, our room is on the ground floor, the view from our room is amazing, we can see the city outside the Fort. The room has AC and fan and western toilet and a shower.

Lots of storage areas. Bed is comfortable. Wifi reception is unreliable and always have to sit outside to get the reception. Met the owner and been invited to the roof top for a dinner. He doesn't come and we have a very nice dinner. Breakfast is basic, mostly paratha and tea. Bottled water is supplied and can ask for more with no extra charges. Went desert camel ride by arranging with the hotel. The hotel also provides a very reliable driver and a nice Innova to take us to Bikaner.

One thing I want the hotel to improve is that there is no room cleaning at all during the whole stay and staff is on the relaxing side most of the time, I guess may have to blame the heat for that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for value added review. We really appreciate your feedback.

I would like to advice all the TripAdvisor reader's and viewer about our property management has been changed from 1st August 2014.

We have upgrade all the rooms and kept the same authentic structure and themes of room.

New Management system provide all the facilities and housekeeping on request every next day morning. We had provided Free wi-fi in every room with stable signal.

We provide free pickup from Station and transportation used is always TukTuk. We want to every tourist to realize that they are staying in a old building in the fort with no modernity like TV and Telephone.
Hope you give us a chance again to make your new visit comfortable.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Garh Jaisal and thoroughly recommend it.

The location within the fort is superb (down a peaceful alley away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist drag) and it is particularly good for sunrise, given its east-facing direction.

The owners are extremely friendly and go to great lengths to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We were even treated to a free dinner of excellent local fare on our first night (there is no full-time restaurant attached to the hotel). Other than that the huge breakfast is good and varied and sets you up nicely for a day exploring the fort and its surrounds.

The rooms are colourful and comfortable, the majority with window seats from which to admire the view. The en-suite bathrooms are more 3* than 5* but serve a purpose. The most redeeming feature is the roof terrace with excellent panoramic views. A great place from which to enjoy breakfast or a drink in the evening.

It is lucky enough to have one of the best positions in the fort and with a little investment (rooftop furniture, bathrooms etc - even perhaps a small restaurant) could see it move from a lovely unique hotel to a superb boutique hotel without peer. A lack of veritable competition likely holds it back from making the leap.

In all, we were delighted to have had the luck to stay at such a charming little place, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From beginning to end our experience at the Garh Jaisal was awesome and memorable. Each member of staff sankar and Anit, will encounter with a smile, a hello and make you feel welcome and appreciated. The room was beautiful and very comfy. We really didn't want to leave this place.
Whenever in Jaisalmer, this is the ONLY hotel we will stay with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

2 nights here in a 750 year old room on top of the hill in the fort. Simple
and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff. Rooftop terrace is lovely in the evening. Recommend staying here rather than in the town as it is cooler and quieter. Don't expect fine dining but food OK. Downside no coffee at breakfast, just instant. Thought we had lost a ring but staff had found it and put it in one of our bags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmbhpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time and a generous feedback about our property.
We serve Nescafe as other coffees are hard to find in a small place like Jaisalmer.
Newly open Cafes in Town serve Espresso.
In your future visit, you will surely find a coffee at our place.
Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel Garh Jaisal is an outstanding hotel for anyone traveling to the Rajasthan. It is in a great location and the staff is awesome. The lobby and Terrace area has just about anything you could ever want and the location makes it easy to get anywhere in Jaisalmer. The staff at this Garh Jaisal is as good as anywhere I have stayed. Rooms are clean and well designed with real feeling of sand stone. We loved our room balcony as it was perfect to spend time. Breakfast was delicious. Very much enjoyed at this place. Crew were all awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank happy_ending034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are so happy to read that you had such a great time here at the GJ and we hope Jaisalmer as well! I will pass along all your kind words to staff ! They are truly great assets to the team and I am happy they made such a wonderful impact on your stay!. We can't wait to see you here in Jaisalmer again !

Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 107 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
8.4 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 107 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#4 of 107 in Jaisalmer
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 107 in Jaisalmer
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli

Property: Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Address: On Fort Kotari Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#8 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven years in the making, Jaisalmer Fort’s newest abode is your home in the desert! Each of our seven rooms is built with the most thoughtful of appointments and comfort. Contemplate your moment in time overlooking this medieval city, sipping spiced chai from your window seat. All rooms feature a king size bed with quality linens, private bathroom with hot water shower, beautiful rich wood furniture and comfortable seat pillows to enjoy the view below your palatial retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garh Jaisal Haveli Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing