We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Jaisalmer”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay, this is it. The boss mister Fifu speak English of course but also French :-)
And they are so friendly and helpful.
On top of this rooms are clean and big, very nice bathroom. Airco.
And on top of this "free working wifi".
Food served is vegetarian simple but great. And when you ask " not spicy please" it will be like you asked :-)
On the terrace you will have nice sofa where you can take lunch dinner breakfast .... With a view to Jaisalmer Fort.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Normann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fifu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

After 3 weeks travelling Rajasthan this has been our favourite hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and go out their way to assist. The hotel itself is clean with nice rooms and lovely shower (with hot water!). They serve up nice food and breakfast is included in the price. The rooftop restaurant has big comfy seats where you can sit any time of day relaxing with a book with a great view of the fort. The hotel is a 10min walk to the fort / main town (or you can auto rickshaw)

We did the camel safari through the hotel. A bit more expensive than trips you can arrange in town but bonus was it was just the two of us rather than a group (you can choose to stay as part of a group if you prefer). The hotel provides a guide and jeep who stay with you overnight (but leave you to it) and the camel man and his son Ali were great. The food cooked up was lovely and spending a night under the stars a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLVS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My friends and I booked only for the overnight camel safari so we did not actually spend a night at the hotel. However after a long gruelling 15 hour train ride from Jaipur into a 40 degree hot Jaisalmer, we were given such a lovely and thoughtful surprise. The owner/manager offered to let us use one of their rooms to shower and wash up and rest for a few hours before our tour was to begin. All with no charge. You have no idea how much the three of us appreciated this!!

The safari itself was a 4/5. One of the staff there drove us in a jeep to 3 tours which we were told was optional to go to. We chose to pay for one of them, but just sightseed from the outside for the other two. After we got to the actual desert, we took a 2 hour-ish camel ride literally, into the most beautiful sunset (purple, red, orange!). Stopped by on the way to trek through a very rural village, quite the contrast of any small village Ive ever seen, definitely different.

The minus one star is for the tents being literred with bugs! I know its the desert and it's only natural to have bugs, but Im talking hundreds of thousands in the tent...all over the bed covers, ground, tent walls, toilet, bathroom floor, etc. It was kind of uncomertable sleeping knowing there was bugs all over your body and under the covers with you...What was even more gross was that they all only survived one day...so next morning there was a lot of crunching around.

Anyways, aside from that, for our return the next morning, they let us ride the camels halfway back into town and the jeep picked us up again from there. It was a very filling overnight safari. It included traditional Indian singers and musicians and dancers. Great food and a great time! The highlight would've been the two sisters teaching us three girls how to move like a real Indian dancer. Once again, when we got back to the hotel, the owner let us have yet another room to clean up and rest in until we departed for our next train. Much appreciated time two! I forgot to mention, that the rooftop hotel is just gorgeous! The set-up, the decorations, and even the food. They make a mean spaghetti that could compete against what we're used to back home :)

If we ever travel back to Jaisalmer I'd love to stay here again. The hotel, the people, the food was just all perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamrenko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Well as everyone has already stated...tastefully decorated clean modern rooms (with great views of Jaisalmer Fort) , friendly staff, free wifi and great roof top restaurant! Would stay here again and highly recommend it We had a suite and it was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic, we really enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel Fifu and 1 night on the camel safari. The customer service was first class. Thanks to all the staff. The room was beautiful, stylish and very clean. We had a great bathroom and a top of the range Samsung Split AC in the bedroom to keep us nice and cool. The local owner is very attentive and speaks English, French, Spanish and German - so Europeans of various nationalities will feel very comfortable and well looked after. We did our research before we came, and we definitely chose the right hotel and the right location. In our view it is far better to be located outside of the fort, where it is less noisy and less of a tourist trap. Being outside the fort you also get a great view of the fort!
The camel safari booked through Fifu is also fantastic - we loved it! The lovely camp is right next to beautiful dunes and our kids were up before the sun rise running up and down the slopes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidIngleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great time in the spotless clean and atmospheric Fifu hotel .The family-run business provided us with exceptional and entirely honest service. Andriksh, the manager, took immediate care of all our big and small requests and never charged anything in addition for the extra service.
The rooms are tastefully colour-matched decorated and the modern bathroom with glass walled shower of a very high standard.
They also arranged an unforgettable desert safari with camel ride and dinner in the desert. Chiku, our very knowledgable guide and also a family member, took great pride in showing us desert life and culture. The next day he just came with us to show us the city of Jaisalmer and invited us to his family home for tea.
I highly recommend this hotel a place, where you feel at home immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christel11487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved the place, very available and sweet staff, quite romantic room decoration and colors. and yes, the view to the lovely Jaisalmer Fort!
Wonderfully cooked meals served with candle light on the terrace ... Will be back for some more fantastic Biryani rice and Magic to this cozy little fort!
Thanks for arranging us the Desert and camel trip! quite a ride it was! :)

Well done Fifu Hotel!! quite a Btfull place :)

We shall be back .. definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraCascais_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $31 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing