We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great desert experience!”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great desert experience!”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed in this very nice hotel located 10 minutes from the Jaisalmer fort to avoid to stay inside the old city because we read that was an help to preserve the old city. We found this lovely hotel and we booked one a/c room with privat toilet. When we arrived we decided "to invest" in one of their best room with direct view of the citadel and they offered us a lovely room (not very big but more than enough for two) with superb view and great atmosphere.. The whole hotel is made with sandstone and the staff is very helpfull (without insisting in purchase one their excursion). We tried also their restaurant and bar that was ok.
This hotel is very clean and it is reccomanded!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2008
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write the review on Tripadvisor; we are always happy to hear from our guests.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Shahi Palace and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Warm regards

Devi Lal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    241
    75
    30
    17
See reviews for
121
371
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Shahi Palace was definatelly one of the most enjoyable hotels I stayed in during my 3 week visit to Rajasthan. I loved it!! I spent 3 days here and did not want to leave. The location, the attention to detail of the hotel, the hospitality and friendliness of its staff....Dev is always happy to help or give you a ride somewhere.. …. and my favourite.. the rooftop terrace overlooking the Jaisalmer Fort.. be it for a nice meal or simply to chill.. it has a great atmosphere…. I totally recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — The hospitallity and Rooftop terrace
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ddpaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2007

As soon as i got to Jaisalmer, Papu was in his jeep waiting for me, we sped to the Palace and i was allowed to rest before sorting any requirements. The location is amazing, the food great and the hospitality unmatched. The staff and owners had me eating with them, inviting me out and catering to my needs beyond the call of duty.
The camel trek was brilliant (ask for Hookum) and i didn't want to leave at the end of my stay.
If you travel to Jaisalmer i fully recommend Shahi as i was not expecting to be so well looked after. It's not often you get to say such things about a hotel but i would go back in a second, just to catch up.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Slow Internet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Verlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2008
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write the review on Tripadvisor; we are always happy to hear from our guests.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Shahi Palace and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Warm regards

Devi Lal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
callumlj72
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

this is a great little hotel, just outside the fort walls. compared to what you can get in Delhi for equivelant price, there is no comparison! Rooms are ultra clean and have character, there is a decent roof restaurant and prices are decent. They do their own camel safari which is off the beaten track. The best bit, though, is the staff - the owners can book anything for you and add their own very reasonable service charge to do the leg work----they make this perfectly clear and that is the only extra charge. No cons. They also have a jeep and are perfectly happy to drop you places. Totally recommended!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — dont know, there is no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank callumlj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Jaisalmer was one of our favourite stops during our 8 weeks in India and the Shahi Palace one of our most favourite hotels/hostels.

The hotel is built in traditional sandstone with a small and friendly atmosphere, which makes you feel both safe and at home. They offer free pick up from the train station.

We had booked one of the more expensive doubles, which had en-suite, a/c and a view of the fort. The room was clean, well kept and comfortable, with nice local touches which gave it an Indian style.

Communial areas were spotlessly clean and well kept. The hotel has a roof top restaurant which was cheap and tasty, although the food on balance was a little unimaginative. It was a great place though to meet and chat with other guests, share stories and pick up advice over a beer.

The hotel is well located for exploring Jaisalmer, with everywhere being within a 10 minute walk. They also run their own camel safaris, which is unusual since most hotels simply act as an agent. The Shahi actually owns its own camels (!). We chose to do a half day safari since we were there during the hot season (June). Although you can get the safari cheaper we wanted to go with people that we trusted and we weren't let down - watching the sunset from a sand dune was magical.

From what I saw of other hotels in Jaisalmer I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else - this is as good as it gets within its price range. We would have no hesitate in returning.

  • Liked — Traditional style, warm welcome, comfort and cleanliness, camel safari
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank majorstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2007

First of all Jaisalmar is a wonderfull place to visit and Shahi Palace is definitely the hotel to spend your time. Beautiful hotel with a great hospitality. I travelled all over India and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.The rooftop terras is nice decoreted and offers a splendid fort view. This hotel is runned by three brothers and there are opening soon another hotel in the same area and style. I don't recommend to book an hotel in advance out of Delhi its better to check it out for yourself.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooftop and rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Godelieva01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

The Shahi Palace is a great choice to make when looking for a place to stay in Jaisalmer. It is a family business with 3 brothers owning and running this hotel, another nearby and with plans for a larger up-market hotel moving towards fruition. As young entrepreneurs they deserve every success.
Nothing seems like too much trouble for them, your wish is as good as their command.
The hotel is made of the beautiful Jaisalmer golden sandstone, they have employed local craftsmen in every facet of the construction. Good use is made of local textiles in decorating the rooms and public spaces, resulting in the Shahi Palace being a feast for the eyes.
The restaurant on the roof terrace gives a fantastic view of the walled Old City, which is frequently floodlit after dark. Stone "sofas" along the front of the terrace are a very pleasent place to sit for a while. The menu was available in English, and while the wait for food was sometimes rather long, it was usually well worth the wait.
I paid 1250 rupees/night as a single for a lovely room looking out onto the fort.
Finding transport from Udaipur to Jaisalmer was proving to be difficult, but Shahi Palace solved the problem by sending a car to Udaipur. The driver was one of the owners and gave a guided tour of things worth seeing along the way. It was an all day drive, but most enjoyable.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — steps, but they were inevitable
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
523 reviews
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Property: Hotel Shahi Palace
Address: Shiv Road | Near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing