We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the desert”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jewel of the desert”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is a reason why hotels such as Hotel Fifu receive top tripadvisor awards year on year.I am a well travelled doctor and had been touring through Rajasthan with my wife from the UK. We spent two days in Jaisalmer having journeyed by train from Jodhpur.

We were able to see and do so much in such a short space of time because of the care taken by the staff. and yet felt relaxed because of the wonderfully decorated traditional rooms with views of the everchanging fort, wonderful food and warm desert hospitality. During our holiday around Rajasthan, we had stayed at many luxury hotels, including several five star hotels, but count our stay at the Hotel Fifu as one of the best. Some of the facilities even put some of the high end hotels to shame such as free always on internet and free pick up and drop off at the station.

The hotel may not be to everyone's taste, for instance those who want a city-centre location or those who require assistance climbing stairs, but when you put together the low price, individually designed rooms and personalised care, Hotel Fifu puts together a comprehensive package for travellers wishing to get a special stay in the desert city of Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Ask to choose a deluxe room with a view of the fort. Some of these rooms come with an extra lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prarthana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    205
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
440
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
French Lick, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I traveled with my husband. It's two night in jaisalmer at great hotel fifu. very clean hotel with so friendly staff. And owner Ani is great guide of town and very polite person in hotel. It was great time in hotel fifu and i recommend to every one to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desbra24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in this fantastic hotel. The facade is gorgeous, as are the rooms. Lots of character and nicely decorated. We had the family room, room 108 located upstairs. It had a firm bed with lots of soft pillows and gorgeous locally made bedspread. It has the traditional yellow brick you'll find throughout Jaisalmer. There was good air conditioning in our room. Bathroom was small-ish but adequate and you do need to turn on the hot water switch 10 mins prior to showering to get hot water, which is not a big deal.

THere is an included breakfast which consists of eggs, toast, fruit and juice. The restaurant is rooftop and wonderfully pleasant with a lovely view of the fort and the city. There is a little corner for reading with a selection of books. There is also wifi available and was actually one of the few places in India where it was reliable enough that we could skype with our kids back home. Laundry services are also available, and prices were very reasonable, we did use this service ourselves.

The hotel location is on the outskirts of the city, however the city is quite small and it's only about a 10-15 min walk to anywhere in town.

The staff here were incredible, very helpful and lovely. Even the owner checked in with us twice personally to make sure everything was to our liking, which we appreciated a great deal.

A great stay and we would definately recommend this hotel to others. Do note though, there are no elevators here so if you have trouble with stairs, you may want to take this into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am coming in ur hotel with the Steiner's school.
It's was my first time in india but not in hotel and i must say at every people that this hotel is perfect.
The personnal are so good and hard worker.
In addition, we eat very good and the place is perfect.
I loved the terrasse outside where we can drink something at sun :)
I loved also the room with beautiful colours and a big bathroom!
Thank u a lot for everything fifu, u and ur hotel are in my heart forever and i don't go nowever esle in Rajasthan!!!! <3

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSteinerien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was not our favourite hotel but it was indeed good value.
The rooms are lovely and colourful although fairly basic. We had to change rooms twice since we extended our stay by one night so we got to see all in all four rooms and they were all pretty. Bathroom also is clean and as hot water. Breakfast is included in the price and it is served on the roof terrace which offers nice views of Jaisalmer. In fact the hotel is not central and it's a bit of a walk from town. It's, though, only a 3 minute ride on a tuktuk.
What bothered us was one of the staff harassing our girlfriend asking her if she was a virgin, which she didn't find funny. The rest of the staff was indeed quite helpful and organized a trip to Sam. The camel safari turned out to be pretty rough and once we didn't stay the night. The pictures they showed us of the accommodation in the desert was NOTHING like the hut we ended up in. The food they offered us was simple but very good, we just declined to spend the night and asked to be driven back to Jaisalmer.
I must admit it was very reasonably priced and would make for the perfect stay for young people on a budget.
I would not choose this place again, also because we found an incredible heritage hotel in the old town - which I forgot the name of unfortunately - near the Saffron Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaste. Thank you for your feed back. We respect you as you are a senior contributor on TripAdvisor. Your feedback really shocked us deeply, we would appreciate if you complained us immediately or to me directly or any person of management of our Hotel. Also you could write us an email as you were harassed so we can find out the real culprit and can take the proper action against him.

I personally and sincerely apologize for the harassment at our place which is absolutely intolerable behavior of our staff, we assure you that we will be more vigilant and will try to find out which person of our staff as no one accept his mistake.

Looking forward to hear from you,

Thank you and with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Owner- Hotel Fifu
Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San FRancisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is our fourth stay at Hotel Fifu which has recently undergoing many upgrades including new bathrooms with on demand hot water, a much improved roof top terrace and restaurant with a perfect view of the fort. The food is excellent and very well priced, and we have had virtually all our meals here. All systems work well including wifi connection and there is a back up generator. Fifu is a manager par excellence, very responsive to each guests needs, efficient,and very pleasant. His staff are also well trained and do a great job. My wife and I have traveled quite a lot and Hotel Fifu remains our favorite as its location is centrally located yet quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed. We stay in one of the 2 suites with 2 rooms as we stay for 2-3 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF-TKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay, this is it. The boss mister Fifu speak English of course but also French :-)
And they are so friendly and helpful.
On top of this rooms are clean and big, very nice bathroom. Airco.
And on top of this "free working wifi".
Food served is vegetarian simple but great. And when you ask " not spicy please" it will be like you asked :-)
On the terrace you will have nice sofa where you can take lunch dinner breakfast .... With a view to Jaisalmer Fort.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Normann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing