We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Do It”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Get on that train or in that car and find your way to this special little hotel in this special town.
As a group if four ladies we could not fault the wonderful hospitality shown to us by the proprietor and staff at this delightful establishment.
At all times we felt that our needs and welfare were of utmost importance and nothing was too much trouble so a great big thumbs up to Hotel Fifu for doing a wonderful job of making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallpoppiesAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you to everyone in your group, for visiting our city Jaisalmer, for choosing our Hotel Fifu for your stay.

Although we have to provide you the best services but I would personally like to tell you that you everyone were so kind and friendly with us.

Being the female travellers, you show a great confidence in our work and services, thank you very much.

Thank you very much for your big thumb for us, we are really feel inspired. We wish you everyone in the group all the best and hopefully, we will get chance to serve you again in our small Hotel Fifu.

All the best to you,

With kind regards,

Om Prakash kewaliya(Fifu)
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a couple who stayed there for two nights and then again when we returned to the town after camping near the desert. My overall experience was nice and I sincerely appreciate the effort that is put in by the manager Om.
The golden city of Jaisalmer has lot of character and culture.It is also remotely located, far from facilities and commodities that we take so often for granted. Beyond the hotel boundaries, the life is very difficult. Water is scarce and it would be difficult to find the familiar brands of mineral water or biscuits.Once you notice how the supply chain is almost non-existent and how locals almost entirely depend on what they get from land, you learn to appreciate what hotels here offer.
What you should know about the hotel?
• The hotel is close to the fort. You get a lovely view of the fort from the rooms and the restaurant
• You can walk up to the fort, only if your lifestyle includes regular walking or other exercises. Else, the distance could be intimidating. The walk is pleasant and gives the closes true experience you could have to walking in a sleepy, little town.
• The rooms and wash-rooms are small
What I loved?
• The place is immaculate. What it lacks in size is beautifully compensated by the lovely traditional Rajasthani decor and the beautiful splash of color. I suppose, every room has a color theme which is beautifully incorporated without ruining the warmth and calmness that the rooms offer. The bed is comfortable and the seating near the window adds the romance to the room.
• The washrooms are clean, surprisingly clean going by its size. Ours had stone washbasins and necessary toiletries.
• The roof-top restaurant offers one of the best views in town. It has been decorated beautifully. The restaurant has a tiny library with few books and magazines. The place is inviting. It beckons you to grab a book, order some coffee and spend hours there.

What was not so nice?
• I so wish they offered better food. The variety of food in the menu as well as the quality and taste of what they served left me cold. The breakfast was a disappointment, and so was the lunch and dinner. The cook could barely get anything right! The tea tasted different at different hours. I didn’t care to ask for coffee.
• I wouldn’t say the staff is bad. I just felt they were under-trained. At the restaurant, they were always more interested in watching TV. They would occupy one of the seating and lie on the couch or just perch there with their eyes looking for some entertainment on the road below. They looked bored. Smiles were rare. They looked untidy. However, whenever, I placed a request they never failed me. They may lack the finesse and mannerism but are polite and eager to serve.

When we were checking out, Omji invited us back to the hotel to rest and change before boarding the train, if we so like, free of charge. I truly appreciate that. We did go to Fifu and stayed there for few hours, but off course we paid for our stay, after much insistence.

The hotel is not perfect. But, the staff does put in sincere efforts. For the price, it offers an amazing stay. The place has a character. It allows you to be part of travelers and mythical stories. A great value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get the room of the second floor that offers a view of the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colorfulbohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sir,

Namaste. We found that you love your stay with us at our small Hotel, you appreciate our sincere efforts to make your stay comfortable. Even many adverse points mentioned by you but finally you also get at this point that you get the good experience at our Hotel and also we get the best appreciation from you. Thank you very much Sir.


We have noted your some points and assure you to improve in positive way. Specially the food, we will be more concentrate to improve it according to the taste of our valuable guest from INDIA. Although we take care of cleaniness and hygiene with our food, we do not find a single tourist who became sick after eating at our restaurant.

It is our team spirit and we share your appreciation among our staff.

Thank you once more for your valuable feedbacks.

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Fifu has beautifully decorated, romantic rooms. The bathroom is modern and spotless although a bit compact. The rooftop has great views of the fort and being away from the town means no traffic noise at night. Jaisalmer is a tiny place so although you are "out of town" it is a 5minute auto rickshaw or 10min walk to the centre. Staff were helpful and polite. Food in the restaurant (especially the Indian) was lovely and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam, Namaste. Thank you for writing an excellent review for our hotel Fifu. As Jaisalmer City is growing, inside the city, we have narrow streets but it is always filled with cows, dogs and motor bikes. You could not find relax inside the city. You realize the quietness when you return to our Hotel Fifu.

Although our Hotel Fifu is not so far from the Jaisalmer Fort, it is hardly 10 minutes walk from Hotel to the entrance of the fort. It is only one kilometer from Jaisalmer Fort. It is true that Jaisalmer is a tiny place and here at our Hotel you feel like out of town. Not only you but also many of our guests count it as an advantage to Worth being out of the city.

You expression about our restaurant "Food in the restaurant (especially the Indian) was lovely and reasonably priced" it gives us support, I express your review to our kitchen staff. We assure you to maintain the same quality of meal and services in our restaurant.

We assure you to keep our Hotel spotless clean, good traditional decoration where you can have feelings and ambience of an old house of Jaisalmer. Apart from it, we are always at your service with smiling and attentive for our valuable guests around the world. So when you recommend our Hotel to anyone, we assure you that they will not disappoint and will surely thanks to you and bring nice memories from here.

Thank you once more for your feedback. Hope to see you again,

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First visit to Jaisalmer & was happy that the Hotel did not disappoint at all.
The location of the Hotel is its highlight & the room décor is very tasteful.The food was also good.
Its a no frills Hotel & you get what the other reviews mention.
Had a perfect experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhishekdubey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sir, Namaste. We understand that you choose our Hotel Fifu after reading rave reviews by travellers at Trip Advisor and you found it "Its a no frills Hotel & you get what the other reviews mention". Our Hotel Fifu did not disappoint you. Thank you very much Sir. Honestly it creates confidence in us. You like the food at our restaurant too, thank you Sir.

We assure you the same attention and services and will never disappoint any one. We will take your suggestion and advice sincerely, implement the same too.

Thank you once more, hope to see you again,

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

i came with moderate expectations and followed the trip advisor reviews (since i had no idea of jaisalmer) before booking this hotel. However during my stay of three days with my family and friends i really enjoyed the excellent hospitality provided by the hotel. The owner Mr Kewalia is a prertty strightforward person. He clearly tells you what you should expect and what not. He told the rooms were small but cosy. there is no lift however it didnt matter much to us. We didnt like the tea at first since it seem to have a salty taste due to the filter water i suppose. We requested them to make it with mienral after which the tea became excellent. Food in all was homely and no big hanky panky. the hotel staff is well mannered and very courteous. Parveen the roof top restaurant boy is very modest and very cooperative.
We also visited the Desert resort at Khuri, which was a beautiful experience. the arrangement were very homely, neat and the location is simply out of the world. the dunes are serene and undisturbed by crowd and very clean since the other resorts are little far off. I only suggested the hotel to arrange table fans in uture since it becomes little hot during the day. The night stay was extremely wonderful.
Overall package of three days was worth the money spend and my family and friends enjoyed it to the max.
thanks Fifu.... Mr OM in particular.

Room Tip: take room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praveer_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for an excellent review for our Hotel Fifu. Your sentence "the hotel staff is well mannered and very courteous. Parveen the roof top restaurant boy is very modest and very cooperative." has a high value for us. I have expressed the same to our staff and to Mr.Praveen. Thank you very much Sir.

You also enjoyed the Desert Safari organised by us. When you visit the mushrooms of tents everywhere in the part of Sam Sand Dunes and Khuri Sand dunes, it is nice that you find our camp just only camp in our part of the desert, it is quiet, clean and hardly 5 meters aways from Sand Dunes.

As we have a small hotel, we understand the expectation of our valuable guests, it is our duty to inform you that what we do not have, also we have mentioned clearly in the website that room size, and amenity we do not have. Thank you for taking it positively.

We take sincerely your points about salty Chai, I will personally take care of it and also surely put some fans in our desert camp.

Thank you once more for your valuable feed back for our Hotel Fifu, regards to your family and all the friends with you.

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

jaiselmer is a good small clean city, so was the hotel, small, nice, clean, helping staff. not very far from fort, and near to station. a quite place with not so good roads. transport like auto are always available to go anytime any where, staff arranged a good trip to sand dumes as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Amitkumar123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu. Thank you very much that you like our hotel and find our staff helpfull.

You also like our safari tours and satisfied with our services, thank you Sir.

We wish to see you again here, you are always welcome from heart. Thank you once more,

with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are looking for something outside the fort but very close, this one would be a good pick. The rooms are beautifully done with some great hospitality from Mr. Om and his staff. The food is average but they are very considerate towards your needs. They have their desert safari/desert stay too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thilak_Ramanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

Namaste.

We are happy to note that you appreciate the location of our Hotel Fifu. You did not find it too far. Although it is true too and we are trying to convince all of our guest that Jaisalmer is a small city and it looks far but it is worth being out of the city.

We try different from others, we know most hotels more and less are the same, we know that no one is perfect and mistake can happen but the important is the personal attention and warm hospitality. We respect you as you choose our hotel, at least we do not like to disappoint you with our hospitality from heart and keep honesty with our behaviour.

Thank you once more for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu,

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 114 in Jaisalmer
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#13 of 114 in Jaisalmer
961 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 114 in Jaisalmer
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 114 in Jaisalmer
496 reviews
0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#8 of 114 in Jaisalmer
414 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $34 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing