We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and service”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and service”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel provides an excellent, genuine service. The hotel is kept clean and has comfortable rooms each with a unique charm. The camel safari the hotel organises is a great experience. The hotel also provides complimentary airport pick up, drop off and drop off to the fort- so location is not an issue. The out door restaurant has a great view of the fort and the food is absolutely delicious! A fantastic hotel and a great service, we had an excellent stay here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyNat1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    205
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
440
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Excellent service and lovely well decorated rooms. From the greeting in the small reception though breakfast or dinner service, or any required help, the people here were excellent. Reception on the ground floor is small because this is not the public area it would normally be in a large hotel. Their public area for lounging with a coffee or drink is on the rooftop, and this is a very relaxing area with an excellent view of the fort, both by day and night. For value for money this place cannot be beaten. The rooms were spotlessly clean with fresh bedclothes and towels. Breakfast cooked to order, not particularly large but well cooked and filling. The only downside is that it is about 2 kilometres from the town centre and fort. Only a very cheap short taxi ride but a necessary journey if you wanted to be near the fort at night or in town for a choice of restaurants and walking in this town is perfectly safe and hassle free with plenty of shopping and interesting sights and sounds. The manager/owner would ask how your day had been, anything they could do to help, anything they could get you and never in the sort of pushy selling way you get at some hotels. It was genuine concern that you were enjoying your stay. So called 5* hotels could learn from the simple hospitality displayed here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Hotel Fifu is a small hotel, run by two brothers, Fifu(Om) and Jeetu.

The rooms are excellent (I'd suggest one does their research well in terms of size of the various rooms), the staff courteous and friendly, the view from the restaurant is magnificient and most importantly the two brothers take service commitments to a completely new level! Athithi Devo Bhava (The Guest is God) is truly reflected in the way they take care of every little need of their guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Fifu is simply best place to stay in Jaisalmer as it has very good rooms. Roof top restaurant with amazing view of fort. Staff is extremely friendly. You wont regret staying in Fifu. Looking for some more trips to Jaisalmer with FIFU.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veraciousvikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I am quite late for this review but it had to be done. Just had to reiterate how great this place is.

We found the name of the hotel odd but we anyways decided to go for it, and boy did we love it!!! We were on a road trip and Jaisalmer was one of the stops. Obviously we had read up the reviews of the hotel on tripadvisor and were looking forward to it.

So first, the good news; location of the hotel is a great plus point. It is just 5 minutes away and you could get a free drop off to the fort.

It is tastefully furnished. Rooms are adorned with locally made handicrafts, like typical rajasthani wall hangings, beautifully embroidered bed covers with mirror work and curtains. Bed linen was very clean and the bathroom though small was also clean. The owner will even let you know where he gets his bedcovers and furniture from. And that shop is a must visit.

They have a beautiful roof top restaurant and a smaller terrace above that too. The view of the Jaisalmer fort is breathtaking both early in the morning and in the night. The terrace gets good sun rays and seating on the roof is spacious. I and my family had long lazy breakfasts on the roof terrace, with boiled eggs, omelet, extremely delicious bread and innumerable cups of tea.

The owner, Mr. Om Prakash Kewaliya is a friendly man and will do his best to make your stay really comfortable. He is also known as Fifu amongst his loved ones, hence the name of the hotel. I was traveling with my in-laws who both are above 60 and it was sweet of him to give us room on the ground floor. He is usually found on the terrace chatting up with guests and helping them with their itineraries. I remember him passing us blankets on the roof top when we were having dinner.

Now not so good news; the hotel does not have a lift. The roof top restaurant is on the 4th floor and the stairs are not that flat. So just remember this when you book with Fifu. They can easily accommodate you on the ground floor and ensure you are always with your children. There is no room service; however they were sweet to bring tea for my in-laws early morning. The best thing, Mr. Kewaliya can do now is to get a great menu for the roof top restaurant. I can understand since they are catering more to the foreigners, they can’t have spicy food, but in spite of that food was just average. Breakfast is very sumptuous but I can’t say the same for the other meals. Since all guests like to spend time on the terrace, he should definitely give a serious thought to the chef’s capabilities.

Overall it’s a place I would want to go again. The owner and staff will definitely make you feel at home. And end of the day that’s what you want

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinitathapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Superb rooms - we stayed at the two Suite rooms that they have, these suites are just too good, I have not seen such interiors even in a lot of 5 star hotels. Very good client service, the two brothers who run Fifu just know how to take care of the guests. The dining room (which is on the terrace) has such a view that one would just want to spend time there. The food quality is very decent too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infinitynbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Hotel Fifu is in a great location down a side street outside the fort of Jaisalmer but with unbeatable views of the fort. The roof-top restaurant is the very best place to while away an afternoon or evening watching the sun go down and the fort change colour. The rooms are simply furnished and clean. Bathrooms are adequate - the usual problem of the shower flooding the room. Food is also simple (vegetarian) and breakfasts especially so but the whole place is excellent value for money. Service seemed a little hit-and-miss - you could never be certain that what you asked for would arrive or when - but the owner and his sons were welcoming and cheerful. Altogether a place to consider if visiting Jaisalmer and looking for a simple, quiet retreat from the hassle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing