We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we have stayed three nice days in Fifu Hotel. They offered a personalized service from our arrival, informed us about the different options to do. They translated us to the fort or train station if their jeep is available.
The rooms are clean and they are very nice and comfortable.
On the top they have a terrace with excellent views to the fort where we have breakfast or dinner.
The vegetarian dishes are really goog and they adapt them to our taste (less spicy or eliminate an ingredient etc...).
The owner speak different languages including spanish.
We want to go to the dessert and you only pay for the activity done. If starts raining and some activities are not done you don´t pay for us. In our case it was impossible to do because they recommended to cancel the excursion by our safety.
If I come back to Jaissalmer, I would come back to Fifu Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Cristina,

Namaste. Saludos desde del desierto Thar. Thank you very much for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu.

As you mentioned about your safari programme, it is correct, we do not like to charge from our guest which is not genuine. If rains comes or if is uncomfortable by sand stroms in the desert, it is not your fault, we must understand it and in this case you pay for the part you enjoyed and on your request we bring you back to our hotel to accomodate you in a proper room.

Your smile and comfort is our business.

Muchas gracias por todos. Os deseo mucha suerte y ojala un dia nos vemos, siempre bien venidos en nuestros hoteles en Jaisalmer.

Un abrazo,

Fifu

Om Prakash kewaliya
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were there 2 days, and the service was very good and the room so clean and confortable. Fifu, the owner, was so friendly and dedicated and speak spanish. We recommend the hotel 100%. In a quiet area of Jaisalmer, is perfect to be relaxed and sleep well, rooms are nice and you can do the excursions to the desert with camels and sleep there. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hola Oscar,

Namaste y saludos desde Jaisalmer.

Thank you very much for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu.

It is true we love our place and completely dedicated to work to give best comfort and quieteness and privacy to our valuable guest. Also we take sincerely if we made mistakes or informed by our guest.

Os deseamos buena estancia en India, ojala un dia nos vemos, siempre bien venidos en mi hoteles de Jaisalmer.

Gracias por todos.

Un abrazo,

Fifu

Om Prakash kewaliya
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked this hotel immediately, after reading a few reviews on TripAdvisor and it truly lived up to the expectations. Good hospitality, cleaner and well decorated premises, assistance in dropping to nearby locations and pick up from station, excellent view of the fort from the restaurant -good food and its quite relaxing set up, wi-fi access, exquisite interiors in the rooms and benevolence of Mr. Fifu are some of the things I appreciate about this hotel. People who are used to living in five star set ups may not agree with me - but those with simpler tastes would definitely love Hotel Fifu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisbha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Krishna Sir,

Namaste. It gives us immense pleasure to note that reviews on Tripadvisor are honest, unbaised, so when you read and you got the clear picture of our Hotel and have decided to stay with us.

Thank you very much Sir for showing a great confidence on Tripadvisor and on our valuable guest who wrote excellent reviews for our Hotel Fifu.

We offer wi-fi internet free of charge, it is our services, thank you that you like our wi-fi set up. We also offer free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway or Bus station, and whenever our Jeep is free, we also offer you to drop wherever you like to go in the city. It is our complimentary services to our guests.


We assure you the same quality of comfort and services at our Hotel, we are also sure that guest who prefer to stay in 5 star properties, if they give us chance to serve, they will also appreciate in the same way.

Once more thank you Sir, we wish to see you again here.

With best regards,

Om Prakash kewaliya
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

According to us Fifu is hands down one of the best places to stay in Jaisalmer. The location is great, outside the fort, so that you dont spoil / damage the fort unknowingly by staying inside. I read somewhere that living inside the fort is going to have adverse affects on it in a long run. The view from their roof top restaurant is amazing.The Owner Fifu is very generous, he let us check in early morning at 6 AM. I was not well, so he let us stay way past our check out time too the next day. That just saved us a lot of trouble and suffering. Very nice and thoughtful staff. They won our hearts !

Room Tip: if you dont like climbing very high stair case, pick the room at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Respected Sir,

Namaste. Thank you very much for your kind words for our Hotel, your appreciate our services and our generosity. When you said our staff won your heart, we are really obliged with your this sentence.

We built our Hotel Fifu, in the year 1999, when in Jaisalmer city we did not have new technique of construction, we try our best to built our hotel like an existing house of 900 years old Jaisalmer city. It is true we made mistake in stairs, we could not follow the international measurement of stairs. We feel sorry for the same.

We would also like to bring into everyone's kind notice that when rooms are free, we do not hesitate to offer you early check in and late check out. It mostly happens from April till October. We do not like to charge from you, it is our pleasure.

Thank you for staying outside the Jaisalmer Fort, it is your contribution to save our heritage. Jaisalmer Fort is now World Heritage monument announced by UNESCO.

Thank you once more , no doubt, we assure to our valuable guest that we will give you the best comfort and services and warm welcome possible.

Hope to see you again,

With my best regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my family. After reading the excellent reviews was not very satisfied. The rooms are very small. Luckily we got a 2 bedroom room and hence was better. The hotel is way inside a lane and not definitely walking distance. The hotel owner Om was very straightforward with us during checkin mentioning the checkout time and breakfast details and no food room service but later found him to be a very humble guy who spoke to each of his guests very nicely and enquired about them. Since it was raining, the hotel TV didn't work and also there was water flowing down from the terrace into the corridor and steps. The restaurant food was ok and the breakfast had limited options. My husband found the bed to be too hard to sleep on. The fort view from the restaurant is good. Except the Owner Om (Fifu) making everyone feel at home, the hotel I would say is average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rekha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback, we try our best to reply for your satisfaction.

1. Rooms are very small

We never hide the room size either in our website or if you have contact with us directly. Again for your kind records, the room size at our Hotel is 9 x 13 feet total 117 sq ft and bath room size is 6 x 8 feet total 48 sq feet.

But as we know you have a kid so we provide you the suite room of our Hotel. Please note that we allow you to extend the room after the check out time till 12 o noon.

2. The hotel is way inside a lane and not definitely walking distance.

We already show google map on our website and everyone said here too, it is 15minute walk from the entrance of Jaisalmer Fort and of course it is true, we do not hide from anyone. We are sure you were well aware of it. To be out of city, it has its own advantage. Our hotel is more quite compare to close to center.

3. The hotel owner Om was very straightforward with us during checkin mentioning the checkout time and breakfast details and no food room service

It true we get high pressure from our guest specially from India, they do not want to check out at the time and like to remain in the room till their train left. We serve only vegetarian meal and we like to clear our guest in advance about it. We give room services without problem if requires but we are afraid that when you eat on the bed and spoil the white laundry. So we discourage our guest not to eat anything in the room. Specially for Indian tourist as they are using Chatnis and Pickles, if consumed in the room it leaves a permanent spots on the white laundries.

4. Since it was raining, the hotel TV didn't work and also there was water flowing down from the terrace into the corridor and steps.

Please note that only our hotel has a proper electricity back up, We have 62.5kv a good quality silent Gen Set at our Hotel. Whether you note that during the rain time and after when in the whole city there were no electricity for 8 hours, we keep continue the Gen Set to provide the good services to our guests. Please note that we have cable channel services and during the rain or cloudy climate it does not work properly and also the cable operator has no electricity back up so cable relay was not properly worked on that day.

Will you appreciate the electiricity back up at our Hotel??? What is more important either Electiricity so Aircondition in your room works very well and internet works very well OR a cable TV is more important for you.

For your kind information among 80 listed hotels here we are the only who has the proper electricity back up by a 62.5kv Gen Set.

About the water flowing down from the terrace, please note we live in the desert, we have scarcity of water, this is the only way of water harvesting in our part. Whatever water comes from the terrace, it keeps cool our house and this water goes to underground tank to recharge. This is the best ecological system we have to save the water. Nowadays we are not allow to construct the house in the our part of the Desert, it is a law too that we have keep a open patio when rain comes, and it should be connected with an underground water tank to recharge the water level in our part.

We would like to request to you and all of our valuable guest or who are planning to stay with us, specially from India, please read carefully our website and if any question you have feel free to ask us. As we do not like to hide any negative facts about location,size,services of our Hotel.

Thank you once more,

with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Owner
Hotel Fifu
JAISALMER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The traditional decor and stunning views of the fort created a very romantic atmosphere to our stay. The food and service at the roodtop restaurant were very good. Loved the traditional furnishings in the clean rooms. The serice was much better than at more expensive hotels that i have stayed in in Inida. The location is great too, only 15 min walk to the fort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Rosa,

Namaste.

Thank you very much for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu. It is true that on the terrace of Hotel Fifu and from many of rooms at Hotel Fifu, have a stunning view of Jaisalmer Fort. It is an advantage which receive to us naturally.

Further your appreciation for our services which are much better then more expensive hotel. Thank you very much, it is true that "Service is the gateway to the growth".

As being a senior reviewer you find the location of our Hotel is perfect, thank you, we are out to city but it is worth being out.

We are thankfull of your kindness,

with best regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we had a great experience.

The rooms are small but cozy and nice. We had a balcony too.

The rooftop restaurant served amazing veg food and the views of the fort are charming! ( and prices like any other restaurant, no hotel restaurant prices!!) breakfast also very complete!

It's only ten mins away from the entrance to the city and 15 to the fort. No need for taxi.

The owner was always very nice and helpful.

I loved this place and if i have to go back i'll have no doubts!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzetpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Namaste.

Thank you for your excellent review for our Hotel Fifu.

We have room size which is 9x13 feet, it is small but it is compact and well appointed. We serve only vegetarian dishes in our restaurant, thank you that you like veg food at our restaurant. For the breakfast, although we keep a fixed menu of breakfast but we give you many choices so you can have a complete breakfast.

We are also thankfull of you because you make clear the location of our Hotel Fifu and also clear how far it is from Jaisalmer fort.

You are always welcome here, we wish to see you again here.

Thank you and with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya
Owner
Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 114 in Jaisalmer
1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#13 of 114 in Jaisalmer
961 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 114 in Jaisalmer
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 114 in Jaisalmer
497 reviews
0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#8 of 114 in Jaisalmer
417 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $34 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing