We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely”
Review of Hotel Killa Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Killa Bhawan
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and homely”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved staying here, beautiful rooms and great people!! Service was wonderful with a beautiful breakfast every morning and coffee and tea all day!! I thought it was a little expensive compared to other hotels in Jaisalmer. But It was a great experience!! Manu is a real gentleman :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    72
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
164
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have been traveling in India for twenty years and have NEVER had an experience like this. From start to finish I doubt than any traveler, even the most demanding, could find fault with their experience at Killa Bhawan. The place is decorated tastefully with bronze pots, gorgeous textiles, antique furniture and nooks housing bronze statues. Every corner begs to be photographed. For westerners exhausted by the usual experiences in India, this place is more than a relief, the comfortable mattress and super high quality sheets and pillows were a total joy, we were laughing when we got into bed the first night, just from the surprise! The towels and set up of the bathroom was also incredible, plenty of hot water and great shower with real pressure. But most mind blowing is the terrace with a view from the fort over the town and into the distance, we hardly wanted to leave the hotel everyday. Also the service is incomparable, your every need can be met by the capable and friendly staff. Honestly I can´t think of any place I have ever stayed in India or in any other country that I would recommend more whole heartedly.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are all beautiful but the honeymoon room is really like something from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Once upon a time, there was a fort overlooking the desert of Rajasthan. In that fort, a tower. In it, a little hotel, the Killa Bhawan. Our stay at this little hotel was an experience only India can offer. Service of the highest quality, rooms overlooking thousands of years of history and a sense of delicate luxury tailored to your dreams. A perfect place for romance and honeymoons.

Enjoy it if you can.

Unforgettable

Room Tip: We were allowed to see most of the rooms and all had a unique touch to them. Difficult to recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best view of jaiselmer, hotel is part of the fort and has an excellent terrace view of the city. They also have kb cafe in the city which serves great food and has the view of Patwa house. Staff is great and shambu took great care of us and made us really feel like home

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Howard and I are a retired couple who were travelling around Rajasthan independently in Oct/Nov 2013.
This hotel was a real surprise. We had struggled to find accommodation at short notice as it was a very popular holiday time for locals and foreigners. At first we tried to avoid staying in the fort itself but were so glad that we changed our minds.
The views were stunning; the position was really convenient for seeing and visiting all the old parts of Jaisalmer - or just sitting and watching people. The room was traditional but fully functional. All the staff were very pleasant and extremely efficient. Breakfast on one of the terraces was absolutely delightful - delicious food, unbeatable view and pleasant breeze.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Not all ensuite so check if that is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We travelled to Jaisalmer and Jodhpur in Oct/Nov 2013, and our stay at Killa Bhawan was the highlight. The experience of staying in the fort is magical.

Killa Bhawan is small with only about 8 rooms/suites, and is owner-operated, making it feel like a homestay.

It is beautifully decorated, the view is amazing being on the ramparts, the service was excellent, and the hosts made us feel at home.

Breakfast was served on the terrace, serving anything you liked, including fresh juice. The staff had to climb 20-25 steep steps each time from the kitchen, but they did so without any complaints.

You may have to deal with a power outage for a few hours each day, but that is part of life in Jaisalmer. It still beats staying in one of the resorts outside town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Killa Bhawan proved to be one of the nicest and most pleasant (if not THE nicest and most pleasant) places we've ever stayed in. Positioned as a "home, not a hotel" and located WITHIN the fort, it lived up to its promises with a gorgeous room and view (and everything--from shower to AC--worked smoothly and perfectly, unlike many other lodgings we've had).

The highlight of KB, however, was the customer service. At no point were we ever made to feel as though we were being looked at as a source of profit. Free refrigerated bottled water and coffee and tea service was available at all times. We stayed in KB one night and the following night went on a camel safari; the day after that, we were invited to use our former room to shower, rest, and linger while we waited for our train even though we were days removed from our stay! Manu, the manager, sat with us for an hour and chatted over tea and coffee before we departed.

A combination of the beauty of the setting and the friendliness of the staff made KB really stand out, and I would highly recommend it to any of my friends heading to Jaisalmer. In so many ways, it removed us from the daily stresses of vacationing in India, yet immersed us in the city in a way that a regular hotel or guesthouse could not have done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
8.4 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#8 of 104 in Jaisalmer
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Killa Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killa Bhawan

Property: Hotel Killa Bhawan
Address: Kotari Para | On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Killa Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killa Bhawan Hotel
Killa Bhawan Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing