We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
shenzhen
1 review
“nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Shahi Palace just two days,It has a good view of the rooftop restaurant,comfort room,warm service and delicious food,camel ride here also experience the journey in the desert, which made us feel very satisfied,If the future we can come here again, I will choose this hotel. Thank the boss provided very good service!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shang y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed both the view from the roof top terrace and also the food from our restaurant. It was also great to see that your experience on the camel safari was a memorable one.
We pass your kind comments to the boss regarding their service.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back at Shahi Palace in the future.
Kind Regards
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    236
    75
    30
    17
See reviews for
120
367
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The approach to the hotel is bad. You have to pass thru a dirty road. The hotel is surrounded congested homes. On the positive side you get to see great view of the Jaisalmer fort from the terrace. Unfortunately the fort was not lit at night so we missed this view.

There was a strange smell inside the hotel. This could be due to some sort of smoking.

Would not recommend this place for family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the view of Jaisalmer fort from our roof top. In response to your other comments regarding the "bad location" of the hotel, I am afraid you have commented on a situation that is beyond our control. All of Jaisalmer is now under sewerage construction so at the current time you will find many of our roads in similar situations. Once again, it is due to this sewerage construction that you noticed a strange smell coming from outside the hotel, once again, this is also beyond our control.
The condition of the street leading to the hotel is similar to the Indian standard and found all over the country. Despite these common road conditions, the location of Shahi Palace is very central and close to both the fort and the main road.
As our previous reviews have proven, the hotel itself is clean, well maintained and designed in the traditional haveli style .
Thanks again and we wish you come back again to see the difference.
Kind regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Cozy and clean rooms though it is a little small but it's perfect if you are travelling solo or in pair. Amazing service and very friendly staff. Rooftop restaurant serves very good food compared most of the restaurants in Jaisalmer. Even provided free pick up and drop off to the train station. Very accommodating to travelers' needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koggelavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to find that you found the staff at the hotel very accommodating to traveler's needs. We always try to make our guest feel like Shahi Palace is their second home. It is also great to read that you enjoyed the food served at our roof top restaurant.
Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope that you will visit Shahi Palace again.
Kind Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Roof top restaurant has a lovely view of the Jaisalmer fort, soulful music playing round the clock and good food. The rooms are a little small (some of them don't even have windows), but the beautiful decor with rich colors make it warm and likable.
The lane leading to the hotel is narrow and has a open drain, too bad for a first impression, but once you enter the hotel, the lovely interiors and bright colors make up for it.
Though the hotel is right outside the fort, the main entrance to the fort is on the other/opposite side, so its a ten minute walk around the fort to get to there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chic_smits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice, clean hotel. We saw some other places in Jaisalmer that friends stayed at that were much cheaper and clean as well, but still not too bad of a deal. We booked a camel trek with them to the desert and it was a really great experience. They let us keep our bags at the hotel too while we were gone which was a big help. The restaurant at night is beautiful! we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldseptblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read that you had a great experience with our camel safari.
Thank you once again for your comments and we hope that you will visit Shahi Palace again.
Kind Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel: After sleeping in very basic, budget places, this hotel is a welcome change. The rooms don't have windows (at least not the ones in the 650-850r bracket) but it makes the room look cosier. At 650 the room was within our price range which usually seeks out budget accommodation, but it was far nicer than most places we stayed in for a similar price. Any street noise is to be expected in India, unless you're out in the sticks, but it was a bit annoying that other guests were loud when leaving early in the morning. Nothing the hotel can do about that, of course. There is a bit of a "pushy" atmosphere to eat at their restaurant, (good food though, moderately priced, fast service - a major plus) to do their trek and to book travel with them. But for someone who's either in a rush or likes to have things planned for them, perhaps this suits.
Beds and pillows are really comfy, and shower was hot and quite powerful. Some reviewers have complained that the rooms are too small, but we found them to be well decorated and pleasant to relax in compared with other budget places. Perhaps they are smaller than other mid-range hotel rooms though.

There are a lot of reviews on here from people who seem to have just been compelled to review this one place out of anywhere they have been, so I think it's important to read as much as you can so you know what to expect and won't be disappointed.

Camel trek: On the wall of the reception is a review of a camel trek through Trotters where the people were deeply disappointed by the lack of dunes etc. The Indian desert is not the Sahara. From what I gather, everyone does a similar trek no matter who they book through (most seem to be 1500 for an overnight with food, water, bedding. There are cheaper options in the fort (750), but I'm not sure what they offer, perhaps the same, perhaps no bedding.)
You drive in a jeep for about 30-45 mins and come to your camels. Only you and your partner/friends go. You camel ride for an hour and a half through arid, dry land which has a lot of greenery around. You set up camp in amongst sand dunes but they are still surrounded by the flat, dry land. You will see photos of treks with the sun setting over vast dunes at many camel trek organisers, and these are probably taken off the internet. If you want the full-on dune trek, go to Morocco. The food was delicious on our trek, and our guide was really friendly and helpful. The bedding was really warm and it was lovely sleeping under the stars. In the morning we had breakfast of toast, boiled eggs and biscuits and all water was provided throughout. We opted to see the villages too which was a further 200r, but I wouldn't recommend it. You pay another 10r each to go in, and the empty villages are just half-built buildings and piles of rubble. It would be good if someone offered some historical context to them, but you're basically wandering around what looks like a housing project terminated mid-build.

All in all, a good stay. There are much cheaper hotels around the fort which are not in guide books, and therefore can't charge as much, but have similar sized rooms in the same haveli-esque style. Good view from the restaurant and a safe option for new arrivals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portsmouth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

First, I like to mention that the owner during booking has set expectation stating that it is in a lane, not on main road (100m away). As in 3rd level of Indian town, i knew, it would be narrow lane, open drain and a bit garbage around. In a family trip in Oct-2012, overall we had good time, especially the roof-top resturant in evening and hospitality of all stuff. All the basic facilities for tourists in the room were present. Rooms may look small for 2+ accomodation, but they have other two nearby buildings too. The rooms, facilities and service met my expectation as per the price. They are very friendly, flexible and accomodative in terms custom need to site-seeing and check-out time. With a budget in lower/moderate side and with a mindset of touring new places, even with family, I can say that overall experience of this hotel is better than average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArupBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear that our guests are happy with their stay at Shahi Palace and we were very pleased to read that you found the staff at the hotel friendly and accommodating to tourists needs.
Thank you for your kind and honest comments, we hope that you will visit Shahi Palace again.
Kind Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haveli Hotel
Haveli Hotel
#12 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Property: Hotel Shahi Palace
Address: Shiv Road | Near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing