We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The best part of staying in this hotel was the hospitality extended by the owner Mr. Fifu (Mr. Om Kewalia). It was a pleasant surprise to see the owner himself checking with the guests if things were okay and if they needed anything to make their stay more comfortable.

The hotel has an ambiance of a Haveli - a traditional styled home for affluent folks in Rajasthan and many other parts of India.

The room was adequate with a western style bathroom and a sitting area by the window. The double-bed was comfortable. But, I wish there was a wardrobe/cabinet to hang the clothes. My room was on the ground floor so there was basically no view, but the view of Jaisalmer Fort from the rooftop restaurant is breathtaking. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious (I tried Ker-Sangri, a unique Rajasthani dish and really liked it) and reasonably priced.

The hotel is located near the Jaisalmer fort (about 2 km) and on a side street about 1 km off the main road. Other attractions near the hotel are desert museum (don't miss the puppet show in the evening at 6:30 and 7:30 pm) and Gaddisar Lake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucky_Tourist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

A value for money hotel, the staff was very cordial,hospitable and took very good care of us.!!
The Desert Safari organised by the Hotel was also spectacular, One of the best trips ever, Thanks to Mr. Kewaliya at Fifu.!
Also the fort view from the room was breathe-taking..!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauravKukreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Fifu in the second week of January (2013). I took my two early twenty year old daughters and sister in law (their first visit to India). To be honest, I have no idea what AMina_13 is talking about!!! True, Hotel Fifu is at the end of a 1 kilometer dusty road but it is by no means intimidating. There are small businesses, a small school, a few cows, playful goats, an occasional pig. Basically, life!!! When we checked into the Hotel Fifu a small goat was playfully knocking at the office door. My girls loved it! Everbody, I mean everybody, was extremely helpful, the rooms were beautiful and the bathrooms were european in style. The amazing roof top (covered with a corrugated tin roof but open on three sides) was a wonderful place to eat breakfast and dinner. The views were unbeatable and we could see for miles through the clear blue sky all the way to the distant windmills. At night, when a chill fell into the desert, there were blankets to wrap ourselves as we ate dinner. An unforgettable lifetime experience. Mr Fifu was there from morning to night to make sure all his customers needs were taken care of. Every thing was nearly perfect and Mr. Fifu and his son and nephew tried their best to fix those things that weren't. When we left, my daughters got two beautiful garlands from Mr. Fifu and his staff. This was classic Indian hospitality. The only other comment I have to make to AMina_13 and those who may read that negative review is this; If you come to India with a lot of preconceived expectations or are unwilling to see things and understand why things are the way they are and come as tourists and not as travelers, almost everything will disappoint you.

Room Tip: We had a room for three; it had two bedrooms and was very nice for myself and daughters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajeet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 20th January for 4 nights, punctuated by a night in the desert also arranged by Fifu. We loved it.

Fifu (nickname of the owner) is a real gentle & genuine man. He keeps a constant eye over his hotel to ensure it is well run and guests are happy. We definitely were. Our room was quite small, but nicely decorated with rich coloured silk bedspreads and curtains. It had a window seat from which you could see the fort. Bed was a little hard for us (as many are in India), and when we mentioned this at breakfast, it was immediately remedied by them placing an additional mattress on top. It was chilly in the room, but a fan heater provided made the room warm in a few minutes.

Each day Fifu makes a point of asking you personally whether everything is to your liking. He and his staff want you to have a good time. There is a young manager who is also very professional, helpful and very friendly. Fifu himself speaks at least four languages fluently, and we saw him chatting and paying attention to groups of French and German people as well as English speaking people with the same ease. He makes you feel very well looked after!

We would normally eat out in different restaurants but we liked the food so much at the hotel, we ate there most nights. Other reviewers have commented on the rooftop restaurant being too cold at night. I suppose we came prepared, knowing Rajasthan would be chilly at nights. The lovely wool blankets just made the experience cosy. It's true though (as another reviewer suggests) that some sort of screening behind the seating and maybe fire pits or similar would make the restaurant area more cosy in the winter months. The view over to the fort is spectacular.

The breakfast included was fine, and there are also many other items you can order at a very reasonable cost.

I will review the desert trip separately, but want to say here it was a great experience. It may not be the cheapest (we thought it was good value), but the camp is situated by itself in a great spot right on the edge of beautiful sand dunes. When you hear about other camps being dirty, and dozens of outfits setting up side by side, I'm delighted we went with Fifu. It was a magical night.

We have travelled a lot in India & stayed at all sorts of hotels, guesthouses and homestays - from the very simple to the luxurious, and we feel Hotel Fifu offers great value for money. We recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

When we arrived at Fifu in mid January 2013 we were disappointed to find it located at the end of a dust road which we quickly discerned would not be safe to traverse at night. We were shocked to discover the rooms to be very small, badly light and rather smelly with no cupboards, fridge or safe and scant space to move around the bed. As is the case in real estate advertising, the images of the rooms posted on the web are not a true reflection of the rooms we were allocated.
We cancelled our booking and moved to amazing accommodation within a few minutes from the fort gates.
Fifu have subsequently refused to refund a single rupee from three days prepaid bookings. One readily accepts the loss for the first night. Refusing to refund a single rupee is simply avaricious.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank AMina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

We would like to inform you that we do not hide any information about our Hotel to our guest, all the relevant information can be inspected at the website of our Hotel, ie 1. room size, 2. location 3, services we offer 4, terms and conditions of cancellation , etc. Even after visiting our website if our guest has any doubt, he is always welcome to contact us and ask us any question, it is our pleasure to provide him correct and honest information about our hotels.

When we have reservation through a travel agent we also cleared our terms and conditions of cancellation of cancellation precisely to the travel agent in our first email. It is duty of travel agent to inform our terms and conditions to their guest before making reservation at our Hotel.

Also after doing check in formalities and stay in the room for few hours and then if guest said we do not like the room without any complain, it is really surprising to us. Guest even do not give us chance to serve them with warm hospitality and did not judge any of our services.

We do not glitter like a gold as your find but we always prefer and clear to our guest in advance that how many carats of GOLD it is , without hiding any fact

Thank you Sir, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

stayed there on 24 of jan, they had arranged for pick up at 5 am from station and the room was alloted to us as soon as we reached. The owner Mr. Fifu and his son take personal care of each guest and are extremely polite and try to give patient hearing to your complains and try their best to make u comfortable. we were given first floor road facing room which was bigger than ground floor rooms and had view of fort. The fort is just ten minutes walk from the hotel .Rooftop restaurant is also quiet and serene place to sit has excellent view of fort. it also has free wi-fi in the rooms and internet at restaurant.overall good experience,only negative point was that the free Indian breakfast had fixed quantity one aloo paratha/plain paratha of course with juice,curd and tea/coffee

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

my stay in Jaiselmer in mid january was the highlight of a 2 week trip with my daughter throughout rajahstan. We spent 2 nights at the Fifu hotel, which is situated 5-10 minutes outside the old city. This is a family run business- which for me, as a tourist who wanted to get a "feel" of the local people, was important. The service was impeccable , the suite which was allocated to us, was true to the typical local architecture but at the same time had all the modern facilities us westerners are used to.The hot water sytem needs getting used to(take quick showers if you want the hot water to last..) Don't miss the opportunity to grab a bite on the roof top restaurant. The beautiful panoramic view is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
795 reviews
0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#8 of 108 in Jaisalmer
393 reviews
0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing