We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little family treasure in Jaisalmer”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little family treasure in Jaisalmer”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and knowledeable staff, service with a smile, beautiful decor, spacious l
Roof terrace, hearty and delicious breakfasts.
Fabulous 'design' hotel - I just thought it was well thought through and as a concept, separated itself from all other hotels in the city. Staff made you feel like you were staying in a family run establishment - super helpful and all really knowledgable about the city. Even French speaking ;-)

Greetings from Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnadehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    205
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
440
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What can I say that the other reviews have not said - this place has indeed got a fantastic view of the fort from the restaurant!! Also the rooms are comfortable and clean. Further still the guys that run the place are very relaxed, patient and extremely helpful - nothing was a problem for them - they had a good suggestion for every question we had. Jaisalmer was a personal highlight of our trip to India and this hotel really helped to make it so. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel built in traditional style with romantic and clean rooms. Lovely roof top terrace with nice view on Fort. A bit out of center (some 10 min. to walk). Very friendly and helpful staff. They let us keep our room beyond check-out time as one of us got sick. Furthermore they dropped us free of cost at railway station in their jeep. Compared with all our hotels on our trip was best price/value relation. Would book there immediately again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
871 reviews
477 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 943 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mr. Fifu runs a very good hotel in Jaisalmer. He is always checking on the guests, extending small courtesies, and making things right. The rooms at this hotel are very comfortable and atmospheric, with decor fitting an exotic Thar Dessert haveli (it's a new building made to look old). As a meat-eating American, I was initially unethusiastic about the prospects of the onsite restaurant being all vegetarian (common in India). But every meal we had in the restaurant was very good, and the roof-top view was quite enjoyable.

We called in advance to provide our train information, and we were offered a complementary jeep ride to the hotel. It was a nice, no-hassle arrival.

One fairly minor negative is the distance to the Fort. Previously guests talk about walking it, but that seems unimaginable to me except in the coolest months of the year. Perhaps you could do it in 20 minutes (it's uphill and it's not like there are sidewalks), but it would be a crummy, hot walk. The good thing is that Mr. Fifu will call for a tuk-tuk to drive you there for 50 rupee. And it's easy to get back. Problem solved.

We also had some minor plumbing problems (it would be nice if the toilets flushed better), but ample hot water. A refrigerator in the room would also be a welcome addition.

The hotel offered to arrange a camel safari for us, but we found better packages (and lower prices) elsewhere in town.

Overall, as long as you don't mind being a little away from the Fort, I don't think you can do better than the Hotel Fifu at a comparable price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel has beautiful decorated rooms, a great terrace restaurant with incredible views of the fort (which you don't have a lot of chance to see if you are staying in a hotel inside the fort). The hotel is around 15 minutes walk to the gate of the fort, so is not that far. One of the only hotels in India were you don't hear the horns and can have a good night sleep.
Best of all, Fifu the owner, is sooooo kind, he was always thinking about us and our wellbeing while in Jaisalmer, he let us store our luggage at the hotel while we went on safari and when we came back, he had a room ready for us to shower. He is the best.
I totally recommend this hotel, its perfect for a nice and calm stay.
Thank you for everything Fifu!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Arrived on a sleeper train from Jodhpur at 6.30am and was made to feel welcome straight away.The staff found us a room where we slept for a couple of hours before moving us to another beautiful room overlooking the fort.This hotel is about 15 mins walk away from the fort along a bumpy track don't let this put you off staying.It is one of the most charming hotels I have stayed in and the friendly service could not be faulted.If you have time try booking the hotel's camel safari which is a little piece of magic away from all the crowds

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

On a tour through Rajasthan our last stop was Hotel Fifu. To be honest it was the best hotel we stayed at during our 10 days trip. Very nice rooms, no noise at night and a simple but good cuisine. The service was done by very nice guys from Nepal, always with a smile. Really to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing