We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Golden City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golden City
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me and a friend went to this hotel after having a horrible experience in another hotel the night before (Jaisal View which i have also done a review about).
My friend was ill, and the manager could not have been more accommodating for us. He give us a room with air con for a reasonable price, and when my friend needed a doctor, they called one for us and got someone to go get the prescription so we didn't have to leave the hotel.
The next day, our train wasnt til 4.30pm, and the manager allowed us to have the room without extra charge til we left due to my friend being ill.
They also offered us a good safari for a reasonable price, and were not pushy at all about going with them.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that visits Jaisalmer as the hotel is clean and could not ask for friendlier staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jayne1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    20
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
33
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

HI...FRIENDS...I HOPE THIS REVIEW WILL HELP YOU....HOTEL GOLDEN CITY IS ONE OF THE BEST PLACES TO STAY, HOTEL MANAGER Kahn is serruptitiously friendly..... There's a chilled pool, free wifi, free luggage storage too. All in all a pretty classic place to stay. Note that if you call ahead, you will receive a 20% discount.Very hospitable. Good value for money breakfast. Nice open terrace to eat and drink .u can get the best deals on jeep and camel safari........they also provide you th special routes which no on else provides in jaisalmer for the desert safaries....they also give you the free pick and drop service....all in all a nice place to stay.....the best and cheap rates for stay.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Persistent but polite at train station. Negotiated use of shower morning and evening and secure luggage. Very hospitable. Good value for money breakfast. Nice open terrace to eat and drink. And pool to use but we didn't as we got on with exploring.
Free wifi and free pick/drop off from station. Located in a back street five mins from fort which adds to the experience.
Can offer desert safari and other experience. Good budget travel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WombleSW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

For 600 rupees this is a great value option. You get wifi, great pool access, and an AC double room.

They have camel safaris here, but no pressure if you want to choose another provider.

Note that if you call ahead, you will receive a 20% discount.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Golden City is a fantastic place for a stress free time in Jaisalmer. The rooms are clean, the showers are hot (and cold) and the manager, Kahn, is serruptitiously friendly.

I booked a half day jeep and camel safari with the manager and it was one of the highlights of my india trip. I'd recommend the chinese chow mein from the rooftop restaurant. It's about a 5 minute walk from the first fort gate too - very handy if you don't want to stay in the fort.

There's a chilled pool, free wifi, free luggage storage too. All in all a pretty classic place to stay. One of the most relaxed I've stayed at in India.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jasonbrewer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My a friend and I stayed here for two nights. We are young, backpackers on a budget. The staff were friendly, the resteraunt was great value, the free wifi (although intermittent) was up to standard. They let us use the pool, wifi and resteraunt AFTER checkout and leave our bags in a safe place whilst we waited for our afternoon train. As in the title, great for budget travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is fantastic place to stay , Homly invoirment good staff, clean swiming pool, good food with free WIFI ...what all you need in such a good price ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Younus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#19 of 104 in Jaisalmer
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 104 in Jaisalmer
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden City

Property: Hotel Golden City
Address: Opposite SBI Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden City 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with 14 rooms. We have a/c and non a/c rooms all with ceiling fans and satellite tv's. We have a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and a swimming pool with a small garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing