We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good view and food..”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
jodhpur
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, good view and food..”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my fourth time in Shahi Palace. We have enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff is friendly and goes out of their way to help assist their guests. The place is centrally located.

The restaurant is cozy, plays good music (Prem Joshua) and has a good view of the fort. We had all our meals here, the food was very good and cooked according to our desire (spicy or non-spicy).

The rooms were clean and Mr. Jora joined us for the desert excursion, he has a very nice sense of humor.

Hope to see you again..

Room Tip: Fort view rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GovindSetrawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    241
    75
    30
    17
See reviews for
121
371
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've been travelling around India for 5 months and this is the best hotel I've been to. As soon as we arrived we felt completely relaxed and looked after, nothing was too much trouble. Dev and his brother were the perfect hosts! We got upgraded and had a beautiful room, we had free lifts in the jeep, dev even took us on the back of his motorbike to get amazing samosas! We had free cooking lessons, and just generally had an incredible experience. More hotels should take a leaf out of their book. I would love to come and stay again, and was genuinely sad to leave! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank yyou Shahi palace!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really wonderful hospitality from the moment we got our free pick up from the train station, from the humour of our driver Hemant to the all round service of all the hotel's laid back yet attentive staff and management. All our requests for information were met with a genuine desire to help, the camel trek was well organised and recommended, as was the informative walking tour of Jaisalmer. Excellent roof top restaurant food and views, wish we had stayed longer than the one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Truly beautiful hotel, with gorgeous rooms that are decorated with a terrific sense for detail. The rooftop restaurant is unbeatable in regards to food, price and the stunning views. We stayed for 2 nights before we did the highly recommendable camel safari. The safari is a bit more expensive than other places but for that you will get "private sand dunes" to spend the night... absolutely wonderful! Afterwards we stayed for an unplanned night which was no problem at all. Given the chance we would book this hotel again and again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patzodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Off the major tourist trail so is nice and quiet, which is great for a good nights sleep. The restaurant is good with a good selection of foods and reasonably priced. There is also a roof top terrace which is perfect to watch the sun set over the city!

They run their own Camel Safari which is very reasonable and well run.

There is also free WiFi .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only 1 night should have been more. Excellent view from the roof on the fortress. Nice topfloor restaurant with very good food. Free pick up from the station, diont recommend walking which I did as it was a lounger walk then one would expect from the maps.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Erik d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

After 1 night at Oasis Haveli I moved to Shahi Palace. Devilal - the hotel manager himself took some time to show me different rooms. Price vs quality compair to other hotels is amazing. Really worth the money. I came from busy Johdpur and I felt to arrive at an oasis. Actually I stayed longer there as I thought. The food at restaurant was very tasty. All fresh prepared. Try the stuffed potatoes or butter chicken masala. Mmh so nice ! The rooftop terrasse is the meeting point for all the people staying there. The atmosphere was like beginning a big family. I highly recommend this place. Devilal and his brothers do their job with a lot of love.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cris_Rodriguez_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 105 in Jaisalmer
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 105 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 105 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 105 in Jaisalmer
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Property: Hotel Shahi Palace
Address: Shiv Road | Near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing