We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

2 nights here in a 750 year old room on top of the hill in the fort. Simple
and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff. Rooftop terrace is lovely in the evening. Recommend staying here rather than in the town as it is cooler and quieter. Don't expect fine dining but food OK. Downside no coffee at breakfast, just instant. Thought we had lost a ring but staff had found it and put it in one of our bags.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmbhpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking your valuable time and a generous feedback about our property.
We serve Nescafe as other coffees are hard to find in a small place like Jaisalmer.
Newly open Cafes in Town serve Espresso.
In your future visit, you will surely find a coffee at our place.
Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel Garh Jaisal is an outstanding hotel for anyone traveling to the Rajasthan. It is in a great location and the staff is awesome. The lobby and Terrace area has just about anything you could ever want and the location makes it easy to get anywhere in Jaisalmer. The staff at this Garh Jaisal is as good as anywhere I have stayed. Rooms are clean and well designed with real feeling of sand stone. We loved our room balcony as it was perfect to spend time. Breakfast was delicious. Very much enjoyed at this place. Crew were all awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank happy_ending034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are so happy to read that you had such a great time here at the GJ and we hope Jaisalmer as well! I will pass along all your kind words to staff ! They are truly great assets to the team and I am happy they made such a wonderful impact on your stay!. We can't wait to see you here in Jaisalmer again !

Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Garh Jaisal in August this year. It's a very small place with lots of character set right in the walls of the ancient fort. We had fabulous views over the old town which we could see either from the balcony/window seat in the room or from the rooftop restaurant. In the mornings the air around the fort is full of birds, in the afternoons it is thick with brightly coloured dragonflies and in the evening you can watch giant bats arriving back to roost for the night. Tarun and his team made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. On our last evening they cooked us a complimentary fantastic meal consisting of lots of wonderful dishes and when we left they gave us a little gift of a small pottery Ganesh which is now on the wall at home over the front door!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Strawberryblueolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are so happy that you to choose our hotel out of all of the hotels in Jaisalmer ! We take great pride in our customer service. We are glad you get to enjoy the amenities around the hotel, such as the terrace and balcony! It's great to be able to treat it like your home away from home! We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit back to India!
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We traveled from Mumbai to Jaisalmer in Aug 2013. We had booked our stay in Garh Jaisal with mixed thoughts ,but the moment we stepped in and were greeted with such warmth we were sure we booked at the right place. A cozy neat place to stay , very hospitable staff, clean rooms , homely and delicious food ..strategically located with some great views and very close to main attractions.
The hotel has maintained the old look and charm which holds it's character . Each room has been thoughtfully decorated .We almost felt at home during our stay. It was indeed a very comfortable and satisfactory stay. A big Thanks to Tarun for assuring a great stay.!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelsnTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are so happy that you had a great stay here with us at GJ. We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible! Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved this place and will go back. hotel was clean and comfortable, received warm welcome from staff. really loved the breakfast. We were close to lots of places in the city and station was mile away from hotel. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, we enjoyed our stay and had fun.
would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelpoint12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Garh Jaisal.
Thank you for sharing this and we hope to see you again very soon!
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Garh Jaisal!! The Haveli's location inside the old fort is close to the main gate and very appealing, so is its interiour style... very light, clean and lots of attention to detail. Very well managed and run. We were staying at the Opium Room which is furnished with traditional items, a large kingsize bed, lots of cushions and colorful mirror mosaics on the walls (quite similar to the other rooms we saw in this Haveli, but we especially liked the color theme of this room; see pictures attached) - you really feel like a Maharaja straight out of Thousands Night and a Night :-) We liked especially to sit on the window sill enjoying the incredible view from our room. I believe the rooftop terrace features one of the best views over Jaisalmer you could possibly have (great to have breakfast/lunch/dinner there!). The hotel doesn't seem to have an own restaurant, but caters excellent food from a restaurant closeby without any additional charges. At checkout we found out that water, coffee and tea was even included in the room charge. After all we felt incredibly comfortable and I want to say a big thank you to Tarun, who provided to us with (by far!) the most personal, most excellent hospitality and service we experienced during our 3,5 weeks of travelling throughout Rajasthan and Kashmir (staying in boutique guesthouses or upper class hotels). At some point I wondered whether we were wrongly assumed to be some travel book writers testing hotels ;-) Upon our request Tarun also organized a very nice private overnight camel safari for us - sleeping on the dunes, under the stars, no other tourists around. As romantic as it can get :-) Thank you again Tarun and also many thanks to your staff and hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: We loved the color theme and interior of the Opium room. There's no outside balcony in this room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bkirchmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It's wonderful to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our proximity to room, City view and Camel Safari. We were honored to be a part of your trip, and are very pleased that you enjoyed the Safari, our decor, our breakfasts, and, of course, our City view and Hotel room! We look forward to your next visit to our Garh Jaisal hotel.
Have a wonderful Life !!
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days in August'13.
It was a bit pricey by our standards but what we loved about this hotel is the view of the city and look and feel of the hotel.
I preferred to stay in the "Opium Room" while making the reservation but instead we were upgraded to Purple Room which had a different feel.
We would have preferred to be informed earlier about the change.
The room was "richly" decorated in traditional Rajasthani Style and we truly felt like "Royals".
We went there during off peak and were the only ones staying in the hotel! So we felt all the more majestic!
Boys in the hotel were very helpful in every sense and made sure we got comfortable in the hotel.
Tarun, Manager of this hotel was very accommodating and even helped us plan our local sight seeing. Before you are booking tours with the hotel, make sure you enquire on the best deals around and pay for what you get!
Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and would recommend this hotel to anybody who would want to live like a "KING"!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sumana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garhjaisalhaveli, General Manager at Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Mam,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and a generous feedback about our property. If you had mention Opium room in mail, we would have shown you,
Our staff is happy to serve and help you in all your need to make your stay comfortable.
Wish to serve you better in future.
Best Regards
Hotel Garh Jaisal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
779 reviews
8.4 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli

Address: On Fort Kotari Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#7 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven years in the making, Jaisalmer Fort’s newest abode is your home in the desert! Each of our seven rooms is built with the most thoughtful of appointments and comfort. Contemplate your moment in time overlooking this medieval city, sipping spiced chai from your window seat. All rooms feature a king size bed with quality linens, private bathroom with hot water shower, beautiful rich wood furniture and comfortable seat pillows to enjoy the view below your palatial retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garh Jaisal Haveli Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing