We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place if you possibly can!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jawahar Niwas Palace
Ranked #84 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We did a 28 day tour of India & Nepal and this was by far the worst hotel we stayed in on the entire trip. Disinterested staff, public areas were dark, everything was dusty, the hot water rarely was anything more than tepid with almost no pressure.
The swimming pool looked very inviting after a long hote day on the road, but as we looked closely we noticed the bottom of the pool and the steps were covered with a slimy green mould. Even after we complained, all they did was run the hose through it!
The "buffet" breakfast was very average, we had to ask several times for fresh toast and butter.
Rooms were large and good air-con, but furniture had seen better days. Our balcony was filthy (bird droppings and general dust & grime). The gardens are woeful i.e. all there is is a sparse covering of lawn and the rest is dry dirt.
We only stayed here because we booked our whole trip quite late and our stay in Jaisalmer coinicided with the end of a festival so the town was quite full. Would stay anywhere else other than here if I ever go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ScarlettsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Jawahar Niwas Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

I booked the hotel for our long awaited vacation based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we were really disappointed with the Hotel. The rooms are old and have not been renovated/ painted for some time. The pool was not clean (although it was cold, yet in other hotels guests were using pools).

We were not interested in staying on in the Deluxe Room and finally we settled for a Suite which was spacious and better maintained.

The Hotel also organised for night stay in a Camp in the Dunes which was good and very neat and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank monising108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

The hotel was empty - with practically no one staying there. When we arrived we order some sandwiches which took more than 2 hours to arrive - not to mention the tea which was served cold. The Hotel Manager was rude and sleazy.

We moved the next day to the Taj Rawalkot - which was cheaper, had live entertainment during dinnertime and the most important thing - polite and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RAJ_LAKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

After a bad hotel experience the day before we went to Jawahar Niwas Palace hotel as we wanted to relax and have a swimming pool. A big sandstone palace that stands all alone in sandy surroundings about 1 km of Jaisalmer Fort. It’s about a 500m walk to the town centre and from there you can take a tuk-tuk for Rp. 25 to the fort if you don’t want to walk.

The room was very spacious with a high ceiling, two airconditioners, clean bathroom, the furniture is dated but functional. No internet. hardly any guests!

According to the Lonely Planet Guide sthis hotel has a fabulous pool. Indeed there was a big swimming pool but the water didn’t look fresh so we didn’t swim. Very old paintless furniture around the pool, no plants, no towels, nothing. Even no people, so I don’t know what a fabulous pool should be. All in all: don’t expect something luxuriuos although the hotel looks like that from the outside. It is a mediocre hotel, that probably has known better times.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We booked Jawahar Niwas through Aamantran tours. Dealing with Aamantran tours was easy and recommended. They also arranged our travel from Jodhpur to Jaisalmer. Jawahar Niwas Palace is quite a mixed bag. The rooms were very ordinary, but the location was great. Hot water was not available always. The best feature was the food, which is absolutely the best we had anywhere in India. Though not in the fort or in the town, this hotel is still very close to all major attractions. The managers were very helpful in making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank musicandarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in one of the larger rooms (suite?) directly above the main entrance looking towards the fort.

As with a lot of heritage places the room had high ceilings and a couple of bay windows with cushions - and a chair swing !!
The bathroom is a little functional but everything worked and there was always hot water. Overall the room was clean and comfortable - with 2 a/c units to keep it cool.

The pool was disappointing and the water was cloudy - although I saw it getting cleaned every morning. Good massage, fair breakfast, OK bed.

So why stay there ? It is very close to the fort and just a short walk to the gate. But, there are better choices inside if you can sacrifice the pool (not difficult). The Killa Bhawan looked tremendous - and with very friendly staff (to speak to at least) - if you are happy to share their very luxurious bathrooms with others.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

This hotel is in a beautiful building very close to the entrace to the city of Jaisalmer. It has a view of the fort. Rooms are big and comfortable but they have a plumbing problem. We had 2 rooms and in both the toilets didn´t flush properly. In the shower sometimes water came out, sometimes it didn´t. Hot water was also a problem. The breakfast buffet was lacking... hard-boiled eggs, cornflakes, leftover Indian food from the previous night. Dinner was mediocre. Avoid the Chinese dishes.

11  Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#23 of 108 in Jaisalmer
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#81 of 108 in Jaisalmer
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 108 in Jaisalmer
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaisal Castle
Jaisal Castle
#73 of 108 in Jaisalmer
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jawahar Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jawahar Niwas Palace

Address: No.1, Bada Bagh Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $109 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jawahar Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Jawahar Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jawahar Niwas Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing