We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, great service”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Hotel Fifu is a great place to stay when you are in Jaisalmer. The rooms are very clean, cosy and individually decorated. The rooftop restaurant is great for relaxing, the staff is friendly and helpful. The Indian food was not the best I had during my trip; it was decent though. The Pizzas (for the homesick) are great and the Banana Lassi is awesome.

The hotel is a little out of town, but therefore it is very quiet at night.

What I liked in particular was the personal service provided. The hotel manager, Fifu, is a great host; he personally tried his very best to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Even though the camel safari was slightly more expensive then elsewhere, it was worth it. Everything was well organized. The only downturn was that the desert camp is situated not too far from a road; therefore in the early evening the sound of some trucks/jeeps were interrupting the otherwise magical ambience when sleeping under the stars. But overall this was a minor issue.

Can only highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, in particular on the top floor. There is a suite-type room which has an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Namaste. Thank you for your valuable feed back for your Hotel. We take is positively and assure you sincerely to improve our safari and desert camp services in a better way.

We once more thankfull of your feed back and your time.

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewalia(Fifu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    205
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
441
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed one night and one safari camel night with the Fifu hotel.
I was surprises and delighted by such wonderful service! Everybody is ready to serve you and help you while offering you great advice. I was also impressed by the cleanliness of the place and the fact that the whole hotel is continuously cleaned.
As for the camel safari, it was excellent! We were a group of 8 and had a nice quiet locatation in the desert. The food was so good! And the staff so friendly. Plus I made new friends!
Defintive place to be in jaisalmer!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed one night at Hotel Fifu. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room was nice, well furnished and neat. There is a quiet rooftop restaurant serving good food.
We did the camel safari proposed by the hotel, it was an awesome experience. We had lots of fun, met nice people, and all was done to make us feel comfortable. We were provided delicious food and everything necessary to sleep in the desert (beds, clean and warm sleeping bags...). The only drawbacks were that we could not ride the camel on our own (we were pulled by someone) and we did not have a personal guide from the beginning to the end (different people accompanied us). But when they asked for feedback (which we really appreciated) they told us that they did not let us ride the camel by ourselves for security reasons, and that they will improve the second point.
This hotel is the best one I stayed in during my trip in Rajasthan and I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 108 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapis_volante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A nice cozy hotel with all basic facilities. We booked two standard rooms which were not big but comfortable.We were in Jaisalmer for touristic purpose and hence did not have much time to be in the hotel rooms. The owner was very polite and helpful. They provided jeep service for a pick up and drop from and to the railway station. We enjoyed the desert safari which we booked via the hotel.Our train was at 11 pm and the hotel rooms were booked till 12 noon.We were very happy as they provided us one room without any extra charge. The food was also good.Overall we had a nice experience,but yes I may try the better room next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinabhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Hotel Fifu ensured our stay in Jaisalmer was a memorable and relaxing one. Mr Fifu is a gracious host and speaks French and Spanish as well as English. The crepes for breakfast were a treat! The rooftop restaurant is a lovely place to chill out with stunning views of the fort and scenes of daily village life below us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We loved this place. The staff are friendly and helpful (eg. printing out emails for us), and the hotel itself is clean, decorated really well and is cosy and welcoming. The roof terrace is great for lounging about, whatever time of day, so take your book and have a beer while relaxing and watching the sun go down over the town. The food too, is great - it's all vegetarian and there wasn't anything on the menu we didn't find delicious. We were a bit worried when we turned off onto the street, as it looks really run down, but the hotel itself is lovely. It's only a 10 minute walk back into Jaisalmer itself, which is very busy, so it's great that the hotel is slightly set back from the noise and bustle. Additionally, the hotel has its own tuk tuk so will run you anywhere in town you need (for free, a pleasant change). If you're looking for somewhere which is great value for money in Jaisalmer, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wycombewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel Fifu is set just outside the main town but a very cheap 5min tuk-tuk ride and you are in the heart of it all. This hotel is in a wonderfully quite location with amazing and probably the best views of the Fort from its restaurant on the roof. I was a single lady there on business and never felt uncomfortable at all and every oppertunity I had I sat up in the restaurant with its comfy seating where you could curl your legs up and read a book or just while away your time watching the world go by with an ice-cold beer. The food was very good and very reasonably priced. The rooms are divine and are so comfortable and clean. All the staff from the top (Fifu) down to even the hotel tuk-tuk man were so helpful and nothing was too much for them. It is also worth taking a ride out with Gitu to ride camels and visit the local village life. This hotel is a real must and I will guarantee that you will not be dis-satisfied........thank you so much and I will definatly be back.

Room Tip: I was in room 109 that had a window seat and in the mornigs I would sit in it and look up to the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#8 of 104 in Jaisalmer
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing