We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live here!!”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Shahi Palace was my home in India for almost the entire three months of my trip. I eagerly returned after staying a mere three days a year ago. This is not just a hotel, this is a business run by the most incredible family who will welcome all tourists with open arms.

The hotel is the largest of the three hotels run by the Mali brothers, (the other two are a 30 second walk down the road) It is designed by the brothers replicating the traditional designs of the old Jaisalmer haveli's. The rooms are spacious, clean and having stayed in almost all of them, I know that their charm is found in their unique decorations and comfortable atmosphere. (Number 28 was my home most of the time, there will one day be a photo of me riding a camel in there! :P)

Another of the hotels impressive qualities is it's rooftop terrace. It is a relaxed, comfortable and social environment that hosts one of the best views in town of Jaisalmer's famous 'Golden Fort' and after three months in Jaisalmer, the sunset still managed to take my breath away every night! The food from the rooftop restaurant is also incredible. The extremely capable chefs, Hare and Ramesh specialise in making fantastic, traditional Rajasthani food as well as some amazing Western dishes. And Kheta and Laksmanji are two of the most efficient, friendly and wonderful waiters in India! In fact, the only way the rooftop experience could be even better is if Dev ji starts playing my music! :-)

Over my time in Jaisalmer I did several camel safaris and after researching and checking out the different options around town, I always ended up going with the safari's run by the hotel. Yes, you can find cheaper ones from other companies, but you get what you pay for! The cheaper safari's are inferior, they take you to the most touristy part of the dunes, have limited time actually spent on the camels and they use the blankets from the camels saddle as your bedding. Shahi Palace has a range of safari's, the guides will make traditional food and you will be provided with proper mattresses and bedding from the hotel. In addition, they will take you off the beaten track where very few tourists frequent and will show you three monuments before you start the camel safari. So, if you are not going to be in Jaisalmer every day, why not pay a little bit extra for a second to none experience?!


I could write a book about this hotel, how wonderful and charming the design is, how fantastic and helpful all the staff are but really, all I can say is if you travel to Jaisalmer and do not stay at Shahi Palace you are making a HUGE mistake because you will never find a family as caring, warm, friendly and honest as the four brothers who own Shahi Palace. Bhakra ji, Jora, Dev and Swaroop are four of the most fantastic people I have ever met. I gladly spent three months with their wonderful company, and as a non stop talker travelling by herself, the hours that I spent with these brothers and their extended family was a true gift that I will cherish all my life.

I will always keep coming back to Shahi Palace. This beautiful place is my home away from home and I feel very blessed to have met this family and thank my lucky stars that on my first trip to India a friend recommended this beautiful hotel!

xx Cassie, (aka Kudi, Aussie, total local, Aishwarya) :-D

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassiesantoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shahi Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We agreed immediately to rent the well equipped room with AC and view to the fort after having negotiated the price for 3 nights off the main season and did never regret our decision. The location is quiet though close to the old town and the fort. Management and staff are very polite and keen to serve you at least after suggesting improvement as happened when the kitchen run out of vegetables. The dishes were well prepared but a little overpriced as the beer was. This may be compensated by the view to the fort which was unfortunately not illuminated at the time of our stay there but cannot be blamed to the hotel. The staff kept the hotel clean despite a lot of dust from the desert. Check-out time by 9 AM is quite early. Transfer to the bus terminal was offered, also reservation of a hotel at our next destination. That the latter did not pick us up in Jodhpur as announced is not the fault of Shahi Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room overlooking the fort as well as the rooftop restaurant. In off-season we don't stock as many vegetables due to lack of guests and wanting to keep them fresh so sometimes we do run out and we are sorry if we didn't have your choice of food. Thanks for your review and we hope you come back again.
Dev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nearly 9 weeks in India, this stands out as my favourite hotel. Excellent location, helpful and friendly staff, well decorated rooms that are kept clean and tidy. I can't fault anything about the place. Extra bonus points for the rooftop restaurant, the people who run this are again wonderfully friendy and the food is just delicious. The restaurant has a wonderful view of Jaisalmer Fort, especially in the evening as it glows gold. Sat here, with a cold beer as the fort changed colour was one of my favourite moments on the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with beautifully decorated rooms and a stunning view of Jaisalmer fort - their rooftop terrace is a must especially in the evening. Our room was spacious and clean and came with a lush window sofa from which we had a fantastic view of the fort. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience of stay at shahi palace on TA , its great to read that you had great time here and enjoyed the stunning views ,clean spacious decorated rooms , .Thanks again for highly recommending us and wish you will visit us again very soon.
Kind regards, Dev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had spent two nights at the Hotel Shahi Palace and thought it was a great place. The rooms were well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet. The root top restaurant served good food and the service was quick, friendly and efficient - the view of the fort was great. The owners were very friendly and very helpful indeed.

They also ran camel tours and we took an afternoon trip, which also included some local sight seeing: it was just right for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The stylish room. Clean bathroom. Hot shower. Nice view from the rooftop. Good food on it. And campfire in the evening, where the guests can get together and just seat around the fire, drink and talk.
We took desert safari and spent great time in the dunes. We were lucky - we've got a nice company. Safari it self was good.. A bit too much riding on a camel, a bit to simple food, but steel... It was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thanks for writing your experience of stay at shahi palace on TA , its great to read that you had great time enjoyed the stylish room,good view .Thanks again for highly recommending us and wish you will visit shahi palace, jaisalmer,india.
Kind regards, Dev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Its a modern and very well maintained hotel. Very nice decoration, many paintings and lovely details in the rooms and outside. Our rooms came without window and were quite small (no chair, nothing to put clothes in, not enough hooks to hang anything)
Rooftopterrace is great, food is good, service is fast and friendly. Although lodging and food are quite expensive (compared to other Indian hotels with that standard).
As we arrived late, tired of the long journey and wanted to do the camel safari the next day, the owner could convince us to book his offered trip. The owner is an eloquently good seller and knows what people want to hear. He charged us 1900 rs p.p. for 2 half days including an overnight in the desert, much more than says every guidebook.
The desert trip was wonderful, the place is wonderful by itself, camels are amazing animals and sleeping under the stars in the sanddunes is a beautiful experience.
For one of my friends it was the first time to be in the desert, to be on a camel. There was absolutely no information about the thar desert or about camels. No instruction about behaviour with and on camels. She nearly fell down, as the camel stood up. Afterwards she didnt feel confortable. But communication in english was not possible, one of the Indian travellers had to help as a translator.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were extremely glad to hear that you were pleased with the service on our rooftop restaurant and that you admired the paintings and decorations throughout the hotel. At Shahi Palace, we offer a variety of rooms ranging from different prices, including larger rooms which offer more storage space and include balcony windows or window seats. It is also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the sand dunes and sleeping under the stars during the camel safari. As we mention to most of our customers, riding the camels can be quite tiring after some time and can cause a bit of soreness upon returning. We are sorry for the confusion when the camel stood up as there is usually a short instruction given before this happens. Also, the price is different for many different hotels & travel agencies based on there service and demand, location, quality and many more things. Thank you again for taking the time to review Hotel Shahi Palace on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
DEV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
672 reviews
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Address: Shiv Road | near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: $10 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of Jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing