We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

The Gateway Rawalkot Hotel is on the outskirts of Jaisalmer, just before entering the main city. It is located in a nice & quiet area. The main Jaisalmer fort is visible from the hotel terrace, pool & a few of the rooms.
The rooms themselves are large, a little old-fashioned but quite comfortable. The food served at the hotel's restaurant was excellent, especially the traditional Rajasthani fare.
The service provided by the staff was excellent and we were very well looked after on our stay. Would definately recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    140
    54
    5
    13
See reviews for
123
115
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surat
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

the stay was as bad as it can get.the food was terrible and the tents were very small and the bathroom was even smaller.the service was very very slow and the staff unhelpful.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — tents
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shreyansm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at Rawal kot in Aug 2008 for 2 nights.
We enjoyed the stay here.

The rooms were big and very well maintained.
The property upkeep was good with lot of corners to sit and relax alone or with the kids.

The staff were friendly and service was prompt

The location is a litle away from the town and you will need your own transportation to like this place. The fort is visible at a far distance from the terrace.

Food was good. But as not many people were around when we stayed, the spread was not big.

They set up camping tents during the tourist season

  • Liked — Away from the crowd
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramerama37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night in a Superior room, as we didn't want to stay inside the fort & had read poor reviews for the palace hotel next door. The hotel is fine as a simple, clean place to stay within a 10-minute drive of the main sights; if you're expecting anything more, you may be disappointed. Note that this is a Taj "Gateway" hotel - the more basic line - so it's not like other Taj hotels in terms of comfort or service; think Holiday Inn rather than Hyatt.

The hotel is done in a faux-stone style which reminded me of the Flintstones. There's no main lobby or cafe to hang out in, which is an oversight because the intense heat during most of the day makes the pool area impractical as a meeting place, while the restaurant is lacking in atmosphere. There is a decent-sized pool, but no umbrellas or other shade. In short, perfect if you don't plan to spend any time at the hotel aside from sleeping at night. (We had dinner in the fort at Trio's, which was great - request a table on the upper terrace, especially the one with cushions if you don't mind sitting cross-legged.)

My room was comfortable, with good a/c (impossible to redirect the airflow away from the head of the bed however), a comfortable bed (twins pushed together), a small but clean bathroom with good working shower & a padlock on the door; no real complaints for the price I paid. The service (front desk, restaurant, porters) ranged from ok to bordering on Fawlty Towers, but was always well-meaning. The internet is available for a charge using the back office computer, but it worked for only 10 minutes.

Next time, I would find another hotel simply for the variety, but would recommend this as a simple, clean place to stay at a decent price outside of the fort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed here as part of a custom tailored trip to India. We were in room #33. This hotel is located in a "hotel complex" area outside the city of Jaisalmer. Room included complimentary water, fridge, TV, desk, sitting area. Bathroom had large rainshower head. We didn't have hot water but later we learned there was a switch in the bathroom we should have turned on (who knew?). Ourdoor pool is gorgeous with views of the Jaisalmer Fort. There is no shade around pool area. Waitstaff in restaurant are very friendly and the service was excellent. Access to a computer and the internet is free in the hotel office. We were also able to exchange money here. Very modern looking hotel with charm.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

I was struck by the hotel's architecture. The outdoor spaces are beautifully designed. The rooms are above average. We spent a night in the tents outside and one night in the rooms inside.

The restaurant has a hearty breakfast in the morning. One can eat by the poolside. I don't think there is wireless internet service in the hotel. However, the management let us access internet on their computer in the office for free.

I would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

We were on a luxury 5 star tour with an agent we had used several times before. All other stays at Taj properties in India had been 6 star - unforgettably good! Here we were placed in a room (no. 47) in the basement, next to a furniture storage room and next to the restaurant toilets and spa. The room was dark and dingy, the air con covered in mould and it broke down during the night after icing up. We had an empty fridge mini bar, a small window opening to the car park at the front and the lights of every car shone in as they entered the property day and night, plus 2 threadbare pillows. I think this was an overflow room for guides. At the restaurant we asked for tuna sandwiches which were on the menu to be told "madam, we are not near the sea, this is not available" - as if I was the idiot!!. We then requested egg sandwiches with lettuce - although the lettuce was left off and we got hot spaghetti instead. The Taj needs to review this property quickly and thoroughly. Photos to follow soon. Spend your $ on a heritage hotel in the city - you will be guaranteed a much better experience for sure.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The room and attitude of staff at the front desk
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MidgieTich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#28 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#55 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#25 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#41 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#22 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#87 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Property: Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Address: Plot No. 3, Hotel Complex, Jodhpur-Jaisalmer Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popularly known as the Golden City due to the colour the stone walls take on at sunset, Jaisalmer is a captivating destination. Historic Havelis, a vast desert landscape and picture-perfect sand dunes make Jaisalmer one of the most charming destinations in India. Modern comfort melds seamlessly with medieval charm at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer. The hotel is the perfect vantage point to watch the Jaisalmer Fort change colour from sunrise to sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawal Kot Hotel
Rawal Kot Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing