We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms with even better service!”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

After a rough night in the desert we were really praying for a nice clean hotel and we found it! This hotel was charming in so many ways! The rooms were a great size, the water was hot (our shower head wasn't the best..) and the wifi worked in the rooms. The restaurant was good and the service was the best we have had in India! Good customer service is somewhat hard to come by in India but this place was exceptional!! This hotel had everything! Don't bother look at others

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Aimeeeee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Shahi Palace is one out of four hotels from four brothers. On Agoda I saw a room I wanted to book. Asking whether it was possible to book this room directly with the hotel for the same price I was told the photo was from another hotel and a similar room at Shahi Palace was more expensive, but since I already saw this room online I could book it for the same price as listed on Agoda. Very correct service!
Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly people whom were constantly available for us during our stay and always tried to make us feel at home!
They offer a free guide to see the havelis, but he will also take you to his textileshop. Fixed prices and fair ones for tourists too. If you are not interested in buying just tell him! Otherwise, when looking for something particular he'll also be able to take you to some shops so you can compare.
The entrance to the fort is a 15min walk, the havelis are 5min away.
The hotel also has a nice rooftop restaurant with good food, an AC-room (which is very convenient during the hot season) and a great view of the fort.
The staff in the restaurant doesn't always understand what you say in english but they'll make up for that with a big smile and their friendliness, while someone else who speaks good english is always around.

Room Tip: In summer, a room without view will be cooler, you can enjoy the views from the rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjarel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Each of my stay in Jaisalmer has been and will be at Shahi Palace. I love this place. It fits so well in the landscape. Magic. Go on the roof top in the evening, and enjoy the view on the Citadelle and count the stars. So peaceful. So beautiful.
I love the rooms, I love the staff. I love the food. Definitely, this is my home in Jaisalmer. The place to be if you go there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Me and a friend stayed here over xmas, we did the camel safari organised by the hotel and woke up xmas day in the desert, it was the most memorable xmas ive ever had. The restaurant on the roof had some of the best dishes i had in all of india. Im still dreaming of the stuffed tomatoes! Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahFromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at shahi palace for three nights. The staff were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Rooms are brightly decorated and clean. Food was excellent, beer cold, and the rooftop views of the fort are fantastic. 7 - 10 minute walk to the fort entrance. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is new but built in the traditional way, from stone, and well decorated. The rooftop view of the Fort is outstanding, day and night. Jora, who runs the hotel with his brothers, is an attentive host. He offers services, such as guides, shopping and desert trips, but does not push. We were taken to a Kashmiri house for pashminas, and to the right shops for embroidery and silver. The food served on the rooftop is good. The laundry service is efficient. All the staff are helpful. Jaisalmer is a magical place (apart from the open sewers) and the Shahi Palace is an ideal base for exploring it.

Room Tip: We were disturbed by dogs barking, but this is probably the case in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardener707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Shahi palace. The hosts were welcoming, friendly and extremely generous. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable and easily one of the best value places we have stayed in our entire trip. The rooftop is beautiful and a great place to relax.

We opted to do our camel safari through the hotel and were not disappointed! The experience was magical and we were able to get a more authentic desert experience than if we were to visit the touristy Sam dunes. Babu was so lovely and really made this a highlight!

Thank you so much! We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithson9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#13 of 114 in Jaisalmer
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#12 of 114 in Jaisalmer
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 114 in Jaisalmer
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#14 of 114 in Jaisalmer
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 114 in Jaisalmer
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort And Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Address: Shiv Road | near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of Jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing